Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 23 May 2013, 12:01   #1
Member
 
Country: UK - N Ireland
Town: dungannon
Boat name: Topgun
Make: riamar
Length: 8m +
Engine: inboard diesel
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 16
Garmin g2 vision card??????

Hi guys just ordered a garmin 750s but need the G2 VISION card that covers lough neagh,anyone help me with which card i need,and where to buy from,are there different type cards to cover this area or how do they work,any help would be appreciated,thanks
__________________

__________________
seamy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23 May 2013, 12:38   #2
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: New Milton
Boat name: No Name
Make: Quick Silver
Length: 3m +
Engine: 5hp
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 70
I've had my 750s for over a year now, you need to purchase the Garmin Blue Chart g2 Vision UK & Ireland EU706L, they can cost you between 200 & 300, but keep checking ebay, picked a new up to date chart for around 70.
When you get your chart you can also download Garmin Homeport for about 20 onto your home computer, you can then do all your route planning at home, copy it to the chart SD card and take it to the boat and upload.
__________________

__________________
FOXFIRE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23 May 2013, 13:27   #3
Member
 
Dan Gurney's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Bingley, West Yorks
Boat name: Iolar
Make: Redbay
Length: 6m +
Engine: Suzuki DF140
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 841
Quote:
Originally Posted by seamy View Post
Hi guys just ordered a garmin 750s but need the G2 VISION card that covers lough neagh,anyone help me with which card i need,and where to buy from,are there different type cards to cover this area or how do they work,any help would be appreciated,thanks
Is it a standard SD card or the older proprietary type? I've been on the lookout for the older type to cover the lower Shannon (Lough Derg) for a while but haven't seen anything but the standard SD type. I'd even buy new if i could find the bugger.

I'm not advocating it but it seems to me that it would prolly be easy enough to "acquire" the data to copy onto standard SD from one of the darker corners of the Internet.
__________________
Dan Gurney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23 May 2013, 13:47   #4
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Bristol
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 5m +
Engine: Yamaha
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 4,194
Are they that good> ive a Garmin 451s .is it worth the extra spondulies?
__________________
matt h is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23 May 2013, 14:22   #5
RIBnet supporter
 
Erin's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Channel Islands
Town: A large rock
Boat name: La Frette
Make: Osprey Vipermax
Length: 6m +
Engine: 200 Suzzy
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 2,830
Quote:
Originally Posted by Clamchowder View Post

Is it a standard SD card or the older proprietary type? I've been on the lookout for the older type to cover the lower Shannon (Lough Derg) for a while but haven't seen anything but the standard SD type. I'd even buy new if i could find the bugger.

I'm not advocating it but it seems to me that it would prolly be easy enough to "acquire" the data to copy onto standard SD from one of the darker corners of the Internet.
You can't copy the SD cards. They adhere quite well to their name of secure. Well, you can copy them for use on a PC but they won't work on a plotter.

If you want an older proprietary Garmin card you are probably best getting hold of a blank one and the bluechart cd. You can then pay Garmin for an unlock code for e region you want to copy onto the card. Need their card reader too unfortunately.
Erin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23 May 2013, 16:54   #6
RIBnet supporter
 
gotchiguy's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Dinard, Brittany
Boat name: Into the Red
Make: Osprey Vipermax
Length: 7m +
Engine: Evinrude E-tec 250HO
MMSI: 235 076 114
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 1,948
RIBase
Quote:
Originally Posted by Erin View Post
You can't copy the SD cards. They adhere quite well to their name of secure. Well, you can copy them for use on a PC but they won't work on a plotter.
Oh really?
__________________
gotchiguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23 May 2013, 17:01   #7
Member
 
Country: Italy
Length: no boat
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 430
You only need the G2 Vision for the extras as the 750s is loaded with detailed charts of the UK as standard.

You can copy the preloaded chart from your 750s on to an SD card to use with Homeport on your home computer. Did it this week and it works well
__________________
landlord is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23 May 2013, 17:27   #8
RIBnet supporter
 
Pikey Dave's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: South Yorks
Boat name: Black Pig
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 5m +
Engine: DF140a
MMSI: 235111389
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 7,594
RIBase
Quote:
Originally Posted by Erin View Post
You can't copy the SD cards. They adhere quite well to their name of secure. Well, you can copy them for use on a PC but they won't work on a plotter.
Hmmm! not quite methinks
__________________
Rule#2: Never argue with an idiot. He'll drag you down to his level & then beat you with experience.
Rule#3: Tha' can't educate pork.
Rule#4: See rule#5
Pikey Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23 May 2013, 17:31   #9
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: London
Boat name: Orca
Make: Humber Ocean Pro 6.3
Length: 5m +
Engine: Honda 150hp
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 155
Quote:
Originally Posted by Clamchowder View Post
Is it a standard SD card or the older proprietary type? I've been on the lookout for the older type to cover the lower Shannon (Lough Derg) for a while but haven't seen anything but the standard SD type. I'd even buy new if i could find the bugger.

I'm not advocating it but it seems to me that it would prolly be easy enough to "acquire" the data to copy onto standard SD from one of the darker corners of the Internet.
I think I have one, I wanted the SD version and ended up with a thing I cannot use.
I think mine is all of Europe, would that do you?
__________________
Rob Jones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24 May 2013, 03:34   #10
RIBnet supporter
 
gotchiguy's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Dinard, Brittany
Boat name: Into the Red
Make: Osprey Vipermax
Length: 7m +
Engine: Evinrude E-tec 250HO
MMSI: 235 076 114
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 1,948
RIBase
Quote:
Originally Posted by Erin View Post
Well, you can copy them for use on a PC.
That's hard enough because you have to create a "virtual SD" card with the maps so that homeport can see them. Homeport is also available free on PD's link if you look around.
__________________
gotchiguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:28.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.