Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 24 July 2013, 13:40   #1
Member
 
Dan Gurney's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Bingley, West Yorks
Boat name: Iolar
Make: Redbay
Length: 6m +
Engine: Suzuki DF140
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 841
Garmin dealer

Hi,

Anyone know of a garmin dealer who could put HXEU300P on an old legacy data card for my GPSMap198? And possibly even the "updated system software" which is apparently necessary to use it?

Cheers,

Dan
__________________

__________________
Dan Gurney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24 July 2013, 14:31   #2
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Sussex
Make: RIBTEC 655
Length: 6m +
Engine: Yam 150
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,157
Have you tried Garmin? 0870 8501242

Always very helpful.
__________________

__________________
thomas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24 July 2013, 16:46   #3
RIBnet supporter
 
Pikey Dave's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: South Yorks
Boat name: Black Pig
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 5m +
Engine: DF140a
MMSI: 235111389
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 7,596
RIBase
Quote:
Originally Posted by Clamchowder View Post
Hi,

Anyone know of a garmin dealer who could put HXEU300P on an old legacy data card for my GPSMap198? And possibly even the "updated system software" which is apparently necessary to use it?

Cheers,

Dan

Software update
__________________
Rule#2: Never argue with an idiot. He'll drag you down to his level & then beat you with experience.
Rule#3: Tha' can't educate pork.
Rule#4: See rule#5
Pikey Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24 July 2013, 17:05   #4
Member
 
Dan Gurney's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Bingley, West Yorks
Boat name: Iolar
Make: Redbay
Length: 6m +
Engine: Suzuki DF140
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 841
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pikey Dave View Post
Ah yes, but then you need to get it on the device. Which means either an expensive proprietary cable or putting it on a legacy data card.....
__________________
Dan Gurney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24 July 2013, 17:06   #5
Member
 
Dan Gurney's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Bingley, West Yorks
Boat name: Iolar
Make: Redbay
Length: 6m +
Engine: Suzuki DF140
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 841
Quote:
Originally Posted by thomas View Post
Have you tried Garmin? 0870 8501242

Always very helpful.
Haven't tried calling, only the website. I'll see what they say...
__________________
Dan Gurney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24 July 2013, 17:41   #6
RIBnet supporter
 
Pikey Dave's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: South Yorks
Boat name: Black Pig
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 5m +
Engine: DF140a
MMSI: 235111389
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 7,596
RIBase
Quote:
Originally Posted by Clamchowder View Post
Ah yes, but then you need to get it on the device. Which means either an expensive proprietary cable or putting it on a legacy data card.....
Ahh! I'd assumed that you had a data card. What type is it?
__________________
Rule#2: Never argue with an idiot. He'll drag you down to his level & then beat you with experience.
Rule#3: Tha' can't educate pork.
Rule#4: See rule#5
Pikey Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24 July 2013, 18:23   #7
Member
 
Dan Gurney's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Bingley, West Yorks
Boat name: Iolar
Make: Redbay
Length: 6m +
Engine: Suzuki DF140
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 841


One of these.
__________________
Dan Gurney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25 July 2013, 02:48   #8
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Sussex
Make: RIBTEC 655
Length: 6m +
Engine: Yam 150
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,157
You need one of these or someone with one of these....

GPS GARMIN MAPSOURCE USB DATA CARD PROGRAMMER PART NUMBER 010-10776-00 | eBay

Pity as I gave mine away last year with a blank card to someone in the same predicament as you.

You could post on YBW and see if someone there has one.
__________________
thomas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25 July 2013, 14:27   #9
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Chesterfield
Boat name: Sea Quell
Make: Picton Cobra
Length: 5m +
Engine: Mercury 150 4 Stroke
MMSI: 235038298
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 859
I have a card programmer and can put the software update onto a blank card for you ,,, you can then update the software but I can't help with the chart.
Let me know
Jeff
__________________
Jeff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25 July 2013, 16:45   #10
Member
 
Dan Gurney's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Bingley, West Yorks
Boat name: Iolar
Make: Redbay
Length: 6m +
Engine: Suzuki DF140
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 841
Hi Jeff, thats brilliant. Thank you. Need to find out if I can get hold of the chart and if my plotter even needs the software update ( not completly sure yet). But you are def on my Christmas card list.
__________________

__________________
Dan Gurney is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:20.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.