Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 09 April 2007, 17:51   #1
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: Inverness
Boat name: none
Make: none
Length: 5m +
Engine: none
MMSI: none
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,908
Garmin interface cables

I just tried to update my Garmin sofware as I have seen there is a new update I haven't loaded for better WAAS use.
However I have just found that I can't as my cable/software is now not up to the job!
My old trusty laptop that I used to use only runs 98 which won't work with currrent update software and my new desktop doesn't have a serial port so I can't plug in the cable!
Does anybody know what the connections are for converting my home made interface cable from serial port to USB plug are?
__________________

__________________
BruceB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10 April 2007, 06:57   #2
Member
 
Bern Hanreck's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Norfolk/Suffolk Borders
Boat name: La Bamba
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 5m +
Engine: F100 Yam / 5Hp Suz
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 707
try Maplins

www.maplins.co.uk

I thinks they are 20 !
__________________

__________________
Bern Hanreck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11 April 2007, 14:50   #3
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Exmouth, Devon
Length: no boat
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 765
. . . or one of these
Serial / USB Converter here
Post-free if you give me a call to order it - 01256 478000

Alternatively, there are various websites outlining the DIY route but it's not a straightforward pin-to-pin job. You need to include a little converter chip.

Mike
__________________
www.allgadgets.co.uk
Tel 01395 227727
MikeCC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11 April 2007, 15:56   #4
Member
 
Country: UK - Wales
Town: swansea
Boat name: Too Blue
Make: BLANK
Length: 8m +
Engine: Suzuki DT225
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 12,791
Funnily enough just(1 hr ago) helped out an old bloke on his sailing boat who couldn't get his laptop to talk to his Garmin 12 - the usb/serial connector works quite well and wasn't causing the problem - he had the wrong port selected.
__________________
codprawn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11 April 2007, 17:12   #5
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: Inverness
Boat name: none
Make: none
Length: 5m +
Engine: none
MMSI: none
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,908
I didn't have any problems with the old software, I find the new stuff won't even run to get as far as selcting the port.
My biggest problem is that I don't have a computer running XP that has a serial port to plug in, the next one is that I made my interface cable out of an old on for nowt and don't want to spend any money buying Garmin ones or expensive adaptors to get it to work.
Call me cheap but I prefer to spend what cash I have on shiny useful bits rather than bits of wire if I can make them for nothing!
__________________
BruceB is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:34.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.