Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 13 October 2005, 11:10   #1
Member
 
Country: Ireland
Town: ireland
Make: lencraft rib
Length: 5m +
Engine: yamaha 80hp four str
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 42
Faulty Navman 4150 Fishfinder

My new Rib has come with Navman fishfinder which gives speed temp battery but the depth function doesn't work despite following all instructions.I got back to the Rib company whom sent me a replacement transducer which I got fitted.Again the depth function doesn't register any depth.
I assume the problem lays with the main unit itself which is driving me mad!
I have asked for a replacement unit ot be sent up which I assume will solve the problem.Surely I haven't missed something? any ideas please
__________________

__________________
mccabe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13 October 2005, 11:25   #2
RIBnet supporter
 
Jizm's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Southampton
Boat name: Hissing Sid
Make: Ross Smith Cobra
Length: 6m +
Engine: 200HP Optimax
MMSI: 235038046
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 3,803
do you mean it does not work at all or reads incorrectly?
__________________

Jizm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13 October 2005, 11:47   #3
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: PORTSMOUTH
Make: Avon 5.4
Length: 5m +
Engine: Yamaha 60FE -
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,838
what angle is the transducer mounted at, ie: is it on the chine and pointing directly downwards or mounted at an angle
__________________
------------------------------
http://www.ollysrib.741.com
ollyit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14 October 2005, 08:27   #4
Member
 
Country: Ireland
Town: ireland
Make: lencraft rib
Length: 5m +
Engine: yamaha 80hp four str
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 42
I am confident transducer is mounted correctly and no depth is showing but the water temp and speed function is reading ok so some info is coming from transducer.The transducer has been changed the the problem still persists.
__________________
mccabe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14 October 2005, 11:29   #5
RIBnet supporter
 
Jizm's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Southampton
Boat name: Hissing Sid
Make: Ross Smith Cobra
Length: 6m +
Engine: 200HP Optimax
MMSI: 235038046
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 3,803
is this when the boat is on the move or all the time?
Jizm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15 October 2005, 09:41   #6
Member
 
Country: Ireland
Town: ireland
Make: lencraft rib
Length: 5m +
Engine: yamaha 80hp four str
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 42
It's all the time but got a call from the equipment supplier and there is a batch of faulty transducers as others have complained of similar problems so I am hopeful that the third replacement will do the trick!It would appear that I received a second faulty transducer and that is what was doing my head in!I will know next week if this is the case -Thanks for the imputs guys!
__________________
mccabe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15 October 2005, 12:35   #7
RIBnet supporter
 
LURCHER's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Tisted Hampshire
Boat name: Hot Lemon
Make: Scorpion
Length: 8m +
Engine: Inboard
MMSI: 235
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 766
Send a message via MSN to LURCHER
Navman contact details

Mark Parkin
PLASTIMO UK
HAMILTON BUSINESS PARK
BOTLEY ROAD
HEDGE END
HAMPSHIRE

m.parkin@plastimo.co.uk
07884 442297

0148977 8863

now an ex customer of mine!
__________________
www.hiremarquee.co.uk
LURCHER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30 October 2005, 06:56   #8
Member
 
Country: Ireland
Town: ireland
Make: lencraft rib
Length: 5m +
Engine: yamaha 80hp four str
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 42
I am now on my 3rd transducer and supplier is now going to test the 4th before sending me up the unit,I am dealing with the retail supplier as the Rib was fitted with this unit new and the depth function never worked.I must say I am surprised that there is now another thread about Navman gremlins and a comment about poor reputation.Now thats a surprise-NOT!
__________________
mccabe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25 November 2005, 13:41   #9
Member
 
Country: Ireland
Town: ireland
Make: lencraft rib
Length: 5m +
Engine: yamaha 80hp four str
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 42
Problem eventually solved !The problem arose when the cable going into the back of the unit is fiited as standard for thru-hull transducers and this doesn't support a depth function on transom mounted transducers unless the other cable is connected directly into the back of the unit. It sounds so simple but thanks to Paul from Navman he copped it.
__________________
mccabe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25 November 2005, 15:19   #10
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Brittany/Portsmouth
Boat name: Merlin
Make: Solent 6.5
Length: 6m +
Engine: 200
MMSI: soon !
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 5,451
Had a problem with our first transducer also mccabe.

Had no problem replacing it though (also Navman).

missus
__________________

__________________
Happy New Resolutions!!! : RIBbing for the craic!!!
The Jackeens is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:21.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.