Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 24 March 2012, 13:05   #1
Member
 
IndyR1's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Hull
Make: Bombard
Length: 5m +
Engine: Yam 60 2st
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 195
Garmin help required

My Garmin GPSmap Sounder is always showing "Looking for Satellites" and am not sure where to start trouble shooting.
The sounder part is working fine but it's not finding any satellites.
I've done a basic check of connections and everything seems ok but?

Where should I start checking
__________________

__________________
Si
IndyR1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24 March 2012, 13:20   #2
Member
 
Silverfox's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Mallorca
Boat name: Amaroo
Make: Jeanneau & Seago 2.6
Length: 7m +
Engine: Outboard 200hp & 4hp
MMSI: 235104224
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 543
I am having that exact same problem. I've turned of WAAS setting, gone back to factory default etc etc. I was going to try 2D next, and if that failed get a new one.
__________________

__________________
Will.

"By skill not force."
Silverfox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24 March 2012, 13:54   #3
Member
 
IndyR1's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Hull
Make: Bombard
Length: 5m +
Engine: Yam 60 2st
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 195
I've gone into the menu to make sure Autolocate is on and set the current position manually and also set the time correct. No change so I don't know where to go next.
__________________
Si
IndyR1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24 March 2012, 15:23   #4
Member
 
Razorbill RIBs's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Wales
Town: N. Pembrokeshire
Boat name: Various
Make: RIBs & Hovercraft
Length: 9m +
Engine: Outboards
MMSI: Various
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 1,357
RIBase
Hi Indy R1..... I had a similar problem with a Garmin unit on a clients boat last summer.....

Spoke with Garmin (really helpful) who (IIRC the order of things) suggested we left it on for a while as it had been unused for a v.long time, when that didn't work we downloaded a software update on SD as they suggested, that didn't work, checked the NMEA T section /connectors (some were a bit dodge from sitting in a wet locker loose on the floor ) replaced those and no joy....

......which left the antenna (external model - not sure what yours is)..... We were sent out a new one, plugged it in and hey presto..... There was no visible damage etc..... seemed odd that it could fail like that (no moving parts???), but thats what it was!

Not sure if thats any help.....would def speak to Garmin..... Good Luck!
__________________
Dan Worth
www.razorbillribs.co.uk

Follow us on Facebook http://www.facebook.com/#!/group.php...17306504953480
Razorbill RIBs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24 March 2012, 16:22   #5
Member
 
IndyR1's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Hull
Make: Bombard
Length: 5m +
Engine: Yam 60 2st
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 195
Quote:
Originally Posted by Razorbill RIBs View Post
Hi Indy R1..... I had a similar problem with a Garmin unit on a clients boat last summer.....

Spoke with Garmin (really helpful) who (IIRC the order of things) suggested we left it on for a while as it had been unused for a v.long time, when that didn't work we downloaded a software update on SD as they suggested, that didn't work, checked the NMEA T section /connectors (some were a bit dodge from sitting in a wet locker loose on the floor ) replaced those and no joy....

......which left the antenna (external model - not sure what yours is)..... We were sent out a new one, plugged it in and hey presto..... There was no visible damage etc..... seemed odd that it could fail like that (no moving parts???), but thats what it was!

Not sure if thats any help.....would def speak to Garmin..... Good Luck!
Did you just ring the uk support number from their web site or did you get another contact number?
__________________
Si
IndyR1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24 March 2012, 16:59   #6
Member
 
Razorbill RIBs's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Wales
Town: N. Pembrokeshire
Boat name: Various
Make: RIBs & Hovercraft
Length: 9m +
Engine: Outboards
MMSI: Various
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 1,357
RIBase
Quote:
Originally Posted by IndyR1 View Post
Did you just ring the uk support number from their web site or did you get another contact number?
Can't be sure, but I think it was just UK support no.
__________________
Dan Worth
www.razorbillribs.co.uk

Follow us on Facebook http://www.facebook.com/#!/group.php...17306504953480
Razorbill RIBs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24 March 2012, 17:03   #7
Member
 
IndyR1's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Hull
Make: Bombard
Length: 5m +
Engine: Yam 60 2st
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 195
Quote:
Originally Posted by Razorbill RIBs View Post
Can't be sure, but I think it was just UK support no.
Mines remote, a GA29 antenna I think, is that what you had to replace?

Did you get the same model again?
__________________
Si
IndyR1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24 March 2012, 19:45   #8
Member
 
hadd's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Manchester
Boat name: "mr Jingles"
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 5m +
Engine: 130 Etec
MMSI: 235074968
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 1,388
RIBase
Quote:
Originally Posted by IndyR1 View Post
Did you just ring the uk support number from their web site or did you get another contact number?
Here,s the number for Garmin 0870-850-1242
__________________

__________________
hadd is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:41.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.