Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 21 April 2014, 15:54   #1
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Devon
Make: Cougar
Length: 8m +
Engine: Honda 225
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 2
Help with my setup

I am looking to purchase a Cougar R8 and will want to spec up the nag system.

ill keep it simple ill tell you what i want to do and correct me if im wrong.

Above the driver will be a Gpsmap 750s and above the navigator a Gpsmap 750, the main unit will be the 750s and the 750 just a repeater.

I will buy a Garmin radar which will have the radar cable included, i shall fit this and plug it into the back of the 750s, i shall run power to both the 750 and 750s, the included sonar with the 750s will plug into the 750s, a cable will run between the 750 and 750s so it can repeat.

is this correct? so i will need to purchase a 750, 750s and the radar and job done, plus the mapping of course!

The more i read the more confusing it gets so someone sort me out!

Many thanks

Matthew
__________________

__________________
wellbeloved747 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21 April 2014, 16:25   #2
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Cambs
Make: Scorpion
Length: 8m +
Engine: 225 Opti
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 356
I'm not going to comment on the set up but would urge against touchscreen (I have a 750s on a 8.1m RIB). They are very splash and rain sensitive and very difficult to use in a sea.

If that doesn't put you off I find it terrific in most conditions and I'm afraid I haven't looked at upgrades so have no idea what else is out there.
__________________

__________________
Portholme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21 April 2014, 16:34   #3
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Devon
Make: Cougar
Length: 8m +
Engine: Honda 225
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 2
Could you talk me through what your exact setup is?
__________________
wellbeloved747 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21 April 2014, 16:49   #4
RIBnet supporter
 
Pikey Dave's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: South Yorks
Boat name: Black Pig
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 5m +
Engine: DF140a
MMSI: 235111389
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 7,582
RIBase
Quote:
Originally Posted by wellbeloved747 View Post
.......... and will want to spec up the nag system.........
You need to speak to my missus
__________________
Rule#2: Never argue with an idiot. He'll drag you down to his level & then beat you with experience.
Rule#3: Tha' can't educate pork.
Rule#4: See rule#5
Pikey Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21 April 2014, 21:11   #5
Member
 
Country: Luxembourg
Town: Luxembourg
Boat name: Kalish
Make: Humber Ocean Pro 6.3
Length: 6m +
Engine: 175 Mercury Optimax
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 408
RIBase
plug and pray
Gilles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22 April 2014, 12:16   #6
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Cambs
Make: Scorpion
Length: 8m +
Engine: 225 Opti
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 356
My set up is very simple. 750s and a Garmin vhf 100i dsc. I have smartcraft gauges for the engine so not set up for nmea 2000.

Both perfectly adequate for what we need as we are only coastal. The only issue (and the guy who sold them to me tried to convince me not to buy it) is the touchscreen which is difficult to use in rain and rough weather because you're bouncing around so much. Try using a smart phone on a roller coaster as a simulator!!!

Overall the 750s is great, I had one on my old boat too which is why I was adamant on getting another, and I live with the foibles. Yesterday my son was helping and I was navigating and that was easy. It's hardest when you're doing everything yourself especially as I'm right handed and the nav is on the port side.

The vhf is excellent, reception is excellent and the screen very clear. The menus are very simple. It took two hours to get it to talk to the 750 though, which was surprising as I'd hoped it would be simple to set up.

Hope that helps. Don't be put off, just do your research.
__________________
Portholme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22 April 2014, 12:30   #7
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Sussex
Boat name: Aintree
Make: Redbay Stormforce
Length: 7m +
Engine: Twin 150's
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 255
I would have thought the 750 connection to the 750s would be best done with a NMEA 2000 network. Then if you get the VHF 200i you can plug that into the network too. Thinking of getting a second 750 on my rib so let us know how it runs..
__________________
redthunder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 April 2014, 10:28   #8
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Boat name: Wildheart
Make: Humber/Delta Seasafe
Length: 5m +
Engine: Merc 60 Clamshell
MMSI: 235068449
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 4,610
Quote:
Originally Posted by Portholme View Post
It's hardest when you're doing everything yourself especially as I'm right handed and the nav is on the port side.
There's a general comment lurking in there - I normally am solo, so no "navigator" luxury. I built a bespoke instrument pod to park my lowrance right by the throttle when at cruising position - The Lowrance has the buttons down the RHS, so I put the throttle on the RHS, and can work the plotter and not take my hand more than about 1" off the throttle (tho' most of the "working" buttons are within a thumbs' reach.)

Quote:
Originally Posted by redthunder View Post
I would have thought the 750 connection to the 750s would be best done with a NMEA 2000 network. Then if you get the VHF 200i you can plug that into the network too. Thinking of getting a second 750 on my rib so let us know how it runs..
If it runs 2000, one cable should feed all - you could even put a 2K sounder in the circuit so that if the 750s packs up you don't loose both. (or display differnet stuff on each - e.g engine data o nthe driver's display & "more detailed nav" on the other)
__________________
9D280 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29 April 2014, 07:46   #9
Member
 
AMac's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: Dunoon
Boat name: Celtic Wanderer
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 9m +
Engine: Volvo D6, Honda
MMSI: 235087784
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 205
Fit 2x750s, vhf200i, ais600, radar and most expensive transducer you can afford this is as near the best setup I've come across
Also if engine data in N2000 connect to engines
If money no object a 2nd VHF would be good also
Spend time getting your VHF aerial as high as possible for best results
__________________

__________________
AMac is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 00:56.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.