Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 13 January 2012, 15:09   #1
Member
 
Razorbill RIBs's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Wales
Town: N. Pembrokeshire
Boat name: Various
Make: RIBs & Hovercraft
Length: 9m +
Engine: Outboards
MMSI: Various
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 1,357
RIBase
HDS Transducers

Have a Lowrance HDS set up going in the Pac..... Possibly a daft question, but has anyone bonded the transducer for one of these inside a Pac Hull? Did it work? Just consciosu the Pacs hull is a lot thicker than most.....

Second question is.....

There is currently a disconnected Airmar Transducer located roughly here (see arrow in pic) which prob dates back to its Met days /a piece of kit long since removed.....The tranducer is an Airmar......looks like an st650 (speed and temp) like this Airmar 31-275-5 Insert for ST650 | Blue Heron Marine Electronics

I am tempted to see if there is an HDS compliant depth Transducer (Airmar?) that would fit in place of the speed temp one.....or would the position be an issue here? If not, anyone know what type of transducer would work /is compatible? My search has led me to type p60....

Would be even better if there was one which screwed into the existing sleeve, but may be hoping

any guidance appreciated
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Shearwater - Transducer.jpg
Views:	146
Size:	50.7 KB
ID:	64913  
__________________

__________________
Dan Worth
www.razorbillribs.co.uk

Follow us on Facebook http://www.facebook.com/#!/group.php...17306504953480
Razorbill RIBs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20 January 2012, 11:01   #2
Member
 
Razorbill RIBs's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Wales
Town: N. Pembrokeshire
Boat name: Various
Make: RIBs & Hovercraft
Length: 9m +
Engine: Outboards
MMSI: Various
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 1,357
RIBase
Bump.....and.....

Sorry to bump this, but any thoughts would be appreciated.......

This Marine Electronic Service Ltd - Lowrance P319 Thru Hull Depth Suits HDS Series

....P319 airmar will fit in the hole for the current /existing /redundant airmar (rough location shown in pic above).....This area is in the water when planing......not sure how 'clean' the water has to be to get a reading....anyone any view on whether this would be 'clean' enough?

Am hoping I could swap the existing one out and replace for this one for the HDS unit....and get good readings.....never saw the old one working so can't comment on whether the location worked, although there doesn't seem to be any other holes etc, so assume it did whilst in the mets ownership?????

Anyone who is more up to speed on these things able to comment /offer an educated guess as to whether this will work?

Thanks! Dan
__________________

__________________
Dan Worth
www.razorbillribs.co.uk

Follow us on Facebook http://www.facebook.com/#!/group.php...17306504953480
Razorbill RIBs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20 January 2012, 12:27   #3
Member
 
Razorbill RIBs's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Wales
Town: N. Pembrokeshire
Boat name: Various
Make: RIBs & Hovercraft
Length: 9m +
Engine: Outboards
MMSI: Various
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 1,357
RIBase
Quote:
Originally Posted by Razorbill RIBs View Post
Sorry to bump this, but any thoughts would be appreciated.......

This Marine Electronic Service Ltd - Lowrance P319 Thru Hull Depth Suits HDS Series

....P319 airmar will fit in the hole for the current /existing /redundant airmar (rough location shown in pic above).....This area is in the water when planing......not sure how 'clean' the water has to be to get a reading....anyone any view on whether this would be 'clean' enough?

Am hoping I could swap the existing one out and replace for this one for the HDS unit....and get good readings.....never saw the old one working so can't comment on whether the location worked, although there doesn't seem to be any other holes etc, so assume it did whilst in the mets ownership?????

Anyone who is more up to speed on these things able to comment /offer an educated guess as to whether this will work?

Thanks! Dan
Oh, and the p319 is around 80 with a Garmin plug and 150!!!!! with a Lowrance blue....that seems a mahoosive rip off to me
__________________
Dan Worth
www.razorbillribs.co.uk

Follow us on Facebook http://www.facebook.com/#!/group.php...17306504953480
Razorbill RIBs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20 January 2012, 12:48   #4
Member
 
mister p's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: LONDON
Make: SR4/ZODIAC/3D
Length: 4m +
Engine: 30T/40T
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 1,433
Just a quick question along this thread.
So will my HUMMINBIRD depth and fish transducer work through the lower skin of my SR4 hull?
Quick answer is "try it and see!!!! yer lazy git".
Yes I agree, but before I do it would be good to know as would tidy up the transom some.
__________________
mister p is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20 January 2012, 14:38   #5
RIBnet supporter
 
Pikey Dave's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: South Yorks
Boat name: Black Pig
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 5m +
Engine: DF140a
MMSI: 235111389
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 7,579
RIBase
Quote:
Originally Posted by mister p View Post
Just a quick question along this thread.
So will my HUMMINBIRD depth and fish transducer work through the lower skin of my SR4 hull?
Quick answer is "try it and see!!!! yer lazy git".
Yes I agree, but before I do it would be good to know as would tidy up the transom some.
Ah now! that depends. You will need an area of hull that is solid GRP without any foam, bubbles, wood etc between the transducer & the water. Also you will lose some resolution due to the GRP. I think you already answered your own question, yer lazy git
__________________
Rule#2: Never argue with an idiot. He'll drag you down to his level & then beat you with experience.
Rule#3: Tha' can't educate pork.
Rule#4: See rule#5
Pikey Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20 January 2012, 15:42   #6
Member
 
mister p's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: LONDON
Make: SR4/ZODIAC/3D
Length: 4m +
Engine: 30T/40T
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 1,433
Ok then, time to roll over.
Next question.......do I have any foam, bubbles wood etc.?
Can someone come down and see? And can you bring some resolution with you just in case I've lost some.
__________________
mister p is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20 January 2012, 15:51   #7
Member
 
Razorbill RIBs's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Wales
Town: N. Pembrokeshire
Boat name: Various
Make: RIBs & Hovercraft
Length: 9m +
Engine: Outboards
MMSI: Various
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 1,357
RIBase
Quote:
Originally Posted by mister p View Post
Ok then, time to roll over.
Next question.......do I have any foam, bubbles wood etc.?
Can someone come down and see? And can you bring some resolution with you just in case I've lost some.
Oy! Get your own thread

Back to MY thread...... Can any trade suppliers here supply a P319 for a good price?

Also, if anyone needs one I have a brand new in the box Lowrance 106-72 skimmer type transducer......50 about right??
__________________
Dan Worth
www.razorbillribs.co.uk

Follow us on Facebook http://www.facebook.com/#!/group.php...17306504953480
Razorbill RIBs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20 January 2012, 15:58   #8
Member
 
mister p's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: LONDON
Make: SR4/ZODIAC/3D
Length: 4m +
Engine: 30T/40T
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 1,433
Ok then, back to your thread, but whilst we're here could you pop over to check my bubbles and bring some res with you?
__________________
mister p is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20 January 2012, 16:07   #9
Member
 
Razorbill RIBs's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Wales
Town: N. Pembrokeshire
Boat name: Various
Make: RIBs & Hovercraft
Length: 9m +
Engine: Outboards
MMSI: Various
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 1,357
RIBase
......
__________________
Dan Worth
www.razorbillribs.co.uk

Follow us on Facebook http://www.facebook.com/#!/group.php...17306504953480
Razorbill RIBs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20 January 2012, 18:25   #10
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Gloucestershire
Boat name: Osprey
Make: Osprey Vipermax
Length: 5m +
Engine: E-tec 300 G2
MMSI: TBC
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 4,013
I have glued a standard Lowrance transducer (the skimmer type) into the bottom of my last Osprey and am about to do it again with the new one.

The Osprey has a pretty solid layup and I still got excellent results just by using araldite and blue tack to create a reservoir.
__________________

__________________
---------------------------------------------------
Chris Stevens

Born fiddler
Chris is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:32.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.