Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 12 July 2019, 10:47   #1
Member
 
lakelandterrier's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Gloucester
Boat name: Lunasea
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 5m +
Engine: Suzi 140
MMSI: 232005050
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,402
Garmin Chart Update

Just updated my 4 year old electronic chart () with 2019 set from Garmin downloaded up to date & safe

Is there away of transferring waypoint and routes from the old electronic chart to overy the new one on Homeport? Setting them up again all individually will be a pain.

Cheers,

LT
__________________

__________________
Member of the Macmillan Round the Isle of Wight Club
lakelandterrier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14 July 2019, 08:38   #2
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Boat name: Bluefin
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 5m +
Engine: 150hp
MMSI: Ex Directory
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 252
Quote:
Originally Posted by lakelandterrier View Post
Just updated my 4 year old electronic chart () with 2019 set from Garmin downloaded up to date & safe

Is there away of transferring waypoint and routes from the old electronic chart to overy the new one on Homeport? Setting them up again all individually will be a pain.

Cheers,

LT

I assume you downloaded the new chart to a micro SD and that will then become you default chart in the plotter.

The waypoints are saved on the plotter and will not be affected when you plug in the SD card and the plotter uses the updated charts.

To use the waypoints on Homeport and also to make new waypoints and routes, use the SD card that you had the new charts on and plug it into your PC. Homeport will recognise the charts and the unit serial number. You can then save any new waypoints to the SD card and homeport will prompt you through the process. When you plug the card back into the plotter, go to the data management menu and select 'merge from card' to update the waypoints into the plotter.

I make a habit of saving my plotter waypoint and routes to the SD card for use on Homport, then Homport becomes my master file. I need to do this as I am always updating wreck positions and fishing marks with the latest info.

If your plotter has WIFI you could use Active Captain, but I find SD card transfer easier.
__________________

__________________
gpsguru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15 July 2019, 13:38   #3
Member
 
lakelandterrier's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Gloucester
Boat name: Lunasea
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 5m +
Engine: Suzi 140
MMSI: 232005050
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,402
Thanks gpsguru.

I'd entered numerous waypoints and plotted routes at home on Homeport, on SD card and then uploaded / merged into the plotter

Actually once I'd come out of homeprot and open it up again they all appeared, on overlaid on the chart update. Result
__________________
Member of the Macmillan Round the Isle of Wight Club
lakelandterrier is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:42.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×