Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 17 April 2008, 03:00   #11
Trade member
 
tim griffin's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Newport IoW
Boat name: Amean/Pronto/Rumbo
Make: Solent Rib Princess
Length: 7m +
Engine: 200hp Etec 260x 2
MMSI: lots of them
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,859
What about Furuno, or Lowrance any thought on them ease of use waterproof to IPX7 and able to withstand being on an open boat and are they any good.
Cheers
__________________
Tim Griffin
RYA Freelance YMI power Powerboat and PWC instructor trainer vhf first aid sea survival Diesel engine radar and navigation instructor
tim griffin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30 April 2008, 13:02   #12
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Mighty Penryn
Boat name: Little Joe.
Make: Avon Searider
Length: 4m +
Engine: Honda BF50
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 8,841
http://www.westonemarine.com/index.p...94e3e0b19f4e8d

I've bought my Standard Horizon electronics through these guys. Just about the best prices I could find in the UK and just down the road.
__________________

__________________
Mollers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30 April 2008, 15:22   #13
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Boat name: Ribell
Length: no boat
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 195
I put a Lowrance 8200c plotter on our boat last year, no problems yet...

The display is bright and always readable, has not misted at all, even during winter use.

It's easy to use, menus are sensible and buttons useable whilst on the move.

They have NMEA 2000 so if you are lucky to have a newish motor you may be able to display the fuel and temp info on screen.

I know mine is not a sounder, but they do them with sounders, I wanted seperate plotter and sounder.

Tim
__________________
v666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30 April 2008, 15:28   #14
Trade member
 
tim griffin's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Newport IoW
Boat name: Amean/Pronto/Rumbo
Make: Solent Rib Princess
Length: 7m +
Engine: 200hp Etec 260x 2
MMSI: lots of them
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,859
How big is it H/W/D can it be flush mounted as need a same size footprint as the plotter/sounder it is replacing
Cheers Tim
__________________
Tim Griffin
RYA Freelance YMI power Powerboat and PWC instructor trainer vhf first aid sea survival Diesel engine radar and navigation instructor
tim griffin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30 April 2008, 16:31   #15
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Boat name: Ribell
Length: no boat
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 195
Flush mounts no problem. The info said that I would need to buy a flush mount kit, it came with mine though .

The lowrance web site gives gives the 8.4" screen
Width 10.6 in \ 269 mm
Height 7.8 in \ 198 mm
Depth 3.7 in \ 94 mm

Lowrance sonar/plotters

May be cheaper from the states

If you want more info about lawrance talk to J K Max as they are very helpful and know their stuff.
__________________

__________________
v666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:18.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.