Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 16 March 2006, 16:00   #1
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: West Wickham
Boat name: Aries IV
Make: Scorpion
Length: 8m +
Engine: Etec 250
MMSI: 235036477
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 273
GPS aerial inside console

I have an option to include a Lowrance 3600c on my console, close to the top of the console. (Scorpion)

This has a built-in aerial.

I would be interested to hear your views on the likelihood of receiving sGPS signals through both the equipment case (which should not be a problem, as this is what it is designed to do) and through the fibreglass console.

The alternative is a 3500c, which is identical, except that it has an external aerial.

Thank you for your thoughts!

Chris.
__________________

__________________
Chris Murray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16 March 2006, 17:20   #2
Member
 
Richard B's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Devon
Boat name: White Ice
Make: Ranieri
Length: 5m +
Engine: Suzuki 115hp
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 5,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris Murray
...through the fibreglass console.
Hi Chris, I'm fairly sure this won't work. The GPS signal transmitted from satellites is very low power. Our receiver is on top of our console, and it's OK if obscured by a paper chart, but anything more substantial stops it working. Placing a mobile 'phone in an aquapack on top of it is usually the reason for it displaying "No GPS signal"!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Stuff 013 (Small).jpg
Views:	135
Size:	45.0 KB
ID:	17935  
__________________

Richard B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16 March 2006, 17:37   #3
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: West Wickham
Boat name: Aries IV
Make: Scorpion
Length: 8m +
Engine: Etec 250
MMSI: 235036477
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 273
Hello Richard,

Thanks for your comment. This is pretty much what I would expect. However, if there was a reasonable chance that it would be OK, then it means that I would not need to have an aerial on the console.

My main GPS antenna will be on the radar arch. This will be my back-up but it really does need to work! I am tying to avoid a second aerial on the radar arch on the basis that if a wave takes out the main aerial, then the back up may still be intact on (or inside) the console.

I would welcome other views and experiences, in the hope that someone can tell me that they have tried it and it is useless! That way, the choice becomes obvious.

Whilst writing, Aries IV ("Quick One" didn't look right) is due to be completed in late April. It's already out of the Jelly mould!

Best wishes,

Chris.
__________________
Chris Murray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16 March 2006, 17:47   #4
Member
 
Country: UK - Wales
Town: swansea
Boat name: Too Blue
Make: BLANK
Length: 8m +
Engine: Suzuki DT225
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 12,791
My GPS works fine inside a car - glass and metal etc in the way.

I have also had signal through an asbestos sheet roof and inside a plane so try it and see is the best advice!!!
__________________
codprawn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16 March 2006, 17:48   #5
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Make: HumberOceanOffshore
Length: 8m +
Engine: Volvo KAD300/DPX
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 4,962
Sorry Richard but I don't agree. I have 3 antennas inside the cabin and they're all ok. I tried them inside and out before deciding where to mount them and the signal strength displayed by the units appeared unaffected. In use, there's not been a problem. However, if there is anything metallic above then that is a different story.
__________________
JW.
jwalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 March 2006, 03:42   #6
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: nr Lymington
Boat name: JU-JU
Make: Halmatic PAC22
Length: 6m +
Engine: 140.5 Mermaid
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,400
Quote:
Originally Posted by codprawn
My GPS works fine inside a car - glass and metal etc in the way.....
they work through glass but not metal and metalised windows stop them working too Des
__________________
Scary Des is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 March 2006, 04:06   #7
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Nutbourne
Boat name: Renegade
Make: Porter
Length: 6m +
Engine: 140 Tohatsu
MMSI: 235022904
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,195
My old Garmin GPS3+ works below deck on yachts. I found that aquisition was a bit iffy but if you powered it up on deck the took it below it worked fine. Signal is degraded but there is still enough for a low DOP. Flash it up and then try different positions whilst watching the signal bars. Mount it where the signal is strongest.

Des. Add heated front screens to your list of "no work" situations.
__________________
Mark H
"A common mistake that people make when trying to design something completely foolproof is to underestimate the ingenuity of complete fools" Douglas Adams
Mark Halliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 March 2006, 06:31   #8
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: ramsgate
Boat name: Micki Dee Bee
Make: Ribcraft Seasafari
Length: 9m +
Engine: Twin 250hp Suzuki
MMSI: 235057235
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,622
Send a message via MSN to Jon Brooks
I have recently assited with the fit of DSC radio's to PWC's.
We mounted a Garmin GPS antenna inside the ski, not exrternal.

Works fine with no problem at all.

Not exactly the same but nearly.

Regards
__________________
Jon Brooks VSMM. Marine Mammal Medic, PBI, SRC Assessor,PWC Instructor.
www.horizonseasafaris.co.uk
Jon Brooks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 March 2006, 07:17   #9
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Newquay, Cornwall.
Boat name: None :(
Make: None :(
Length: 5m +
Engine: None :(
MMSI: None :(
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,280
If you have a Sirf III chipset the GPS will work inside an office block - but they are not common on marine gps.

the older gps receivers where "tuned" to reject signals below a certain level as this was the only way they separate out a direct from a reflected signal when in urban or mountainous conditions.

modern GPS chipsets work out your likely position based on your last position, speed and heading and then reject signals based on the likely hood of them being reflected. This means that they can still use weaker signals to get a fix which is why they now work indoors.

your best bet would be to power it up inside the console and check if it works - unlike when in a car you will be driving under trees etc you are in open water 99% of the time so you may get away with it - it will depend on quality and type of receiver, thickness of console grp, and what else you have or put on top of the console.
roycruse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 March 2006, 07:22   #10
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Newquay, Cornwall.
Boat name: None :(
Make: None :(
Length: 5m +
Engine: None :(
MMSI: None :(
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,280
Quote:
Originally Posted by Richard B
Placing a mobile 'phone in an aquapack on top of it is usually the reason for it displaying "No GPS signal"!
A mobile phone will drown out the GPS signal rather than block it.

I think if you take a handheld vhf over to your antenna and key up it will also drop all the satelites.

even though frequencies are not the same a strong enough signal of any band near enough to a reciever will cause drop out.
__________________

roycruse is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:28.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.