Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 02 June 2019, 12:47   #1
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: London
Length: no boat
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 16
Help re. chartplotter that will sync with DSC VHF

Good afternoon,

I and my wife are about to buy a used RIB. It has a functioning DSC-compatible Cobra VHF radio but the chartplotter, an ancient Eagle, is kaput.

We want to replace the Eagle with a new but not expensive DSC-compatible chartplotter. We do not need sophisticated navigation but do need the unit to have a decent depth gauge as we will be using the RIB in very tidal areas. We are not going to be looking for fish, just using the boat for family days out.

Can any of you advise me on a suitable chartplotter? Ideally we want a built-in unit to go into the cavity left by the Eagle (we can adapt!). I had thought all chartplotters would be DSC-compatible but this does not seem to be the case.

So far I have discovered that the Garmin Echomap Plus 65cv (£449 at Marine Store incl. transducer) is DSC-compatible but the Simrad Cruise 5 and Raymarine Dragonfly models are not.
Is that Garmin a good bet? Any other suggestions gratefully received.

Many thanks in advance for any help.
__________________

__________________
TWPC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02 June 2019, 13:48   #2
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Length: 3m +
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 2,531
DSC compat means different things to different folks.

What do you expect to happen?

Which Cobra?
__________________

__________________
ShinyShoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02 June 2019, 17:24   #3
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: London
Length: no boat
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by ShinyShoe View Post
DSC compat means different things to different folks.

What do you expect to happen?

Which Cobra?
Thanks for replying Shiny Shoe.

I want the VHF to be able to receive signals from the GPS so that, for example, when pressing the 'Distress' button it will transmit our location from the GPS.
i.e. Basic functionality!

I am not sure of the exact model of Cobra. It looks like an F45 or F55 but might be older. Picture attached.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	cobra VHF.JPG
Views:	62
Size:	93.0 KB
ID:	129621  
__________________
TWPC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02 June 2019, 18:31   #4
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Length: 3m +
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 2,531
OK so you only want NMEA 0183 from GPS to Radio. That "should" be straightforward and a default spec for most.

You can get where a radio receiving a DSC alert will send it to the plotter to erm plot it. And the same with a DSC position poll.

You can also get plotters with AIS feeds that will let you click a target and call it from the map on DSC using its MMSI.

Hence the question.
__________________
ShinyShoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02 June 2019, 18:54   #5
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Length: 3m +
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 2,531
The Raymarine & simrad units have been designed not to talk to anything else. Presumably for cost and simplicity of support.

The Garmin is certainly capable of what your Cobra can do, and if the cobra was replaced in the future is capable of taking data from the radio too.
__________________
ShinyShoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03 June 2019, 02:47   #6
Member
 
Simonh66's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Southampton
Boat name: Gecko
Make: Valiant
Length: 5m +
Engine: 115 Optimax
MMSI: 235060442
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 134
RIBase
I have the Garmin on my RIB, great little unit
__________________
Simonh66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03 June 2019, 03:06   #7
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: London
Length: no boat
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 16
Thank you, much appreciated. NMEA 0183 does seem to be the key feature.

And thank you for the crash course in what AIS and DSC can do; very clever!
__________________
TWPC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03 June 2019, 03:08   #8
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: London
Length: no boat
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 16
Oops. The message above is meant for ShinyShoe.

Thank you Simon for your view of the Garmin.
__________________
TWPC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03 June 2019, 03:09   #9
Member
 
boristhebold's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Length: 7m +
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 1,543
First you need to identify what model of vhf radio you have so that you can look up it's specs and see if it communicates or can communicate with NMEA 0183 or NMEA 2000 or proprietory comms like 'seatalk' or equivalent.

Then once you have determined that and im guesiing it will be NMEA 0183, then you need to find a suitably priced chart plotter 'and sonar/depth sounder' that can communicate via NMEA 0183, if just a chart plotter then dont look at fancy fishfinder types with wide scan sonar etc.

The chart plotter needs to be one with sonar/depth sounder capability and will need the depth sounder unit, the plotter could have internal GPS built in or use external GPS antenae.

then its just wiring them up, simples.

I presume you know about changing to adjusting the MMSI number on the vhf set ? if you have a new mmsi number to program in you may have to take vhf set to a service centre to clear the old number.
__________________
boristhebold is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03 June 2019, 03:20   #10
RIBnet admin team
 
Poly's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Boat name: imposter
Make: FunYak
Length: 3m +
Engine: Tohatsu 30HP
MMSI: 235089819
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 11,018
Quote:
Originally Posted by boristhebold View Post

I presume you know about changing to adjusting the MMSI number on the vhf set ? if you have a new mmsi number to program in you may have to take vhf set to a service centre to clear the old number.

The MMSI stays with the boat so no need to reprogram. If you were removing that cobra to reprogram it would probably be almost as cheap to replace with something modern (that might have its own GPS built in).

Just to give another option - if you wanted to get one of the ďnon 0183Ē plotters you could add a separate GPS feed just for the radio. That offers some redundancy in that you then have two independent sources of GPS position.
__________________
Poly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04 June 2019, 17:04   #11
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: London
Length: no boat
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 16
Thank you very much for those replies, boris and Poly.

I see that some chartplotters such as the Simrad and Lowrance Hook 2 include a 'basemap'. Are they functional or do I need to spend another £150+ on maps from CMap or Navionics? I will only be using the boat around the Solent.
__________________
TWPC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04 June 2019, 17:06   #12
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: London
Length: no boat
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Simonh66 View Post
I have the Garmin on my RIB, great little unit
Simon, I got it wrong in my first post: it turns out the Garmin does NOT come with a transducer.
What transducer do you use with your unit and are you happy with it?
Thanks,
Tom
__________________
TWPC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04 June 2019, 18:14   #13
RIBnet admin team
 
Poly's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Boat name: imposter
Make: FunYak
Length: 3m +
Engine: Tohatsu 30HP
MMSI: 235089819
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 11,018
Quote:
Originally Posted by TWPC View Post
Thank you very much for those replies, boris and Poly.

I see that some chartplotters such as the Simrad and Lowrance Hook 2 include a 'basemap'. Are they functional or do I need to spend another £150+ on maps from CMap or Navionics? I will only be using the boat around the Solent.
The basemap will show you that you are in the UK, possibly even a very rough outline of the coast, but usually no useful detail like rocks, lights, depths. Shopping around they will often be available as a bundle with a map, as I recall it was basically impossible to buy the garmin without the map.
__________________
Poly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04 June 2019, 18:56   #14
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Make: Avon Searider
Length: 4m +
Engine: Yamaha 50
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 5,654
Plenty of good deals out there which include the charts. I've bought a Raymarine and Garmin plotter of late; both came with charts. The base map is virtually useless.
__________________
Tim M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05 June 2019, 02:49   #15
Member
 
boristhebold's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Length: 7m +
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 1,543
Quote:
Originally Posted by Poly View Post
The MMSI stays with the boat so no need to reprogram. If you were removing that cobra to reprogram it would probably be almost as cheap to replace with something modern (that might have its own GPS built in).

Just to give another option - if you wanted to get one of the ďnon 0183Ē plotters you could add a separate GPS feed just for the radio. That offers some redundancy in that you then have two independent sources of GPS position.
The MMSI number you say stays with the boat, well not always, you also need to check what information is held on the current MMSI number in use, it may be the boat is registered under a different name and owner and different contact details etc etc.
__________________
boristhebold is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05 June 2019, 15:32   #16
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: London
Length: no boat
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 16
Thank you all for your advice.
I decided to buy the Garmin Echomap 65cv. Fingers crossed it all works properly and the VHF doesn't now go and expire!
__________________
TWPC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05 June 2019, 20:11   #17
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Length: 3m +
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 2,531
Quote:
Originally Posted by boristhebold View Post
The MMSI number you say stays with the boat, well not always, you also need to check what information is held on the current MMSI number in use, it may be the boat is registered under a different name and owner and different contact details etc etc.
The MMSI belongs to the boat.

People do daft things. But there is no logical reason to take it with you when you sell if you leave the radio.

Yes - you need to update ofcom with the contact details. That's free.

And there is no way that set uses NMEA2000 unless Cobra developers have been on an episode of Dr Who.
__________________
ShinyShoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06 June 2019, 02:56   #18
Member
 
Simonh66's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Southampton
Boat name: Gecko
Make: Valiant
Length: 5m +
Engine: 115 Optimax
MMSI: 235060442
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 134
RIBase
Quote:
Originally Posted by TWPC View Post
Simon, I got it wrong in my first post: it turns out the Garmin does NOT come with a transducer.
What transducer do you use with your unit and are you happy with it?
Thanks,
Tom
I just bought the basic one £50ish with a view that we could up grade if we wanted to. Works fine for depth etc. Not tried it for fish finding yet as thatís my lads thing & he hasnít been out lately. Iím on the Hamble if you want to see it in action at some point
__________________
Simonh66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06 June 2019, 03:17   #19
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: London
Length: no boat
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Simonh66 View Post
I just bought the basic one £50ish with a view that we could up grade if we wanted to. Works fine for depth etc. Not tried it for fish finding yet as thatís my lads thing & he hasnít been out lately. Iím on the Hamble if you want to see it in action at some point
Great; that's the one I ordered in the end and depth is all I really need so thanks for the confirmation.

Hope your son has success with his fishing when he gets the chance.
__________________
TWPC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06 June 2019, 03:32   #20
Member
 
Last Tango's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: Denny
Boat name: Hebridean Storm
Make: Coastline
Length: 6m +
Engine: Mariner F150
MMSI: 235107505
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 1,515
Quote:
Originally Posted by boristhebold View Post
The MMSI number you say stays with the boat, well not always, you also need to check what information is held on the current MMSI number in use, it may be the boat is registered under a different name and owner and different contact details etc etc.
I think if you contact Ofcom with your details they contact the previous holder of the MMSI and if they don't respond within a given time (months) the number transfers to you.
__________________

__________________
Last Tango is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 15:53.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×