Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 08 November 2009, 15:00   #1
Member
 
Country: Ireland
Length: 5m +
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 90
Garmin gps cable fitting ?

Can anybody point me to where I can get a new connector for the coax cable fitting into the gps at the back, the signal keeps disapearing when I hit a wave.
The gps is Garmin
__________________

__________________
davis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08 November 2009, 16:52   #2
Member
 
Country: UK - Wales
Town: West Wales
Make: Vipermax 5.8, SR4.7
Length: 5m +
Engine: 150 Opti, F50EFi
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 6,298
Is it a typical BNC antenna connector? If it is, these are widely available - try Maplin or a search on ebay.
__________________

__________________
Downhilldai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08 November 2009, 17:24   #3
Member
 
Country: France
Town: Cherbourg
Length: 5m +
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 39
which model is your Garmin gps?
__________________
tom's is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09 November 2009, 06:03   #4
Member
 
Channel Ribs's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Channel Islands
Town: Alderney
Length: no boat
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 3,047
Quote:
Originally Posted by davis View Post
Can anybody point me to where I can get a new connector for the coax cable fitting into the gps at the back, the signal keeps disapearing when I hit a wave.
The gps is Garmin
As said, most likely a BNC jobby but if you tell us the model we can be sure.

__________________
Channel Ribs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09 November 2009, 15:13   #5
Member
 
Country: Ireland
Town: Ireland
Make: Lodestar 3.4
Length: 3m +
Engine: Yamaha 15hp 2 stroke
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 166
Got a BNC connector in Maplin last week 2.50
__________________
Zubenelgenubi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09 November 2009, 15:41   #6
Member
 
Country: Ireland
Length: 5m +
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 90
Thanks for the replies, the model is Garmin 152 , probably a little old , but does the job
__________________
davis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09 November 2009, 15:53   #7
Member
 
Country: France
Town: Cherbourg
Length: 5m +
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 39
Davis, look at this:
http://www.orbitica.com/accessoires/010-10083-00.jpg


at: http://www.orbitica.com/gps/152.htm
__________________
tom's is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20 May 2013, 13:24   #8
Member
 
Country: UK - Wales
Town: merthyr tydfil
Boat name: osprey
Make: falkland
Length: 5m +
Engine: outboard
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 10
Hi

Brand new to the forum.
I have a problem in that I cannot get my garmin 152h to talk to my dsc radio. The radio is a M-Tec 500. Can anyone help. Must admit I am not educated on electronics.
__________________
taffdavies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20 May 2013, 13:38   #9
RIBnet supporter
 
Chris Caton's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Wirral & Caernarfon
Boat name: That's Enuff
Make: Revenger & Avon SR4
Length: 7m +
Engine: Honda 150HP & 50HP
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 4,199
Quote:
Originally Posted by taffdavies View Post
Hi

Brand new to the forum.
I have a problem in that I cannot get my garmin 152h to talk to my dsc radio. The radio is a M-Tec 500. Can anyone help. Must admit I am not educated on electronics.
welcome to Ribnet

I guess some one will know the answer, but I think it will depend on the age of both as the wether it's just a plug in and it'll work or if it needs hard wiring to sort it. my garmin 4008 needed hard wiring to the icom m505, not a big job, but much easier if you can just plug in
__________________
Chris Caton is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 20 May 2013, 14:02   #10
Member
 
Bern Hanreck's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Norfolk/Suffolk Borders
Boat name: La Bamba
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 5m +
Engine: F100 Yam / 5Hp Suz
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 707
Hiya Taff & Big Welcome to RIBnet

It'll be something like this.........

Assuming that both Garmin & Radio are powered from same battery ( common ground ), the blue cable from the Garmin( Pin 3 ) connects straight to pin1 ( the brown cable ) on your radio .

You must also set the communications on your Garmin to be using ( transmitting ) on Port 1 .

If this is not correct , I am sure someone will be along in a minute to ammend .

The hardest part may be entering your MMSI on the radio , if you haven't already done it..........

Always try the search function for these sort of questions as many of us have had to seek advice ourselves .
__________________

__________________
Bern Hanreck is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:13.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.