Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 28 October 2011, 13:50   #1
Member
 
Jonny's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: wakefield
Boat name: Bouncer
Make: Redbay
Length: 6m +
Engine: Twin Honda 90 hp
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 63
Fuel tank sender unit

The sender unit does not work and Redbay advised me not to replace it as it would brake the seal is there any other way of seeing how much fuel there is left and how much you are using with out dipping the tank all the time.
__________________

__________________
J.M.Atack
Jonny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 October 2011, 14:03   #2
Member
 
Andy B's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: southampton
Length: 4m +
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 342
fuel flow meter,
if you know the size of your tank it'l tell you how much of it you've used........
__________________

__________________
Andy B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 October 2011, 14:22   #3
Member
 
Jonny's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: wakefield
Boat name: Bouncer
Make: Redbay
Length: 6m +
Engine: Twin Honda 90 hp
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 63
Thanks wil get to know how big it is.
__________________
J.M.Atack
Jonny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 October 2011, 14:26   #4
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Hamble
Length: 9m +
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,317
can't see a problem with "breaking the seal", post a pic of your sender, it's a simple enough swap if you can access it easily.
__________________
It is better to remain silent and be thought a fool, than to speak and remove all doubt!
Dirk Diggler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03 November 2011, 19:12   #5
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Make: Tornado
Length: 5m +
Engine: Twin 50 Mariners
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 185
Yes, just done mine, new senders should come with new seals, otherwise it's typically 5 bolts and a couple of wires to connect....

Just need to make sure the new sender is (a) the right flange fitting, there's a quite common standard ("SAE"?) 5 -hole one where the spacing isn't quite equal, (b) the right resistance, some (US-based?) ones are 30 ohm full 240 ohm empty, others are I think 180 full 10 empty (so work the other way round!) and (c) the right length for the depth of the tank
__________________
Smithyyy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04 November 2011, 03:19   #6
Member
 
Country: Other
Town: Rosas
Boat name: Conqueror
Make: Valiant
Length: 7m +
Engine: Outboard 150hp Merc
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 541
Send a message via Skype™ to Courageous
"Don't replace it?" From the manufacturer? That's quite shocking isn't it? There HAS to be another side to this story.
__________________
Courageous is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04 November 2011, 03:42   #7
Member
 
biffer's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: swanwick/hamble
Boat name: stormchaser
Make: custom rib
Length: 8m +
Engine: inboard/diesel
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 3,848
My way of thinking is. Someone put it in there the first time so what's stopping someone doing it again

sent from a remote device
__________________
biffer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04 November 2011, 06:09   #8
Member
 
Country: Other
Town: Rosas
Boat name: Conqueror
Make: Valiant
Length: 7m +
Engine: Outboard 150hp Merc
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 541
Send a message via Skype™ to Courageous
That'd be my thinking too Biffer. I think they must reckon all customers (and their tradesmen) are numpties......
__________________

__________________
Courageous is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:31.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.