Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 20 January 2019, 17:24   #1
Member
 
Bucksribster's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Thame
Make: Ribcraft 585
Length: 5m +
Engine: Suzuki 140
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 249
Garmin Echomap 95sv

The price of this 9-inch plotter / sonar has dropped over £100 since Christmas, and looks good value at under £740 including UK maps. Got mine from the Marine Superstore, but other shops are available!
__________________

__________________
Bucksribster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20 January 2019, 17:29   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 2,934
Ordering mine tomorrow, was down at boat today making sure it fits...BTW it is an echomap plus 95sv...the plus bit is important

For clarity it doesn't have a transducer at this price.
__________________

__________________
Xk59D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20 January 2019, 17:53   #3
Member
 
Bucksribster's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Thame
Make: Ribcraft 585
Length: 5m +
Engine: Suzuki 140
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 249
Yes, as far as I could make out the plus mainly give you touchscreen as well as buttons. The very helpful Garmin tech support chap has pointed me in the direction of an adapter cable to use my existing transducer. No side scan, but Iím not that bothered.
__________________
Bucksribster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20 January 2019, 18:10   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 2,934
The plus is the 2018 model which has some minor bells and whistles and a different look to the previous model.

I suspect they are on sale as g3 maps are about to drop and these all have g2 preloaded. ....and it is a London boatshow deal on until Feb 20th I think they said.

I'm using the transducer from my other garmin, I will have a 5 and 9 inch now, no side scan here either. The current 7 inch garmin will be on ebay shortly.
__________________
Xk59D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21 January 2019, 06:01   #5
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Liverpool
Length: no boat
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 159
We have the 95sv...we purposaly picked it as it doesn't have touch screen...it can be very difficult to touch as the rib is bouncing along....we use an airmar through hull depth p79(?) which is very reliable and not vulnerable. The plotter stand is pretty naff plastic ...nik
__________________
matata is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21 January 2019, 06:08   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 2,934
The new one is touchscreen and buttons, I prefer the touchscreen myself but it is totally a personal choice.
__________________
Xk59D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21 January 2019, 11:22   #7
Member
 
Bucksribster's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Thame
Make: Ribcraft 585
Length: 5m +
Engine: Suzuki 140
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 249
Quote:
Originally Posted by Xk59D View Post
The new one is touchscreen and buttons, I prefer the touchscreen myself but it is totally a personal choice.
I prefer touchscreen when stopped and button when bouncing around. The plus seems to have both, so best of both worlds

Debrus - do you know how many pins on your transducer connector? Mine is a 6-pin, and they do not do an adapter cable to go to the 12-pin connector on the sounder. I either have to use two adapters, or use their bare wire adapter, which is over £50!
__________________
Bucksribster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21 January 2019, 11:39   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 2,934
I have a 6 pin transducer currently myself...BUT....I have 2 garmin plotters and the transducer will stay connected to the current one so I dont have the problem. The 95sv will get the depth from the other one.

Yes you will need the adapter at about 50 quid ....I would whack on a new transducer if you already have a transom mounted one? Mines is an in hull airmar so I dont have one on transom nor want one at the moment.
__________________
Xk59D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21 January 2019, 11:54   #9
Member
 
Bucksribster's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Thame
Make: Ribcraft 585
Length: 5m +
Engine: Suzuki 140
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 249
I'm taking the old unit out as there is not space for both on my smaller ribcraft. The transducer is glassed in to the stern well, and a long cable run to the console, so I am not anxious to swap it out.
__________________
Bucksribster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21 January 2019, 12:08   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 2,934
I thought they used same console on them to be honest?

Here is a crappy picture of current dash, only thing to hand. The 9 JUST fits on there between gauge and other plotter.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_20190121-170554_YouTube.jpg
Views:	67
Size:	53.5 KB
ID:	128305  
__________________

__________________
Xk59D is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 20:48.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.