Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 09 April 2009, 06:30   #1
JSP
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Southport
Boat name: Qudos
Make: 5.4 Searider
Length: 5m +
Engine: Yam 115 V4
MMSI: 235068784
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 3,930
Garmin fishfinder NMEA

Just noticed that my Garmin fishfinder has a NMEA wires. What would this be for? What does it interface with? Sorry for the stupid question but yet again, I've never used one.
__________________

__________________
JSP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09 April 2009, 06:37   #2
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Gosport
Boat name: Gee-Gee-Jay
Make: Avon Searider
Length: 4m +
Engine: 40hp Yamaha
MMSI: 235050323
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 21
NMEA Outputs

Some fishfinders/sounders will output Water Temp, Depth and even Water Speed via an NMEA interface.
Not likely to be of use in a RIB console since all of the information is readily available in front of you.
Andy
__________________

__________________
AndyP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09 April 2009, 06:50   #3
JSP
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Southport
Boat name: Qudos
Make: 5.4 Searider
Length: 5m +
Engine: Yam 115 V4
MMSI: 235068784
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 3,930
Quote:
Originally Posted by AndyP View Post
Some fishfinders/sounders will output Water Temp, Depth and even Water Speed via an NMEA interface.
Not likely to be of use in a RIB console since all of the information is readily available in front of you.
Andy
Thanks Andy, that's what I thought. I only have an old Garmin 120 gps hooked up to the radio. Couldn't think what kind of info would be useful to transfer.
__________________
JSP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09 April 2009, 09:42   #4
RIBnet supporter
 
Erin's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Channel Islands
Town: A large rock
Boat name: La Frette
Make: Osprey Vipermax
Length: 6m +
Engine: 200 Suzzy
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 2,830
The f/f may also accept speed data from the GPS so that it can be displayed on the screen. Useful if you have a flybridge or second station on larger boats so you get the main data displayed in two locations.
__________________
Erin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09 April 2009, 10:06   #5
JSP
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Southport
Boat name: Qudos
Make: 5.4 Searider
Length: 5m +
Engine: Yam 115 V4
MMSI: 235068784
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 3,930
Quote:
Originally Posted by Erin View Post
The f/f may also accept speed data from the GPS so that it can be displayed on the screen. Useful if you have a flybridge or second station on larger boats so you get the main data displayed in two locations.
Bloodyhell Erin! Are you a mind reader? Was just talking to my dad about updating his electronics and what to have on the flybridge to indicate speed and depth.
Got 7 numbers for this Saturday?
__________________
JSP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09 April 2009, 16:51   #6
RIBnet supporter
 
Erin's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Channel Islands
Town: A large rock
Boat name: La Frette
Make: Osprey Vipermax
Length: 6m +
Engine: 200 Suzzy
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 2,830
Quote:
Originally Posted by JSP View Post
Got 7 numbers for this Saturday?
Yep, but I aint' telling you cos it'll halve my winnings
__________________
Erin is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 23:52.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.