Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 28 June 2005, 14:09   #1
RIBnet supporter
 
Erin's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Channel Islands
Town: A large rock
Boat name: La Frette
Make: Osprey Vipermax
Length: 6m +
Engine: 200 Suzzy
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 2,830
For Jon Brooks if he's out there!

Just bought (upgraded in fact) to an Icom m421. It's all nicely installed on the console and conected to my Garmin 2006c so that it receives position info.

The question is, can the Icom also transmit position info back to the Gps. Say for example if a mayday is received. I know the Gps can handle this input and display on screen the position of the calling boat, but as far as I can tell there's no facility for this with the Icom. Am I right?

Keith
__________________
Erin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 June 2005, 14:28   #2
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Helston, Cornwall
Boat name: Silver Fern
Make: Rayglass Protector
Length: 8m +
Engine: 2 x 250hp Verado
MMSI: 235024092
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 811
Send a message via AIM to gingercoastie Send a message via MSN to gingercoastie
I believe only the 601 has the ability to output position info
__________________

__________________


Its all got to go - make me an offer...............

Skype - alexgreig
gingercoastie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 June 2005, 16:12   #3
Member
 
Country: UK - Wales
Town: St Davids
Boat name: 6 vessels -various
Make: Quinquari/Humber
Length: 10m +
Engine: Twin ETEC200s
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 130
Quote:
Originally Posted by gingercoastie
I believe only the 601 has the ability to output position info

601 only but Icom by far the very best on the market. I may be wrong but I think that it is only the VHF that has an NMEAA output until you get into the big league of vls coms.


Cheers

John
www.quinquari.co.uk
__________________
quinquarimarine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29 June 2005, 03:46   #4
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: ramsgate
Boat name: Micki Dee Bee
Make: Ribcraft Seasafari
Length: 9m +
Engine: Twin 250hp Suzuki
MMSI: 235057235
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,622
Send a message via MSN to Jon Brooks
HI

Both David and John are correct.
It is only the M601, in our line up, that can feed NMEA info back to a GPS/Plotter.

There is only a couple of radio's on the market that can.

Also only a couple of makes of GPS/Plotter that have the right software to deal with it.
Garmin and Standard Horizon are the main two I know.
Most Garmin units can be upgraded if they do not have the "DSC" tab in the menu.
All new Garmins come with it as standard even my new 276c.

Regards
__________________
Jon Brooks VSMM. Marine Mammal Medic, PBI, SRC Assessor,PWC Instructor.
www.horizonseasafaris.co.uk
Jon Brooks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29 June 2005, 07:20   #5
Member
 
Country: UK - Wales
Town: swansea
Boat name: Too Blue
Make: BLANK
Length: 8m +
Engine: Suzuki DT225
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 12,791
The Raymarines claim to be able to do it!!!

"On screen VHF DSC position reports (with compatible DSC VHF via NMEA)"

If this is what your on about???
__________________
codprawn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30 June 2005, 02:48   #6
RIBnet supporter
 
Erin's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Channel Islands
Town: A large rock
Boat name: La Frette
Make: Osprey Vipermax
Length: 6m +
Engine: 200 Suzzy
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 2,830
Thanks guys. I think that's my question answered.
__________________
Erin is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 13:43.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.