Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 26 July 2011, 08:04   #1
Member
 
ScotSeats's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: Ayrshire
Boat name: Scot Seats
Make: Revenger
Length: 7m +
Engine: Mariner 150 Optimax
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 99
Garmin 2010c Voltage problem

Had a problem at the weekend with my Garmin 2010c plotter came up with warning Sonar Battery Voltage Is Too High (as shown in picture below) The voltage in the smart guage was showing as normal and plotter has not worked since.

Anyone experienced the same problem in the past or can give me any ideas on what to try to sort it?

Thanks
Jono
__________________

__________________
Jonathan Young
www.scotboatseats.co.uk
like us on www.facebook.com/scotseatskpmmarine
follow us on www.twitter.com/scotseatsmarine
ScotSeats is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26 July 2011, 08:06   #2
Member
 
ScotSeats's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: Ayrshire
Boat name: Scot Seats
Make: Revenger
Length: 7m +
Engine: Mariner 150 Optimax
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 99
Picture

Picture attached
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Garmin 2010c warning.jpg
Views:	144
Size:	52.1 KB
ID:	61097  
__________________

__________________
Jonathan Young
www.scotboatseats.co.uk
like us on www.facebook.com/scotseatskpmmarine
follow us on www.twitter.com/scotseatsmarine
ScotSeats is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26 July 2011, 11:47   #3
Member
 
Country: USA
Town: Oakland CA
Length: 3m +
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 6,653
I think I'd call Garmin and find out what triggers that warning. That would give you a place to start looking for the problem (as well as a headstart on what you're looking for.)

jky
__________________
jyasaki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26 July 2011, 15:13   #4
RIBnet supporter
 
Erin's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Channel Islands
Town: A large rock
Boat name: La Frette
Make: Osprey Vipermax
Length: 6m +
Engine: 200 Suzzy
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 2,830
Speak to Garmin. They are extremely good. I had a problem with an old plotter. They couldn't repair it but offered me a newer model for an extremely low price. It was out of warranty too.
Erin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26 July 2011, 18:54   #5
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: NW& wherever the boat is!
Boat name: depends on m'mood!
Make: Humbers/15-24m cats
Length: 6m +
Engine: etec130/big volvos
MMSI: many and various
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 1,815
Quote:
They are extremely good. I had a problem with an old plotter. They couldn't repair it but offered me a newer model for an extremely low price. It was out of warranty too
me too......... bril service
__________________
Dave M
www.wavelengthtraining.co.uk
wavelength is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27 July 2011, 05:29   #6
Member
 
ScotSeats's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: Ayrshire
Boat name: Scot Seats
Make: Revenger
Length: 7m +
Engine: Mariner 150 Optimax
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 99
Iv tried speaking to garmin and seem helpful got an electrician going to check out the wiring on it today however when i asked about replacement plotter they just quoted retail prices if no joy today il try again for a good deal on replacement.

Thanks for help so far.

Jono
__________________
Jonathan Young
www.scotboatseats.co.uk
like us on www.facebook.com/scotseatskpmmarine
follow us on www.twitter.com/scotseatsmarine
ScotSeats is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27 July 2011, 06:48   #7
Member
 
martini's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Channel Islands
Town: jersey
Boat name: Martini II
Make: Arctic 28/FC470
Length: 8m +
Engine: twin 225Opti/50hp 2t
MMSI: 235067688
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,021
Quote:
Originally Posted by ScotSeats View Post
Iv tried speaking to garmin and seem helpful got an electrician going to check out the wiring on it today however when i asked about replacement plotter they just quoted retail prices if no joy today il try again for a good deal on replacement.

Thanks for help so far.

Jono
They won't talk about free replacements without looking at it first. My 3 year old 5012 had some paint flaking off with a bit of corrosion underneath on the casing, I sent it for inspection and got a new one FOC. If it's not an external wiring issue and the unit is faulty I have no doubt they will replace yours as well
__________________
martini is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27 July 2011, 07:12   #8
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Make: HumberOceanOffshore
Length: 8m +
Engine: Volvo KAD300/DPX
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 4,962
Make sure you have the latest software installed. It is unlikely to be external because the unit will work on a supply up to 35volts. You'd need in excess of this to trigger a true over voltage situation.

If you have a choice, the 3010 is a physically similar unit but is MUCH superior...
__________________

__________________
JW.
jwalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:27.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.