Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 13 March 2007, 06:06   #1
Member
 
Simon B's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Leicester
Boat name: Vixen
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 6m +
Engine: Suzuki OB 175
MMSI: 235071839
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,621
Globalmap 3500C-EP10-X107CDF

Finally got around to hooking up the Lowrance EP10 fuel flow transducer, looked simple. However, I believed it was compatible with our Globalmap 3500C, it isnt there was no NMEA2000 option in the second main menu.

Is this correct? We finally tried it with the Sonar X107CDF and it worked fine as a network set up using that.
__________________

__________________
New boat is here, very happy!
Simon
www.luec.org
Simon B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13 March 2007, 15:08   #2
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Bursledon
Boat name: Mustard
Make: Ribeye 785
Length: 7m +
Engine: Yamaha 200/Merc 6
MMSI: 235068693
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 618
I hope there is because I am just fitting a Global Map and an x102! They are networked so I guess it doesn't matter if the GM3500 won't show fuel.

My boat is miles away so I have loaded the simulators for the GM and the x102 from the Lowrance web site and it looks to me as if there is a set up on the GM for NEMA 2000 and fuel. It is in the first menu, NMEA 2000.

I have fitted fuel flow and water speed.

I hope to set my kit up tomorrow, so may be more help then.

Good luck!
__________________

__________________
JABS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14 March 2007, 06:26   #3
Member
 
Simon B's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Leicester
Boat name: Vixen
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 6m +
Engine: Suzuki OB 175
MMSI: 235071839
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,621
We cant see any NMEA2000 entries on any menu so I think this is a software difference. I'll load the upgrade and see if it appears. It would be better to have both devices able to see the network as you can then split the info to put different values on each screen so it isnt as cluttered.

There are a lot of varibles you can see for the fuel flow transducer, it looks a good bit of kit.
__________________
New boat is here, very happy!
Simon
www.luec.org
Simon B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15 March 2007, 03:55   #4
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Bursledon
Boat name: Mustard
Make: Ribeye 785
Length: 7m +
Engine: Yamaha 200/Merc 6
MMSI: 235068693
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 618
Simon,

I installed the 3500 and the x102 yesterday. It all came together well. I didn't upgrade the software on either unit. Only thing I can't see to change is the units on the fuel flow system. It is currently in US GPH.

Going into the set up menu, the devices were visible. Is your network set up correctly? Have you got 120 ohm ternimators at each end? rather than the 60 ohm one that comes with the GPS?

If you want to call me, I can talk you through it. 07831 445599.

Tony.
__________________
JABS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15 March 2007, 16:02   #5
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Length: 4m +
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 79
You need to update the software version on the 3500 to 1.8.0 which was released in December to get the latest NMEA2K functionality.

The gallons / litres issue is changed globally under 'units of measure' in system set up.

One tip when configuring EP-10's voltage is critical. Make sure you have at least 13.4v at the head unit which will give you 12.4v on the network.

TT
__________________
Texel Tom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12 April 2007, 03:41   #6
Member
 
Simon B's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Leicester
Boat name: Vixen
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 6m +
Engine: Suzuki OB 175
MMSI: 235071839
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,621
Still couldnt get the update to upload;
Went to the browse MMC files option and all that was available to do was delete it not transfer it. It didnt look like it executed itself automatically. There however other different files on the card didnt know if this stopped it.
__________________
New boat is here, very happy!
Simon
www.luec.org
Simon B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13 April 2007, 03:36   #7
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Bursledon
Boat name: Mustard
Make: Ribeye 785
Length: 7m +
Engine: Yamaha 200/Merc 6
MMSI: 235068693
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 618
I have exactly the same problem. I have contacted Silva UK for a resolution!
Drives me mad to have fule in US Gallons.

Also, I had a 'tee' piece fail due to water ingress. I really don't think they are absolutely waterproof!
__________________
JABS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13 April 2007, 06:34   #8
Member
 
Simon B's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Leicester
Boat name: Vixen
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 6m +
Engine: Suzuki OB 175
MMSI: 235071839
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,621
Also had another possible fault; I power up the network and the unit and get the error message "GPS module not responding" start the engine, voltage increases and our position is aquired. This may stem from battery being completely discharged a while back and maybe not being fully charged even though its got enough grunt to start the motor.
__________________
New boat is here, very happy!
Simon
www.luec.org
Simon B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24 April 2007, 18:56   #9
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Bursledon
Boat name: Mustard
Make: Ribeye 785
Length: 7m +
Engine: Yamaha 200/Merc 6
MMSI: 235068693
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 618
Just FYI, I talked with Silva and they said they would mail me the upgraded software. There is a problem sendimg it by email, the anti virus kills some of the files.....

I will see what I get.

Noy holding my breath and not impressed at all.

__________________
JABS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25 April 2007, 05:05   #10
Member
 
Simon B's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Leicester
Boat name: Vixen
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 6m +
Engine: Suzuki OB 175
MMSI: 235071839
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,621
JABS,

Do let us know how you get on, I still havent managed to get our software updated. We've a few other problems with our network that need bottoming out.
__________________

__________________
New boat is here, very happy!
Simon
www.luec.org
Simon B is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:27.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.