Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 26 March 2011, 19:21   #1
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Dorset
Boat name: Seabadger
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 5m +
Engine: DF140
MMSI: -
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 504
GPS to DSC connection

Hi
I have a Cobra fixed mount DSC radio and Lowrance HDS 5m GPS. The radio comes with a small lead with 2 wires - 1 red, 1 black (not the main power wires!) for connecting to a GPS. The GPS has a variety of wires which these could be connected to.

Without reading the reams of paperwork both devices came with does anyone know how the radio should be connected to the GPS please!

Thanks
__________________

__________________
diver 1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 March 2011, 18:57   #2
Member
 
Vandad's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: London
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 8m +
Engine: 250hp
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 195
found this for you:

http://www.worldseafishing.com/forum...d.php?t=198041
__________________

__________________
Vandad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29 March 2011, 03:45   #3
Member
 
Cookee's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Salcombe, Devon, UK
Boat name: BananaShark
Make: BananaShark
Length: 10m +
Engine: 2xYanmar 260 diesels
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 4,225
Quote:
Originally Posted by diver 1 View Post
Hi
I have a Cobra fixed mount DSC radio and Lowrance HDS 5m GPS. The radio comes with a small lead with 2 wires - 1 red, 1 black (not the main power wires!) for connecting to a GPS. The GPS has a variety of wires which these could be connected to.

Without reading the reams of paperwork both devices came with does anyone know how the radio should be connected to the GPS please!

Thanks
If the Cobra only has one pair of wires for NMEA then they will be the NMEA in - you will need a manual for the specific Lowrance (they are available online) to find out which wire is the NMEA out on the GPS. Often the NMEA negative wire goes to earth so I would assume the black on the Cobra either goes to the same earth as the GPS or to the equivalent.

Hope that's clear, it's easy once you know which wire is which!
__________________
Cookee
Originally Posted by Zippy
When a boat looks that good who needs tubes!!!
Cookee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29 March 2011, 05:59   #4
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Make: HumberOceanOffshore
Length: 8m +
Engine: Volvo KAD300/DPX
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 4,962
Quote:
Originally Posted by diver 1 View Post
.....Without reading the reams of paperwork both devices came with does anyone know how the radio should be connected to the GPS please!

Thanks
If all else fails, read the fkin instructions!



Hehe.. take no prisoners...
__________________
JW.
jwalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29 March 2011, 06:41   #5
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: Edinburgh
Make: Humber op
Length: 6m +
Engine: Mariner 100 efi
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 43
I just did this with our new icom dsc and a lowrance elite5 GPS/plotter , the instructions don't even mention linking the two together .

the cable from the plotter -you need to use the yellow wire and join it to the red on the radio . then the screening wire joins the black on the radio .

although on our icom radio we had a red and a screen not a black and red .


Craig..........
__________________
bojit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29 March 2011, 11:11   #6
Member
 
Country: USA
Town: Oakland CA
Length: 3m +
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 6,653
Quote:
Originally Posted by jwalker View Post
If all else fails, read the fkin instructions!
Sort of what I was thinking, as well.

jky
__________________
jyasaki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04 April 2011, 03:45   #7
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Dorset
Boat name: Seabadger
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 5m +
Engine: DF140
MMSI: -
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 504
The written lowrance instructions didn't match the wiring diagram on the same page which wasn't helpful. The cobra manual just said which was input negative and which was positive. I took a guess and it seemed to work.

From Chartplotter (HDS 5m) the bare earth wire goes to earth, the blue wire goes to black on the radio and the yellow wire goes to red on the radio. The other 2 wires are insulated and stuck out of the way.

Seems fine now.
__________________

__________________
diver 1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:28.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.