Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 01 June 2012, 06:46   #91
RIBnet supporter
 
Pikey Dave's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: South Yorks
Boat name: Black Pig
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 5m +
Engine: DF140a
MMSI: 235111389
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 7,581
RIBase
Quote:
Originally Posted by MarkM
I read on a forum for GPS Tracking Systems that for antitheft purpose you only need SMS and not GPRS. For GPRS you need to install the software of the cd on your pc.

Today I turned off voicemail on my iPhone, send SMS to the tracker for Geofence, Speed Alert and Move Alert and it worked!!! Even all three of them at the same time. Got every 3 minutes a SMS for each of the alerts.

Still can't call the tracker. The answer is: "engaged we will connect you to voicemail or you can send a SMS".
Is it possible that I need to turn voicemail on the SIM-card in the tracker off as well?
it's the answer phone on the tracker sim that you have to switch off. Put the sim into an ordinary phone & go into the settings or whatever you have to do with the particular service provider & switch off the answering service. Eg on Orange you call the answer phone & use the menu system to disable the answerphone. Then when you have done that, put the sim back into the tracker. You only need GPRS if you are using a server to display the tracker position on an online map service, if you are just using SMS you can switch GPRS off.
__________________
Rule#2: Never argue with an idiot. He'll drag you down to his level & then beat you with experience.
Rule#3: Tha' can't educate pork.
Rule#4: See rule#5
Pikey Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01 June 2012, 11:11   #92
RIBnet supporter
 
C2 RIBS's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Hants
Boat name: Gemineye
Make: Ribeye S850 charter
Length: 8m +
Engine: 300hp
MMSI: 235097445
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 3,029
I hope you know the password now to set up your phone with your unit. If you have the password which is a 6 fig number (I think) and have set your phone to tracker , to test send nomove plus passnumber with no gaps the text reply should come back nomove ok.
__________________
Ian
Rib charter and Rib hire with www.c2ribs.co.uk
C2 RIBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01 June 2012, 12:58   #93
Member
 
MarkM's Avatar
 
Country: Netherlands
Town: Breda
Make: Scorpion
Length: 7m +
Engine: Evinrude 250 DI
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 368
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pikey Dave View Post
it's the answer phone on the tracker sim that you have to switch off. Put the sim into an ordinary phone & go into the settings or whatever you have to do with the particular service provider & switch off the answering service. Eg on Orange you call the answer phone & use the menu system to disable the answerphone. Then when you have done that, put the sim back into the tracker. You only need GPRS if you are using a server to display the tracker position on an online map service, if you are just using SMS you can switch GPRS off.
I did so, and when I call the tracker now I stil hear it's engaged. But no "we will connect you to voicemail or you can send a SMS" anymore.
Wonder why it's not working like yours. That's the only part failing at the moment.
In the iPhone App all components are working, so is SOS and even Shock Sensor Alarm as it's a TK102-2.
__________________
MarkM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01 June 2012, 15:07   #94
Member
 
Leapy's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Sheepy Parva
Boat name: Sadly Sold
Length: no boat
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 1,728
The only thing I can think of now is to remove the tracker battery, wait a while, put the battery back in, and then see what's what. There's been a lot of button punching, calling, texting, swearing and tantrums. A soft reset may sort out the remaining issue

Perhaps ;-)
__________________
Leapy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02 June 2012, 04:16   #95
Member
 
MarkM's Avatar
 
Country: Netherlands
Town: Breda
Make: Scorpion
Length: 7m +
Engine: Evinrude 250 DI
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 368
@Leapy: I did that several times but the problem still remains.
In the manual on the CD:

3. Begin to use
If you only want the coordinate of the tracker,just make a call to it,the GPS tracker will automatically hangup and send you a message reporting it’s coordinate.
Note: The tracker must set to its ”Tracking mode” (It’s the default setting) to report it’s geographic coordiante. Send a message command “tracker123456″ will set the mode into “Tracking mode”.
The geographic report will containt its longitude and latitude coordinate as follow:
The first number is the longitude and second number is the latitude.

This is what I did again this morning, started all from the beginning. Could it be that I have the newest tracker TK102-2 and that you can't call it?
Sending and receiving SMS is no problem anymore.
__________________
MarkM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02 June 2012, 10:08   #96
Member
 
Leapy's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Sheepy Parva
Boat name: Sadly Sold
Length: no boat
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 1,728
Mark...My tracker is definately not a 102-2. What that means in terms of functionality I don't know.

I have this vague recollection from my clone that after having gone through swearing, tantrums and shouting "work you bloody thing" that it also wouldn't answer calls. Then, without me knowing why or how, it started up again. Not much help I'm afraid.

Another desperate suggestion then...take the battery out again and leave out overnight. Take the SIM out and put into a mobile phone and use it - send a few texts, call the house phone or whatever a couple of times. Let the calls connect - that is, let the calls be answered - to make sure the SIM is fully functional and not messed up too. Then put it back in the tracker and try again. Again, I've got a vague recollection this is what I did.

I'm away a week now - on the RIB! - so my replies may be delayed.
__________________
Leapy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05 June 2012, 11:58   #97
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Gloucestershire
Boat name: Osprey
Make: Osprey Vipermax
Length: 5m +
Engine: E-tec 300 G2
MMSI: TBC
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 4,013
Hi I had a clone unit and an original.

The main issue I had with the clone is that the quality of GPS lock was a bit flakey and I kept getting false "MOVE!" alerts.

However I can remember in the early days that I had issues with the carrier I was using for the SIM card. I found that a Vodafone PAYG Sim was fine however another PAYG sim was not and I kept getting no answer or an enaged tone when I called.

My advice is try another SIM making sure you have the answer phone turned off on it.
__________________
---------------------------------------------------
Chris Stevens

Born fiddler
Chris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15 June 2012, 18:06   #98
Member
 
Country: Brazil
Length: under 3m
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 4
Hello,

If you are facing any problem with commands by SMS, you can ask us here, that we will try to help you out, because we already faced a lot of problems with clone devices and such.

Our application for Android, named Austral GPS Car Tracker TK SMS, supports a lot of manufacturers of GPS Tracker (Xexun, Coban, ZY International, Zclelec, Meitrack (Meiligao), ELRO, etc).
You can download it at the official Android Market (Google Play):
https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...rtracker.trial

You can also read more about it on Austral Systems

Thank you,
Austral Systems
__________________

__________________
MoMM is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:17.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.