Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 06 June 2013, 14:54   #1
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: murcia spain /doncaster
Boat name: nauti - buoy
Make: avon
Length: 6m +
Engine: honda 150
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 41
garmin550s

hi I have just bought this garmin 550 s its a few years old now and software is outdated 2006, I know its a long shot but does anybody know how to update the software on this garmin , as I understand you can download updates from garmin onto a sd card and update the unit that way , if some one know s how or has done their own would they get in touch , either show me how or do it for me , I will pay someone to do it , and will travel with unit ,im from Doncaster but in Whitby every week thanks nige tel 07866222211
__________________

__________________
niggle99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06 June 2013, 15:19   #2
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Sussex
Make: RIBTEC 655
Length: 6m +
Engine: Yam 150
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,157
Garmin: GPSMAP 550/550S Change History

http://www8.garmin.com/support/downl...ls.jsp?id=4763

This is what you need, you stick the update on an SD card, pop the card in the slot and power up the unit, it will then run the update.

One problem you may encounter is a faulty SD card slot and it does't recognise the card.
__________________

__________________
thomas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06 June 2013, 15:41   #3
Member
 
Silverfox's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Mallorca
Boat name: Amaroo
Make: Jeanneau & Seago 2.6
Length: 7m +
Engine: Outboard 200hp & 4hp
MMSI: 235104224
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 543
You might need to format your SD card. Also use a normal SD card not an SDHD one too.
__________________
Will.

"By skill not force."
Silverfox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07 June 2013, 04:09   #4
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Boat name: Wildheart
Make: Humber/Delta Seasafe
Length: 5m +
Engine: Merc 60 Clamshell
MMSI: 235068449
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 4,610
On phone at mo so not looked at the Garmin link, but first thing is to check what software version the machine is running compared to what you are about to try & download.

You might not need to do anything!

When I did my plotter I just emptied the case in my camera and used it. Also remember you might need a small capacity card depending on the age of the plotter. Mine won't read anything bigger than 2meg.
__________________
9D280 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07 June 2013, 06:13   #5
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: Ardfern
Boat name: Moon Raker
Make: Humber Destroyer
Length: 5m +
Engine: Honda BF 90 D
MMSI: 235035994
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 694
Yes, I did mine a while ago. The SD card couldn't be read at first. I guessed it had to be formatted. The only way I know how to do that is in my camera, which I did. Everything worked after that and the plotter was updated.

I think it was an improvement, certainly more features easier to find. I think the chart scrolls more quickly too. It looks slightly different too, though I can no longer pinpoint why. I've got used to it and find it an amazing piece of kit.
__________________
alystra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08 June 2013, 04:50   #6
Member
 
Country: Other
Town: Stanley, Falkland Is
Boat name: Seawolf
Make: Osprey Vipermax 5.8
Length: 5m +
Engine: Etec 150
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 3,688
I have a 556s - am I likely to gain anything with an upgrade? It was bought in 2010 with the boat.
__________________
A Boat is a hole in the water, surrounded by fibreglass, into which you throw money...

Sent from my Computer, using a keyboard and mouse
BogMonster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08 June 2013, 06:15   #7
Member
 
Leapy's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Sheepy Parva
Boat name: Sadly Sold
Length: no boat
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 1,728
Quote:
Originally Posted by BogMonster View Post
I have a 556s - am I likely to gain anything with an upgrade? It was bought in 2010 with the boat.
The Garmin support website gives model by model, update by update, feature uplift or bug fix details.
__________________
Leapy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08 June 2013, 06:32   #8
AJ.
RIBnet supporter
 
AJ.'s Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Warwickshire
Boat name: Impulse
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 5m +
Engine: Suzuki 140
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 1,020
Format a small SD card. Stick it in the plotter and export/copy to SD.

Insert SD card into PC, log into Garmin website select plotter model and follow instructions for update. The website will check the software version on the SD card and update to latest version. When complete put SD card into plotter and import from SD card. Job done
__________________
AJ. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20 June 2013, 20:27   #9
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Exmouth, Devon
Length: no boat
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 765
A chart update SD card is also available @ 50 or so.
__________________

__________________
www.allgadgets.co.uk
Tel 01395 227727
MikeCC is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 15:20.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.