Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 12 May 2008, 07:18   #1
RIBnet supporter
 
bedajim's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Cambs/Northants
Length: no boat
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 2,499
Garmin 3010c or 4010c

Hi

Looking to upgrade my plotter etc and go for a larger screen

I've used Garmin before so was thinking of going the same way. The 3010c and the 4010c are two I've looked at with the 4010c using the g2 vision cards but is it worth the extra

Or am I mad looking at Garmin and could I buy better cheaper etc, at the moment I'm open to ideas and deals



James

Just found out the 3010c is out of production so that explains the deals
__________________
bedajim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12 May 2008, 07:20   #2
Member
 
Country: UK - Wales
Town: swansea
Boat name: Too Blue
Make: BLANK
Length: 8m +
Engine: Suzuki DT225
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 12,791
Nothing wrong with Garmin but the Raymarine C and E series are awesome and very well made. Mine has been out in all weathers not even covered on my RIB and is fine.
__________________

__________________
codprawn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12 May 2008, 16:40   #3
RIBnet supporter
 
Erin's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Channel Islands
Town: A large rock
Boat name: La Frette
Make: Osprey Vipermax
Length: 6m +
Engine: 200 Suzzy
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 2,830
I've got the 3006C and am on my third replacement. Each of them has suffered the screen fogging issue. I'm fairly certain this only affects the older style 2000 and 3000 series. I read somewhere that the newer 4000 and 5000 don't suffer, so I'd go with the 4010 if I were you, unless you want to send it back to Garmin on a regular basis!

I've no experience with Raymarine, so can't comment, but if Garmin hadn't got such a good customer service attitude I would have been sorely tempted by a C80

Keith
__________________
Erin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12 May 2008, 16:48   #4
Member
 
Country: UK - Wales
Town: swansea
Boat name: Too Blue
Make: BLANK
Length: 8m +
Engine: Suzuki DT225
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 12,791
My Raymarine has been perfect - it really has. Also there seems a little bit more detail on some charts. For example on Garmin Bluecharts the slip in Weymouth wasn't shown but luckily it is on the Navionics - it came in VERY handy for me!!!
__________________
codprawn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12 May 2008, 17:55   #5
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Newcastle Staffs
Boat name: blue it
Make: ribcraft 7.5
Length: 7m +
Engine: suzuki df225
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 488
Send a message via AIM to Top banana
have the garmin 4212 with the 3D g2 vision charts, below and above water.
in my opinion great bit of kit, never tried the raymarine so cant comment.
the only other thing with the garmin is you need the digital gsd22 sounder module which is another 300.00.
__________________
Top banana
Top banana is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13 May 2008, 05:45   #6
RIBnet supporter
 
bedajim's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Cambs/Northants
Length: no boat
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 2,499
Thanks for the replies

To throw another one in I've been offered a deal on a Navman 8084, I would have to mount it on a bracket on the console , but like the idea of linking it to my Optimax,

BUT I've never used or seen one in use so are they on a par with other makes etc and any problems with them?

James
__________________
bedajim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13 May 2008, 06:36   #7
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Make: HumberOceanOffshore
Length: 8m +
Engine: Volvo KAD300/DPX
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 4,962
James, I use a 3010c and I chose it in preference to the 40 series. It's in a cabin so I can't comment on its water resistance but I'm pleased with it. There were various reasons for choosing it, most of them I guess not valid for your situation except one. Garmin produced a remote control for the 30 series and although at first it may seem a bit frivolous, it's a great addition. It allows me to control the plotter when travelling in bumpy conditions (most of the time) and it also allows the unit to be mounted out of arm's reach.

The 30 series is now old production and it's possible to get them very cheaply, if you can find them.
__________________
JW.
jwalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13 May 2008, 07:19   #8
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: Inverness
Boat name: none
Make: none
Length: 5m +
Engine: none
MMSI: none
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,908
I found the answer to the fogging issue was to open up the case slightly and poke a tiny hose in. Use this to flush the inside with Nitrogen and then close up. No moisture means no fogging.
It certainly lasted at least two years from doing it without fogging up again on my last garmins after suffering from it for some time.
__________________
BruceB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13 May 2008, 15:14   #9
GED
Member
 
GED's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Wales
Town: CONWY/CORFU
Boat name: The Full Morty II
Make: Air Craft/Shakespere
Length: 8m +
Engine: Etec 300hp/Etec150hp
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 603
Quote:
Originally Posted by bedajim View Post
Hi

Looking to upgrade my plotter etc and go for a larger screen

I've used Garmin before so was thinking of going the same way. The 3010c and the 4010c are two I've looked at with the 4010c using the g2 vision cards but is it worth the extra

Or am I mad looking at Garmin and could I buy better cheaper etc, at the moment I'm open to ideas and deals



James

Just found out the 3010c is out of production so that explains the deals
Both types fitted to our aircraft ribs.The 3010c did use to fog up but they changed the later models and now no problems with them..as for the 4010c this is a great bit of kit with no problems so far. We did try the new standard horizon 12" and this only lasted 10 mins before it broke
would recomend Garmin as their service has been spot on
__________________
GED is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13 May 2008, 16:57   #10
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Boat name: SOLD
Length: under 3m
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 794
We have a E80 with the platinum chip, no probleams at all and the service from
Raymarine as been fantastic i could not get mine to update on the software and
the guy from Raymarine sent me a CF card, which i have returned
turned out i was trying to use the one from my camera.
I do like the Garmin stuff and i find it much more user friendly
Dont think you would go far wrong with either
__________________

__________________
Roy Smith is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 19:06.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.