Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 17 March 2011, 17:29   #1
Member
 
martini's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Channel Islands
Town: jersey
Boat name: Martini II
Make: Arctic 28/FC470
Length: 8m +
Engine: twin 225Opti/50hp 2t
MMSI: 235067688
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,021
Garmin AIS600 Error Message

I don't suppose anyone else has got one here but:

The led indicators on the unit are all unlit except for the "error" led.

Plugged into the laptop with the units setup software and run the diagnostics, it tells me "antenna VSWR exceeds limit".

TX led is unlit but the vessel's still showing up on www.marinetraffic.com


Garmin will be getting back to me before next wednesday apparently
__________________

__________________
martini is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 March 2011, 17:51   #2
Member
 
Country: UK - Channel Islands
Town: Jersey
Boat name: t/t
Make: Honda
Length: under 3m
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 255
Definitely TX'ing showing on www.digimap.je too.

Have you found some new estuary to get your boat into the middle of St Brelade ? That should confuse a few of the local ships.
__________________

__________________
karlT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 March 2011, 17:54   #3
Member
 
Country: UK - Channel Islands
Town: Jersey
Boat name: t/t
Make: Honda
Length: under 3m
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 255
Out of Range

and now 2 mins later you are apparently out of range on digimap and have subsequently disappeared back into stealth mode ???
__________________
karlT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 March 2011, 17:54   #4
RIBnet supporter
 
Erin's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Channel Islands
Town: A large rock
Boat name: La Frette
Make: Osprey Vipermax
Length: 6m +
Engine: 200 Suzzy
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 2,830
Quote:
Originally Posted by martini View Post
it tells me "antenna VSWR exceeds limit".
Oooh dear. All that lovely expensive new coax painstakingly fed under the deck must have an impedance mismatch with your super duper new aerial. One or other will have to be changed . Bagsy I have the redundant aerial seeing as that is the easier bit to change

Quote:
Originally Posted by karlT View Post
and now 2 mins later you are apparently out of range on digimap and have subsequently disappeared back into stealth mode ???
Too many electronics on board. Batteries gone flat.
Erin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 March 2011, 18:04   #5
RIBnet admin team
 
willk's Avatar
 
Country: Ireland
Make: Redbay Boats
Length: 9m +
Engine: 370hp
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 12,927
RIBase
Quote:
Originally Posted by Erin View Post
All that lovely expensive new coax painstakingly fed under the deck
Expensive fish wire you mean - new cable is cheaper than a new antenna - hands off!
__________________
willk is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 17 March 2011, 18:12   #6
RIBnet supporter
 
Erin's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Channel Islands
Town: A large rock
Boat name: La Frette
Make: Osprey Vipermax
Length: 6m +
Engine: 200 Suzzy
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 2,830
Quote:
Originally Posted by willk View Post
Expensive fish wire you mean -
You didn't see the holes in his deck to get the new wire through. Could've saved a fortune by only buying half the length... by the time he'd finished pulling it'd stretched enough to go there and back
Erin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 March 2011, 18:45   #7
Member
 
martini's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Channel Islands
Town: jersey
Boat name: Martini II
Make: Arctic 28/FC470
Length: 8m +
Engine: twin 225Opti/50hp 2t
MMSI: 235067688
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,021
Hands orf

I'm sure there's another solution, might fall inside GJ0KYZ's area of expertise.

She's turned off now as it's not in use, as per the instructions of Jersey Coastguard
__________________
martini is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18 March 2011, 04:11   #8
Member
 
Channel Ribs's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Channel Islands
Town: Alderney
Length: no boat
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 3,047
You will have tried plugging in a non-bespoke antenna for comparison, but it makes me feel better to type it.
__________________
Channel Ribs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18 March 2011, 10:17   #9
Member
 
martini's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Channel Islands
Town: jersey
Boat name: Martini II
Make: Arctic 28/FC470
Length: 8m +
Engine: twin 225Opti/50hp 2t
MMSI: 235067688
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,021
First job when this rain stops!

I fired up the unit prior to inputting the mmsi which meant it was running in receive only mode and it was ok then, no error, so I'm thinking its the unit.

Having lots of trouble getting the laptop to see the 600 as well, takes several attempts to connect.
__________________
martini is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18 March 2011, 10:45   #10
RIBnet supporter
 
Erin's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Channel Islands
Town: A large rock
Boat name: La Frette
Make: Osprey Vipermax
Length: 6m +
Engine: 200 Suzzy
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 2,830
Quote:
Originally Posted by martini View Post
Having lots of trouble getting the laptop to see the 600 as well, takes several attempts to connect.
Damn imacs
Erin is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:39.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.