Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 29 May 2015, 03:32   #1
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Aylesbury
Boat name: Cloud 9
Make: Ribtec
Length: 5m +
Engine: Evinrude 50hp E-tec
MMSI: 235091208
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 37
Etec emm swap

Does anybody know if you can swap an secondhand emm to another engine?

I have the software/tool. Reading around I'm getting mixed messages.

As I see it you put COLDTEST on the replacement drop the correct map on it and the install the injectors (or even copy the old one and drop that onto the new one) and hey-presto

Am I kidding myself or is this in basic(I know it never works like this) form what is needed?

My engine isn't sending a charge to battery and it's not the stator so it looks like the emm.

Any advise would go down a treat!
__________________

__________________
Jamesg514 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29 May 2015, 07:55   #2
RIBnet admin team
 
willk's Avatar
 
Country: Ireland
Make: Redbay Boats
Length: 9m +
Engine: 370hp
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 12,927
RIBase
It certainly can be done. My understanding is that there's a certain amount of "knowhow" involved but there are no practical issues. When mine were done the engine memory was cleared down.
__________________

__________________
"Who knows what evil lurks in the hearts of men?"
.
willk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29 May 2015, 08:49   #3
Member
 
Country: Ireland
Town: Castlebar
Boat name: Clewless
Make: Valiant DR 490
Length: 4m +
Engine: 60 hp ETEC
MMSI: Awaitng one
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,239
RIBase
James
what caused the original emm to fry?

TSM
__________________
two stroke mick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29 May 2015, 09:14   #4
RIBnet supporter
 
Pikey Dave's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: South Yorks
Boat name: Black Pig
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 5m +
Engine: DF140a
MMSI: 235111389
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 7,595
RIBase
I have done it, the new emm must be the correct model for the engine it's going into. Connect the laptop to the engine with the existing (old) emm & copy the configuration file from the old emm. Fit the new emm & copy the config file . The software has a utility for the whole process with step by step instructions. The entire job takes under an hour.


.....sh1t happens.......
__________________
Rule#2: Never argue with an idiot. He'll drag you down to his level & then beat you with experience.
Rule#3: Tha' can't educate pork.
Rule#4: See rule#5
Pikey Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 20:59.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.