Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 05 June 2007, 14:17   #1
Member
 
Country: UK - Wales
Town: Pembrokeshire
Boat name: Pendragon
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 6m +
Engine: 200 suzuki
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 85
Garmin 3005 sounder problems

I was using the sounder facility today and after zooming in and out, the screen froze. I switched off and on and all other functions worked, GPS, Highway, compass etc, but the sounder screen was blank only showing 0.5ft which is the transducer offset.
I have checked transducer wires and all ok, as well as the menu, but still no joy. Tried Garmin help line but gave up after holding for over 30 mins.
Any ideas on the reason why would be appreciated.

Regards
__________________

__________________
peter 24/7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05 June 2007, 16:24   #2
Member
 
Country: UK - Wales
Town: swansea
Boat name: Too Blue
Make: BLANK
Length: 8m +
Engine: Suzuki DT225
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 12,791
No idea on the Garmin but my Raymarine has a similar problem sometimes. In my case I need to do a proper reset - not just a power on/off - this can either be done with a button on the fishfinder module or by doing a total reset on the main unit - usually a case of holding certain buttons down for a while.
__________________

__________________
codprawn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05 June 2007, 16:44   #3
Member
 
Nasher's Avatar
 
Country: Other
Town: Principalite d'Chaos
Boat name: The Nashers Revenge!
Make: Ocean & Bombard
Length: 6m +
Engine: Suzi DT200EFI, DT9.9
MMSI: "Mmmmm SI" she said!
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 4,147
Peter

I'm surprised you had so much of a problem getting through to Garmin, they are usualy very good.
As Codprawn suggests you should try a complete reset and maybe try disconnecting the transducer cable briefly. The only other weakness could be the point at which the cable enters the transducer, or interferance from another piece of kit. Keep trying Garmin as they may replace the unit for you.

Codprawn

Your E-series should not require so many re-sets, you probably have an old software version that can be updated by downloading from Raymarine.com
There have been quite a few changes to the newer versions and I believe frequent resets was one reason a new version was introduced.

Nasher.
__________________
RIBBED For extra pleasure.
Member of the ebay Blue RIB cover club.
Member of the Bombard 380 Aerotec club
Nasher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05 June 2007, 17:04   #4
Member
 
Country: UK - Wales
Town: swansea
Boat name: Too Blue
Make: BLANK
Length: 8m +
Engine: Suzuki DT225
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 12,791
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nasher View Post
Peter

I'm surprised you had so much of a problem getting through to Garmin, they are usualy very good.
As Codprawn suggests you should try a complete reset and maybe try disconnecting the transducer cable briefly. The only other weakness could be the point at which the cable enters the transducer, or interferance from another piece of kit. Keep trying Garmin as they may replace the unit for you.

Codprawn

Your E-series should not require so many re-sets, you probably have an old software version that can be updated by downloading from Raymarine.com
There have been quite a few changes to the newer versions and I believe frequent resets was one reason a new version was introduced.

Nasher.
I have the C series - it doesn't do it very often - perhaps about 7 or 8 times since I have had it.

No doubt a flash would make all the difference but when you work on computers all day and most of the night it's one of those jobs you never seem to get to do!!!
__________________
codprawn is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 17:12.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.