Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 24 August 2015, 12:15   #1
Member
 
Country: Canada
Town: Toronto
Make: Highfield
Length: 5m +
Engine: Yamaha 115XB
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 73
Garmin Transducer Installation

Hi all,

New to marine electronics, so had a question here. In the transducer installation instructions that came with my Garmin (http://static.garmin.com/pumac/DownV...llation_EN.pdf ) it states:

"avoid routing the cable close to electrical wires or other sources of electrical interference".

now is this like car audio, where power should go down one side and speaker wires the other else it sounds terrible?

The challenge is Highfield just sent me the schematic for the boat, and there's one cableway down the right side, so already has everything feeding back to engine, lights, etc.

Any guidance would be much appreciated.

Cheers,
Neil
__________________

__________________
TorontoDiver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24 August 2015, 12:48   #2
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Leicester
Length: 5m +
Engine: 135hp Mercury
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 708
The transducer cable on mine runs up the transom & is then cable tied to the cables from the engine to the console where it meets all the other electrics as well.
Its power and earth is taken from the busbars in the console via an individual fuse.
Never had any issues with either the old Humminbird or the Dragonfly 7 I've recently fitted.
__________________

__________________
paintman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24 August 2015, 13:19   #3
Member
 
Country: Canada
Town: Toronto
Make: Highfield
Length: 5m +
Engine: Yamaha 115XB
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 73
Quote:
Originally Posted by paintman View Post
The transducer cable on mine runs up the transom & is then cable tied to the cables from the engine to the console where it meets all the other electrics as well.
Its power and earth is taken from the busbars in the console via an individual fuse.
Never had any issues with either the old Humminbird or the Dragonfly 7 I've recently fitted.
Thanks Paintman! was worried I would need to drill even more holes in the boat
__________________
TorontoDiver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24 August 2015, 13:47   #4
Member
 
Country: USA
Town: Silverton, Oregon
Make: Bombard Commando C4
Length: 4m +
Engine: 25 HP Mercury
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 40
My Raytheon is done the same way without issues.
__________________
Dan F is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:07.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.