Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 25 October 2006, 05:04   #1
Member
 
Country: UK - Wales
Town: Newport
Length: no boat
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 26
fitting a fishfinder

HI

I'm looking to add a GPSMAP178C to a 4.8m Ribcraft. do i need the external tranducers for an "on Console fit" in order to use the fishfinder element. if so does anybody have any pictures of the transducers fitted, and how hard is it to add the transducers.

many thanks

Tom
__________________

__________________
tomcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25 October 2006, 13:46   #2
Member
 
Nasher's Avatar
 
Country: Other
Town: Principalite d'Chaos
Boat name: The Nashers Revenge!
Make: Ocean & Bombard
Length: 6m +
Engine: Suzi DT200EFI, DT9.9
MMSI: "Mmmmm SI" she said!
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 4,147
Tom

Hi, you will need the fishfinder transducer regardless of where you mount the head unit.

One method is to use a transom mount that just screws to the outside of the transom just below water level. Or you can 'Glue' the transducer inside the hull.

Try searching the forums for this topic and you will end up with hours of reading on the subject.

Nasher
__________________

__________________
RIBBED For extra pleasure.
Member of the ebay Blue RIB cover club.
Member of the Bombard 380 Aerotec club
Nasher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25 October 2006, 19:02   #3
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Make: HumberOceanOffshore
Length: 8m +
Engine: Volvo KAD300/DPX
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 4,962
Quote:
Originally Posted by tomcat View Post
HI

I'm looking to add a GPSMAP178C to a 4.8m Ribcraft. do i need the external tranducers for an "on Console fit" in order to use the fishfinder element. if so does anybody have any pictures of the transducers fitted, and how hard is it to add the transducers.

many thanks

Tom
Tom, when you mention the 'on consol fit' could you be confusing the external or internal antenna option with the transducer?
__________________
JW.
jwalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26 October 2006, 12:33   #4
RIBnet supporter
 
bedajim's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Cambs/Northants
Length: no boat
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 2,499
Hi

I had mine mounted on the console with the supplied bracket and three m4 stainless bolts allen head. I went for an internal antenna for the gps less wiring and it was fine and then mounted the sounder/fish finder on the transom again no problems just two holes filled with silicon and the wire in a length of flexible conduit, just my fishing that needs to improve

James
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	178c-1.jpg
Views:	142
Size:	42.4 KB
ID:	22805   Click image for larger version

Name:	178c-2.jpg
Views:	169
Size:	31.4 KB
ID:	22806   Click image for larger version

Name:	smart-tab-1.jpg
Views:	336
Size:	71.2 KB
ID:	22807  
__________________
bedajim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26 October 2006, 18:03   #5
Member
 
Country: UK - Wales
Town: Newport
Length: no boat
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by jwalker View Post
Tom, when you mention the 'on consol fit' could you be confusing the external or internal antenna option with the transducer?
I don't think so i understand the GPS antenna can be internal / external.

but on reflection i might of been having a funny five minutes re the tranducer.
__________________
tomcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26 October 2006, 18:30   #6
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: cornwall
Boat name: nothing
Make: rib eye 430
Length: 4m +
Engine: tatsu 50
MMSI: 666
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,916
My boat has , or had a transom mount at the waterline for the transducer . Its a pain in the ass .
It causes and anoying spray of water and if the sea is rough it just comes off the mount and ends up thrown inside the boat dangling on its wire .
__________________
ian parkes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02 November 2006, 10:41   #7
Member
 
Country: Other
Town: Christiansted.V.I.
Boat name: Froggy
Make: Avon SeaRider
Length: 4m +
Engine: Johnson 50
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 312
Transducer Mount

I have found it impossible to get a transom mount working at any speed on my 4.7 SeaRider. The hull design does not allow me to place a hull mount transducer. It seems that either the cavitation from the prop or the disturbed water from the hull creates too much interference for any good returns. Sitting still it works to 900-100 ft. depth.

Now I use my GPS with Bluewater Charts and follow the Bathymetric depth lines for guidance. I'm looking to stay in the 350 ft. depth area hunting Wahoo and the charts keep me pretty close. I tested by stopping and comparing the sounder and was usually within 30-50 ft.

If anyone has successfully mounted a transom transducer on a Searider, please chime in!
__________________
Tomas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02 November 2006, 12:25   #8
RIBnet supporter
 
bedajim's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Cambs/Northants
Length: no boat
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 2,499
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tomas View Post
I have found it impossible to get a transom mount working at any speed on my 4.7 SeaRider. The hull design does not allow me to place a hull mount transducer. It seems that either the cavitation from the prop or the disturbed water from the hull creates too much interference for any good returns. Sitting still it works to 900-100 ft. depth.

Now I use my GPS with Bluewater Charts and follow the Bathymetric depth lines for guidance. I'm looking to stay in the 350 ft. depth area hunting Wahoo and the charts keep me pretty close. I tested by stopping and comparing the sounder and was usually within 30-50 ft.

If anyone has successfully mounted a transom transducer on a Searider, please chime in!
Hi

The pictures in my post are from my searider and it worked fine, I had it further out to start with but then had to move it when I fitted the trim tabs to the position shown

James
__________________
bedajim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02 November 2006, 14:28   #9
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: cornwall
Boat name: nothing
Make: rib eye 430
Length: 4m +
Engine: tatsu 50
MMSI: 666
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,916
James that looks the same as mine , and mounted in the same position .

How do you keep it on there , as soon as I hit some rough water it usually ends up thrown back into the boat dangling from the wire ,

The mont stays screwed on ok but the transducer just comes off .

Its broken the mount now so I give up ,

As for finding fish the Black back Gulls seem to know where they are better than my fishfinder .
__________________
ian parkes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03 November 2006, 00:27   #10
RIBnet supporter
 
bedajim's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Cambs/Northants
Length: no boat
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 2,499
Quote:
Originally Posted by ian parkes View Post
James that looks the same as mine , and mounted in the same position .

How do you keep it on there , as soon as I hit some rough water it usually ends up thrown back into the boat dangling from the wire ,

The mont stays screwed on ok but the transducer just comes off .

Its broken the mount now so I give up ,

As for finding fish the Black back Gulls seem to know where they are better than my fishfinder .
Ian

On mine the bracket and transducer as connected with one long bolt so it could rotate but can't come off without the bolt being removed.

They have groves on the meeting faces so you can set the angle and then tighten the nyloc nut, I 'll take a pic on Monday

James
__________________
bedajim is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 19:09.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.