Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 20 October 2011, 14:45   #21
Member
 
Leapy's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Sheepy Parva
Boat name: Sadly Sold
Length: no boat
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 1,728
Quote:
Originally Posted by Erin
I presume you've checked the wiring and undone and remade the connections into the back of the display unit.
No...not yet anyway...a dodgy connection isn't likely to be shallow water intelligent. The transponder looks like it came with a 10 mile long lead that goes into the hull at the back and out into the console without a break - at least, if there is a connector it's not obvious. Anyone know what's the standard length of the Garmin transponder flying lead?
__________________

__________________
Leapy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21 October 2011, 11:41   #22
Member
 
Country: USA
Town: Oakland CA
Length: 3m +
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 6,653
Quote:
Originally Posted by Leapy View Post
No...not yet anyway...a dodgy connection isn't likely to be shallow water intelligent.
Actually, it could be. Shallow water means that the signal is returning to the head unit shortly after it's been sent - as opposed to deeper water where the delay is greater - meaning that any weird impedance caused interference is more likely to screw with it.


jky
__________________

__________________
jyasaki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21 October 2011, 12:47   #23
Member
 
Leapy's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Sheepy Parva
Boat name: Sadly Sold
Length: no boat
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 1,728
Quote:
Originally Posted by jyasaki
Actually, it could be
Yep, it's on the list for when get home. It's not easy to check with the boat on the water.

Spoke to Garmin. Their input was the signal could be being attenuated by the keelguard, or, the transducers knackt, or...they did ask the standard opening question: is the firmware up to date? Que serious red face...I'm on v4.3...latest is 5.3. Oops!!! Tried to update it today but the Garmin updates only work with Windows and my laptop's a Mac. Another job for back home (and on a more regular basis)

Thanks for all the input
__________________
Leapy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21 October 2011, 12:52   #24
RIBnet supporter
 
Erin's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Channel Islands
Town: A large rock
Boat name: La Frette
Make: Osprey Vipermax
Length: 6m +
Engine: 200 Suzzy
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 2,830
I don't see it being anything to do with the firmware, but it's an easy thing to try anyway. As for the keelguard, that could be a contender. IIRC there is a dense foam adhesive backing to it. That will have air bubbles in it and may affect the bounce back of the signal. Clutching at straws here tho!
Erin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21 October 2011, 13:16   #25
Member
 
Leapy's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Sheepy Parva
Boat name: Sadly Sold
Length: no boat
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 1,728
Quote:
Originally Posted by Erin
I don't see it being anything to do with the firmware, but it's an easy thing to try anyway. As for the keelguard, that could be a contender...
With that in mind, I also rang RC who fitted the kguard. Their view was they fit so many of them with transducers on CL that they couldn't believe that was the issue. It is a coincidental change point though.

Interestingly, amongst the many 5xxx firmware updates is "depth sounder performance improvement". Maybe, the kguard attenuated a marginal system over the edge. Maybe, the firmware "improvement" will tip it back. Maybe...

Watch this space

Memo to all: check your firmware status :-)
__________________
Leapy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04 November 2011, 17:25   #26
Member
 
Country: Other
Town: Stanley, Falkland Is
Boat name: Seawolf
Make: Osprey Vipermax 5.8
Length: 5m +
Engine: Etec 150
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 3,688
Quote:
Originally Posted by Erin View Post
This is what I have P79 ducer. You unscrew the top and put glycol in or some other inert oil type liquid such as castor oil. It provides the continuity for the signal between the transducer head and the hull. Any air in between the two will stop it reading properly.
Or do what I did, and forget the mounting bracket and antifreeze and gloop it on with a big dollop of Stixall. Works a treat now

BTW mine reads down to 2ft fitted like this into the under-deck void - below that it flashes (but you get a distinct audible warning anyway - the prop going donk-donk-donk on the bottom...)

The only situation in which mine loses depth reading now is either when you go hard astern (and there are loads of air bubbles under the hull) or sometimes when you are in the middle of really thick kelp right under the hull which I assume buggers the signal up.
__________________
A Boat is a hole in the water, surrounded by fibreglass, into which you throw money...

Sent from my Computer, using a keyboard and mouse
BogMonster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04 November 2011, 17:31   #27
Member
 
ashbypower's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Salisbury/Poole
Boat name: Blue C
Make: XS 600
Length: 6m +
Engine: 125hp Opti
MMSI: 235082826/235909566
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,439
Quote:
Originally Posted by BogMonster View Post
(but you get a distinct audible warning anyway - the prop going donk-donk-donk on the bottom...)
.
Ah as in the words of Croc Dundee you "Gotta Donk" who needs a sonar then
__________________
Brian C
Harbour Sea School & APS Marine Centre
ashbypower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29 January 2012, 23:56   #28
Member
 
Country: New Zealand
Town: Rotorua
Boat name: Wild Orchid
Make: Ross
Length: 6m +
Engine: Yamaha
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 2
Hi Leapy .. did you get anywhere with this issue ?

I have the exact same symptoms, except my sensor is expoxied into a keel boat and I've found the bottom unexpectedly. A loss of lock around 50-30ft, flash's last good reading ... takes ages when you back into deeper water to reobtain lock. At this time I suspect the sensor, but it maybe Garmin software ? All help accepted.
__________________
eruptn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30 January 2012, 00:28   #29
Member
 
Leapy's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Sheepy Parva
Boat name: Sadly Sold
Length: no boat
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 1,728
Quote:
Originally Posted by eruptn View Post
Hi Leapy .. did you get anywhere with this issue?
Not at the moment...the boat is hibernating at present.

I've done the firmware update, checked all the connections I can get to but until I get it back in the water...

Oh, and in clambering into the boat with it on the trailer, in the garage and with restricted headroom I've slipped a disc in my neck. Bolox
__________________
Leapy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30 January 2012, 01:33   #30
Member
 
Country: New Zealand
Town: Rotorua
Boat name: Wild Orchid
Make: Ross
Length: 6m +
Engine: Yamaha
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 2
Thanks Leapy ... I forgot its your winter up there .... at least I know I'm not alone on this one. All the best with your back ....
__________________

__________________
eruptn is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 19:44.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.