Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 27 May 2013, 09:15   #1
Member
 
Adamn's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Helston
Boat name: Myrtle
Make: Zodiac pro 500
Length: 4m +
Engine: Outboard 60hp
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 255
Fishfinder

Hi all I was out yesterday and found that over 6 kts it would not read the depth and kept flashing dots instead. It was fine under
6 kts.
Is this normal?
__________________

__________________
Adamn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27 May 2013, 10:51   #2
RIBnet admin team
 
Nos4r2's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: The wilds of Wiltshire
Boat name: WhiteNoise/Dominator
Make: Ballistic 7.8/SR5.4
Length: 7m +
Engine: Opti 225/Yam 85
MMSI: 235090687/235055163
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 12,645
RIBase
Got a pic of the transducer installation?
__________________
Need spares,consoles,consumables,hire,training or even a new boat?

Please click HERE and HERE and support our Trade Members.

Join up as a Trade member or Supporter HERE
Nos4r2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27 May 2013, 12:37   #3
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: NW& wherever the boat is!
Boat name: depends on m'mood!
Make: Humbers/15-24m cats
Length: 6m +
Engine: etec130/big volvos
MMSI: many and various
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 1,815
What make and where is the transducer?
__________________
Dave M
www.wavelengthtraining.co.uk
wavelength is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27 May 2013, 13:20   #4
Member
 
Adamn's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Helston
Boat name: Myrtle
Make: Zodiac pro 500
Length: 4m +
Engine: Outboard 60hp
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 255
Hi the Fish finder is 5 years old and came with the boat. There were no booklets or manuals. The transducer is fitted to the right bottom corner of the transon. I have posted a couple of photos
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-1798864846.jpg
Views:	69
Size:	28.0 KB
ID:	80569   Click image for larger version

Name:	image-103389257.jpg
Views:	100
Size:	45.1 KB
ID:	80570   Click image for larger version

Name:	image-1674418402.jpg
Views:	89
Size:	45.3 KB
ID:	80571  
__________________
Adamn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27 May 2013, 14:31   #5
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: NW& wherever the boat is!
Boat name: depends on m'mood!
Make: Humbers/15-24m cats
Length: 6m +
Engine: etec130/big volvos
MMSI: many and various
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 1,815
Have you got a drain well in the boat...a well at the stern where the grp is just single skin i.e. the outside water touches the other side of it ?

If so take the transducer off its mount, and just put it in the drainwell, you may want to wedge it with a bag of sand on top of it to keep it on place/right way up. Next time you go out chuck some water in the well so that the interface twixt transducer face and bottom of the boat is always under a bit of water.
Try it out.
Will work fine thru one layer of glass and hopefully will work at any speed. If it all works ok then when you get home dry it all out and simply fix the transducer in with some clear silicon avoiding air bubbles. Two pot epoxy is the official way of sticking it down but we jave always used silicon with no probs and being doing so for donkey's years. Can always get the transducer out again if ya want with silicon.
On the other hand it may just be kn******d but hopefully and probably not eh!
__________________
Dave M
www.wavelengthtraining.co.uk
wavelength is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27 May 2013, 16:18   #6
Member
 
Adamn's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Helston
Boat name: Myrtle
Make: Zodiac pro 500
Length: 4m +
Engine: Outboard 60hp
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 255
Thank you for your input. Yes it has a drain well but under that is a hull plug for any water that gets in the hull. That would mean another skin? I have put up two photos of the transon you can see the hull drain below the deck drain.
I would agree that under way the transducer is not in full contact with the water causing lost data. I could try and change the angle so that it is facing down alittle more.
When I bought this Rib I looked at 2 before it and there transducers were in the same place.
__________________
Adamn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 May 2013, 07:20   #7
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Boat name: Wildheart
Make: Humber/Delta Seasafe
Length: 5m +
Engine: Merc 60 Clamshell
MMSI: 235068449
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 4,610
Or tip the transducer to a slightly forward angle. (this may or may not work depending on it's position relative to the transom, but is an easy & quick test)

Might be worth loosening the bolt and dropping it's tail slightly (and tighten the nut properly hard) to make sure it is in good contact with the water. I need to find some new star washers for the "hinge" bolt on mine as it will slowly lift out with the pressure of water (takes a couple of hours of motoring), with the same result as yours -no depth reading.

At sub 6 knots it will be underwater so no problems with water contact.


Other thought - It's difficult to make out for sure, but is the mounting bracket below the bottom of the hull? If so that will be generating a ton of turbulence & air bubbles which will confuse the sounder module.
__________________
9D280 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 May 2013, 10:36   #8
Member
 
Adamn's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Helston
Boat name: Myrtle
Make: Zodiac pro 500
Length: 4m +
Engine: Outboard 60hp
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 255
Thanks for all the advice. The unit is not below hull level but the transducer is angles slightly up so I will loosen and angle down a little to see if that works.
__________________
Adamn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 May 2013, 13:34   #9
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: NW& wherever the boat is!
Boat name: depends on m'mood!
Make: Humbers/15-24m cats
Length: 6m +
Engine: etec130/big volvos
MMSI: many and various
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 1,815
had seen that drain plug and wondered if it might be to drain the inner hull giving a second skin in the well ....which is unfortunate in not offering the in hull solution.
Quote:
When I bought this Rib I looked at 2 before it and there transducers were in the same place
yep and thats the place the manufacturers prescribe for it. However far too many years of boating experience means I never put them there! Prone to damage if doing a lot of launching on the exposed sand and stone beaches here our bit of coast and they work far better in the well without having to cock about adjusting the angle of it etc etc. But its not an option here so angle twiddling it is
Look forward to hearing if you manage to sort it, keep us informed
__________________
Dave M
www.wavelengthtraining.co.uk
wavelength is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 May 2013, 16:15   #10
Member
 
Adamn's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Helston
Boat name: Myrtle
Make: Zodiac pro 500
Length: 4m +
Engine: Outboard 60hp
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 255
Thank you for your input. I will be twiddling around with it on Thursday but will have to wait till the 9th June to see if it works.
__________________

__________________
Adamn is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:34.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.