Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 15 April 2007, 17:02   #1
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Gloucestershire
Boat name: Osprey
Make: Osprey Vipermax
Length: 5m +
Engine: E-tec 300 G2
MMSI: TBC
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 4,013
Fuel Computers

I have had a search and it seems that the std unit people go for is the Navman 2100.

Is there any other unit that are better for the same money or is this the one to go for?

Also I have had a look at the instructions on their website and it states that the digital guage must be 500mm away from the VHF is this critical as I am short on space on my console and would have to mount the guage just above the VHF (100mm)?

Chris
__________________

__________________
Chris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16 April 2007, 05:24   #2
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Nutbourne
Boat name: Renegade
Make: Porter
Length: 6m +
Engine: 140 Tohatsu
MMSI: 235022904
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,195
Mine is mounted around 150mm from the radio and does not seem to be affected.

Once calibrated, I have found it to be very accurate.
__________________

__________________
Mark H
"A common mistake that people make when trying to design something completely foolproof is to underestimate the ingenuity of complete fools" Douglas Adams
Mark Halliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16 April 2007, 06:51   #3
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Gloucestershire
Boat name: Osprey
Make: Osprey Vipermax
Length: 5m +
Engine: E-tec 300 G2
MMSI: TBC
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 4,013
Mark how did you go about calibrating?

Chris
__________________
Chris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16 April 2007, 08:54   #4
Member
 
Pete7's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Gosport
Boat name: April Lass
Make: Moody 31
Length: 9m +
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 4,850
Chris, the Navman has a simple menu with 2 buttons to change units or calibrate. For the money they are a nice bit of kit, however be aware they are not as water proof as you might want, therefore keep the hose pipe away from the dial. Had to send my first one back after vigorously washing the boat down. Took a little while but eventually Navman sent a free replacement.

Pete
__________________
.
Ribnet is best viewed on a computer of some sort
Pete7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16 April 2007, 09:14   #5
Member
 
Country: UK - Wales
Town: swansea
Boat name: Too Blue
Make: BLANK
Length: 8m +
Engine: Suzuki DT225
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 12,791
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pete7 View Post
Chris, the Navman has a simple menu with 2 buttons to change units or calibrate. For the money they are a nice bit of kit, however be aware they are not as water proof as you might want, therefore keep the hose pipe away from the dial. Had to send my first one back after vigorously washing the boat down. Took a little while but eventually Navman sent a free replacement.

Pete
I had exactly the same problem - mine stopped working - spoke to Navman they said they would change it. I was going to remove it last week so they could replace it - now it's working again!!! I wonder for how long though???
__________________
codprawn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16 April 2007, 11:53   #6
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Nutbourne
Boat name: Renegade
Make: Porter
Length: 6m +
Engine: 140 Tohatsu
MMSI: 235022904
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,195
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris1573 View Post
Mark how did you go about calibrating?

Chris
Can't remember exactly. How to is in the instructions somewhere.
In essence you fill up a few times, record how much you have put in and then tell the gizmo how much it should be reading.

Accuracy is now around +/-1/2 litre in 60, which is my average refill.
__________________
Mark H
"A common mistake that people make when trying to design something completely foolproof is to underestimate the ingenuity of complete fools" Douglas Adams
Mark Halliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16 April 2007, 16:20   #7
Member
 
MarkM's Avatar
 
Country: Netherlands
Town: Breda
Make: Scorpion
Length: 7m +
Engine: Evinrude 250 DI
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 368
I have the Evinrude one. The maual that goes with it is the same as the Navman and the Faria. So the inside of the apparatus is the same.
The Evinrude is twice the price of the Navman, and three times the price of the Faria, but that includes a RVS ring.
__________________
MarkM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18 April 2007, 18:40   #8
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Boat name: Seashell
Make: Redbay
Length: 7m +
Engine: Inboard diesel
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 5,261
I need to get one of these too. Thinking about ordering from America given the rather favorable exchange rates. Every time I type Navman 2100 into google I get pages about a depth finder. Is the fuel flow meter the same gauge just with a different sensor?
__________________
Tim M is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 19 April 2007, 07:56   #9
Member
 
Country: UK - Wales
Town: swansea
Boat name: Too Blue
Make: BLANK
Length: 8m +
Engine: Suzuki DT225
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 12,791
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tim M View Post
I need to get one of these too. Thinking about ordering from America given the rather favorable exchange rates. Every time I type Navman 2100 into google I get pages about a depth finder. Is the fuel flow meter the same gauge just with a different sensor?
Probably - and different software.

Also look at the 3100 - more expensive but a bigger display and a few extra features.

Beware of the lack of waterproofing though. They don't like RIBs unless they have improved recently. I am going to have to find a way of protecting mine.
__________________
codprawn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19 April 2007, 09:19   #10
Member
 
Nasher's Avatar
 
Country: Other
Town: Principalite d'Chaos
Boat name: The Nashers Revenge!
Make: Ocean & Bombard
Length: 6m +
Engine: Suzi DT200EFI, DT9.9
MMSI: "Mmmmm SI" she said!
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 4,147
My 2100 is proving to need calibrating quite badly.

I'm waiting for a few more 'fills' before doing it to be more accurate.

For Example.

Unit showed 104L used yet I could only get 87L in the tank afterwards.

Unit showed 51L used yet I could only get 42L in the tank afterwards.

At least its roughly consistant in how far out it is considering I'm filling with a forecourt pump until it comes out the breather each time.

Nasher
__________________

__________________
RIBBED For extra pleasure.
Member of the ebay Blue RIB cover club.
Member of the Bombard 380 Aerotec club
Nasher is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:57.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.