Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 09 May 2010, 14:08   #11
Member
 
Country: Other
Town: Stanley, Falkland Is
Boat name: Seawolf
Make: Osprey Vipermax 5.8
Length: 5m +
Engine: Etec 150
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 3,688
Whatever I fit it isn't going to be through a hole in the hull, I just wondered if there was any reason to choose one or the other. There doesn't seem to be one that is designed specially to be glued on the inside of the hull, at least not on the websites I have looked at.
__________________

__________________
A Boat is a hole in the water, surrounded by fibreglass, into which you throw money...

Sent from my Computer, using a keyboard and mouse
BogMonster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09 May 2010, 14:15   #12
Member
 
Screaming04's Avatar
 
Country: Canada
Town: Vancouver, BC Canada
Boat name: Black Ops
Make: Zodiac Hurricane 733
Length: 7m +
Engine: OceanPro 150hp x 2
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 246
Transducers designed for the purpose are called "shoot through". Transom models can be glued in as described... neither method will work properly with a cored hull in the transducer location.... thus the "hole in the hull" type.
__________________

__________________
Screaming04 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09 May 2010, 19:18   #13
Member
 
Country: Other
Town: Stanley, Falkland Is
Boat name: Seawolf
Make: Osprey Vipermax 5.8
Length: 5m +
Engine: Etec 150
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 3,688
Quote:
Originally Posted by Screaming04 View Post
Transducers designed for the purpose are called "shoot through". Transom models can be glued in as described... neither method will work properly with a cored hull in the transducer location.... thus the "hole in the hull" type.
Can't comment on whether the Vipermax has a cored hull or not (in fact I don't even know what that is) but others (notably Chris who did a thread on his install) seem to have fitted them with no problems in Vipermaxes so going on that, presumably it works and apparently works better than one on the transom. My transom mounted sounder on the old Humber didn't work at all over about 20kt.
__________________
A Boat is a hole in the water, surrounded by fibreglass, into which you throw money...

Sent from my Computer, using a keyboard and mouse
BogMonster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10 May 2010, 05:40   #14
RIBnet supporter
 
Erin's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Channel Islands
Town: A large rock
Boat name: La Frette
Make: Osprey Vipermax
Length: 6m +
Engine: 200 Suzzy
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 2,830
The vipermax doesn't have a cored hull (usually ply or balsa sandwiched between layers of fibreglass for strength with least weight). You will find a p79 transducer available from Garmin, Airmar etc which is designed for mounting internally. It has an adjustable angle to cope with deadrise or non-horizontal mounting points.
__________________
Erin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10 May 2010, 06:31   #15
Member
 
Country: Other
Town: Stanley, Falkland Is
Boat name: Seawolf
Make: Osprey Vipermax 5.8
Length: 5m +
Engine: Etec 150
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 3,688
Aha - something like one of these: http://www.blueheronmarine.com/Detail.bok?no=6567

Are transducers specific to manufacturers or is it just the plug on the end that is different?
__________________
A Boat is a hole in the water, surrounded by fibreglass, into which you throw money...

Sent from my Computer, using a keyboard and mouse
BogMonster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10 May 2010, 07:01   #16
RIBnet supporter
 
Erin's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Channel Islands
Town: A large rock
Boat name: La Frette
Make: Osprey Vipermax
Length: 6m +
Engine: 200 Suzzy
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 2,830
Yep thats the baby. Or one of these https://buy.garmin.com/shop/shop.do?pID=836 My Garmin one was actually made by Airmar and distributed by Garmin. I have no idea if they have a universal plug on the end. Given we're talking marine electronics here, I very much doubt it!
__________________
Erin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10 May 2010, 07:05   #17
Member
 
Country: Other
Town: Stanley, Falkland Is
Boat name: Seawolf
Make: Osprey Vipermax 5.8
Length: 5m +
Engine: Etec 150
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 3,688
Same part number

Which is odd as I searched Garmin.com for the part number and their search said it didn't exist

It confirms that it is compatible with the 551s though, thanks
__________________
A Boat is a hole in the water, surrounded by fibreglass, into which you throw money...

Sent from my Computer, using a keyboard and mouse
BogMonster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10 May 2010, 14:20   #18
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Gloucestershire
Boat name: Osprey
Make: Osprey Vipermax
Length: 5m +
Engine: E-tec 300 G2
MMSI: TBC
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 4,013
Quote:
Originally Posted by BogMonster View Post
Same part number

Which is odd as I searched Garmin.com for the part number and their search said it didn't exist

It confirms that it is compatible with the 551s though, thanks
Stephen,

One thing to bear in mind is your E-tec is going to come with its own NMEA 2000 network, you can plug any NMEA devices into this network and they all talk to each other. So you can plug an NMEA sounder into the network and the data gets displayed on any NMEA GPS / Sounder whether its garmin, lowrance etc.

So for example you will get with the engine a Lowrance GPS antenna as standard this connects up to the network and will feed any NMEA 2000 compliant devices with data about position and speed. This includes the two icommand digital guages you will get with the engine. Also you will get a fuel tank converter that takes the signal from the fuel tank sender then converts it into a digital signal that then gets carried acorss the network to the icommand guages. You can then set up the guages as you want to have them with different data displayed on each.

So as long as you buy NMEA 2000 sensors or display units they should all talk to each other.

Your Garmin 550 is NMEA 2000 so thats a good start ! This should mean that you wont have to fit a second GPS aerial as it will run off the one that comes with the engine. that Osprey will be (I am assuming) fitting for you.

Chris
__________________
---------------------------------------------------
Chris Stevens

Born fiddler
Chris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10 May 2010, 15:02   #19
Member
 
Country: UK - Wales
Town: West Wales
Make: Vipermax 5.8, SR4.7
Length: 5m +
Engine: 150 Opti, F50EFi
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 6,298
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris View Post
This should mean that you wont have to fit a second GPS aerial
Good point Chris, but the Garmin 550/551 units have internal antennae.
__________________
Downhilldai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10 May 2010, 15:53   #20
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Gloucestershire
Boat name: Osprey
Make: Osprey Vipermax
Length: 5m +
Engine: E-tec 300 G2
MMSI: TBC
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 4,013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Downhilldai View Post
Good point Chris, but the Garmin 550/551 units have internal antennae.
Bloody new fangled technology !
__________________

__________________
---------------------------------------------------
Chris Stevens

Born fiddler
Chris is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 18:03.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.