Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 12 September 2012, 08:32   #51
Member
 
Maximus's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Wild West
Boat name: No Boat
Make: No Boat
Length: under 3m
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 4,272
Send a message via AIM to Maximus
Quote:
Originally Posted by lukewhiting View Post
Might aswell wait for the hero 3 !
Dont Bother..already here!! A cheaper,less effective, poorer definition,wrist mounted version..like most things you get what you pay for!
__________________

__________________
A clever Man learns by his mistakes..
A Wise Man learns by other people's!

The Road to HELL ..is Paved with "Good inventions!"
Maximus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13 September 2012, 15:47   #52
Member
 
actions's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Herne Bay
Boat name: Red May
Make: Zodiac
Length: 4m +
Engine: 40hp Honda 4 Stroke
MMSI: Is quite long
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 653
Send a message via Skype™ to actions
Down to 193 from a business seller on ebay including postage for the motorsports version. Bargain.

Sent from me!
__________________

__________________
actions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23 September 2012, 09:24   #53
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Dorset & Hants
Boat name: Streaker/Orange
Make: Avon/Ribcraft
Length: 4m +
Engine: 50Yam/25 Mariner
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,551
To close this out ...

I went to the boat show today ( it was very quiet , wet and cold ...) however I spoke to the Go pro guy and the Veho guy ...ended up with the veho as he did a great deal & the video of Cookees e-lites boat they had showing swung it for me.

I also got a blue tooth speaker ..that I have foind on getting home and opening the bag ...was never actually put in the bag ..

I'm hoping they realise it was simple error and sort it...

Time will tell but it seems to do all the go pro does , includes the remote etc at a fraction of the cost of the same from go pro . ( Like half ! ) .

I can cope with 8mp and not 11 for that cost saving...

Pete
__________________
PeterM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23 September 2012, 09:37   #54
Member
 
actions's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Herne Bay
Boat name: Red May
Make: Zodiac
Length: 4m +
Engine: 40hp Honda 4 Stroke
MMSI: Is quite long
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 653
Send a message via Skype™ to actions
Look forward to some videos now then
__________________
actions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23 September 2012, 12:48   #55
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Bristol
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 5m +
Engine: Yamaha
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 4,194
Pete. Which model did you go for? Also was at boat show today. Flippin wet! Spoke to the go pro guy and he had no idea what a gecko helmet was!! Ha ha
__________________
matt h is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23 September 2012, 14:08   #56
Member
 
actions's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Herne Bay
Boat name: Red May
Make: Zodiac
Length: 4m +
Engine: 40hp Honda 4 Stroke
MMSI: Is quite long
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 653
Send a message via Skype™ to actions
Reviews

Not sure if im going to get this to scan and upload to the right size to be able to read it but here goes.......

Reviews from the free daily mail magazine of action camera's just in case anyone is interested.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	scan0003.jpg
Views:	127
Size:	225.4 KB
ID:	72426   Click image for larger version

Name:	scan0002.jpg
Views:	119
Size:	190.6 KB
ID:	72427  
__________________
actions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23 September 2012, 14:10   #57
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Dorset & Hants
Boat name: Streaker/Orange
Make: Avon/Ribcraft
Length: 4m +
Engine: 50Yam/25 Mariner
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,551
Quote:
Originally Posted by matt h View Post
Pete. Which model did you go for? Also was at boat show today. Flippin wet! Spoke to the go pro guy and he had no idea what a gecko helmet was!! Ha ha
I ended up with the Muvi HD - with the remote etc & a 'micro action camera ' - not HD , but very very small. ( and a wireless speaker too) - all for 195 - which was OK by me .

Full marks to them - when I realised I didn't get the speaker in the bag I sent an email ( not expecting a reply ) , but in five minutes got a reply saying it woudl be in the post tomorrow ! . Fantastic service ...

We really shoudl co-ordinate better with going to these things ....

I had a swift Guiness and decided it was raining so bloody hard I wasnt going to go outside ! So saw nothing but what was in the halls ...( Steves Skipper got some new Dubarry boots too and a good price - Henri Lloyds started leaking on him... - so had to be replaced)

I'm spending this evening staring into lenses working out how it all works - then out to the grage to set up on the boat - one forward , one back I think...
__________________
PeterM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24 September 2012, 07:29   #58
Member
 
Cookee's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Salcombe, Devon, UK
Boat name: BananaShark
Make: BananaShark
Length: 10m +
Engine: 2xYanmar 260 diesels
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 4,225
Quote:
Originally Posted by PeterM View Post
I ended up with the Muvi HD - with the remote etc & a 'micro action camera ' - not HD , but very very small. ( and a wireless speaker too) - all for 195 - which was OK by me .

Full marks to them - when I realised I didn't get the speaker in the bag I sent an email ( not expecting a reply ) , but in five minutes got a reply saying it woudl be in the post tomorrow ! . Fantastic service ...

We really shoudl co-ordinate better with going to these things ....

I had a swift Guiness and decided it was raining so bloody hard I wasnt going to go outside ! So saw nothing but what was in the halls ...( Steves Skipper got some new Dubarry boots too and a good price - Henri Lloyds started leaking on him... - so had to be replaced)

I'm spending this evening staring into lenses working out how it all works - then out to the grage to set up on the boat - one forward , one back I think...
With the Muvi cameraas make sure you get the settings just right - tape down the VOX switch as it's easy to turn that on instead of the power, go for 720 resolution and make sure it's set for PAL. The remote will wake the camera up if it's switch on but asleep, you'll need to press it again to get it recording - they're brilliant!
__________________
Cookee
Originally Posted by Zippy
When a boat looks that good who needs tubes!!!
Cookee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24 September 2012, 10:32   #59
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Dorset & Hants
Boat name: Streaker/Orange
Make: Avon/Ribcraft
Length: 4m +
Engine: 50Yam/25 Mariner
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,551
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cookee View Post
With the Muvi cameraas make sure you get the settings just right - tape down the VOX switch as it's easy to turn that on instead of the power, go for 720 resolution and make sure it's set for PAL. The remote will wake the camera up if it's switch on but asleep, you'll need to press it again to get it recording - they're brilliant!
I'm impressed so far ...I spent ten minutes swearing as to why it wont turn on - then realised i was turning the VOX on ....oops ! I recall you saying you used them and that combined with the cost swung it for me ...

Played with the video /stills settings and remote and love that I can remotely switch from stills every set length of time to video and back - handy for the bits that you know will be 'interesting' so want on video .

It seems to default to std setting when turned off , but guess thats one to just get used to ..

Plan is to have HD looking forward and std looking back at me on console..

Now I just need a new laptop to run it all quicker !!...
__________________
PeterM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24 September 2012, 13:25   #60
Member
 
actions's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Herne Bay
Boat name: Red May
Make: Zodiac
Length: 4m +
Engine: 40hp Honda 4 Stroke
MMSI: Is quite long
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 653
Send a message via Skype™ to actions
Quote:
Originally Posted by PeterM

Now I just need a new laptop to run it all quicker !!...
Ha ha. Know how you feel. My laptop keeled over when i plugged in the gopro. So i opted for a built to spec desktop simply to run the camera which i have connected through the tv screen. It needed a huge quad core processor and lots and lots and lots of memory. The equivalent laptop was going to cost a ridiculous amount for the power i needed and wanted.

Sent from me!
__________________

__________________
actions is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 23:14.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.