Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 14 June 2018, 03:35   #1
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: London
Length: 6m +
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 227
Engine Data & Instrument Display

I am looking for a cost effective screen to display engine data.

I have engine data available via NMEA2000 and can view it on my chart plotter.

However I want a 2nd screen dedicated to engine data that can serve as my instrument panel.

Mercury do one, but its very expensive.

I could get another chart plotter, but that seems over kill.

Struggling to find a screen that just shows instrumentation data.

After some options.

Ideas?

Ta !
__________________

__________________
mikew4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14 June 2018, 11:17   #2
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Torquay
Boat name: Yonderland
Make: Highfield
Length: 5m +
Engine: Honda BF100
MMSI: 232009539
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 17
The Simrad IS35 is brilliant for engine data...the bad news is it might not tick your'cost effective' box!
__________________

__________________
JonnyR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14 June 2018, 13:22   #3
Member
 
Pikey Dave's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: South Yorks
Boat name: Black Pig
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 5m +
Engine: DF140a
MMSI: 235111389
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 9,387
RIBase
Engine Data & Instrument Display

I've just done something similar on BP. I've gone down the additional plotter route. You can pick up Lowrance HDS7 gen3 up for around £600. A gauge is going to cost around the £300 mark so by applying "Dave's law" the plotter only cost £300 & and you get all the benefits of the plotter.
__________________
Rule#2: Never argue with an idiot. He'll drag you down to his level & then beat you with experience.
Rule#3: Tha' can't educate pork.
Rule#4:https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=unkIVvjZc9Y
Pikey Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15 June 2018, 04:20   #4
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Length: no boat
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 101
Is this a twin plotter Dave? Any chance you can post pics of the end result?
__________________
RickW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15 June 2018, 04:44   #5
Member
 
Pikey Dave's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: South Yorks
Boat name: Black Pig
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 5m +
Engine: DF140a
MMSI: 235111389
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 9,387
RIBase
Quote:
Originally Posted by RickW View Post
Is this a twin plotter Dave? Any chance you can post pics of the end result?


Yup, twin plotters, 9" & 7", I'll get pics later
__________________
Rule#2: Never argue with an idiot. He'll drag you down to his level & then beat you with experience.
Rule#3: Tha' can't educate pork.
Rule#4:https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=unkIVvjZc9Y
Pikey Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15 June 2018, 05:47   #6
Member
 
Pikey Dave's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: South Yorks
Boat name: Black Pig
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 5m +
Engine: DF140a
MMSI: 235111389
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 9,387
RIBase
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pikey Dave View Post
Yup, twin plotters, 9" & 7", I'll get pics later


Here you go, not the best photos, but you get the gist.Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_3151.jpg
Views:	181
Size:	103.7 KB
ID:	125275Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_3153.jpg
Views:	197
Size:	114.2 KB
ID:	125276Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_3146.jpg
Views:	198
Size:	74.6 KB
ID:	125277Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_3143.jpg
Views:	174
Size:	91.1 KB
ID:	125278
__________________
Rule#2: Never argue with an idiot. He'll drag you down to his level & then beat you with experience.
Rule#3: Tha' can't educate pork.
Rule#4:https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=unkIVvjZc9Y
Pikey Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27 September 2018, 14:06   #7
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Length: no boat
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 101
Thank you for the post
__________________
RickW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27 September 2018, 14:12   #8
RIBnet Supporter
 
willk's Avatar
 
Country: Ireland
Make: Redbay Boats
Length: 9m +
Engine: 370hp
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 13,816
RIBase
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pikey Dave View Post
Yup, twin plotters, 9" & 7", I'll get pics later
__________________
.
willk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27 September 2018, 14:17   #9
Member
 
Pikey Dave's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: South Yorks
Boat name: Black Pig
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 5m +
Engine: DF140a
MMSI: 235111389
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 9,387
RIBase
Quote:
Originally Posted by willk View Post


Only their mother can tell them apart
__________________
Rule#2: Never argue with an idiot. He'll drag you down to his level & then beat you with experience.
Rule#3: Tha' can't educate pork.
Rule#4:https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=unkIVvjZc9Y
Pikey Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27 September 2018, 14:27   #10
RIBnet Supporter
 
willk's Avatar
 
Country: Ireland
Make: Redbay Boats
Length: 9m +
Engine: 370hp
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 13,816
RIBase
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pikey Dave View Post
Only their mother can tell them apart
I have "twins" as well, 9" & 7", bit older though...
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Console.jpg
Views:	108
Size:	107.4 KB
ID:	127020  
__________________
.
willk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27 September 2018, 14:40   #11
Member
 
Pikey Dave's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: South Yorks
Boat name: Black Pig
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 5m +
Engine: DF140a
MMSI: 235111389
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 9,387
RIBase
Twins aren’t always identical
__________________
Rule#2: Never argue with an idiot. He'll drag you down to his level & then beat you with experience.
Rule#3: Tha' can't educate pork.
Rule#4:https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=unkIVvjZc9Y
Pikey Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27 September 2018, 17:13   #12
Member
 
Country: Australia
Town: Dalmeny
Make: zodiac
Length: 5m +
Engine: outboard
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 980
Not sure why you don't simply use data overlay on your plotter. I have all the engine data I choose dragged and dropped around the different page layouts I use for different occasions.

I do like to keep my fuel burn, fuel range , engine temp, rpm, volts etc on every page so I can easely see them at a glance but none interfere with charts or sonar. I've never used the engine data page even in any of the split combination configurations, as I can clearly see and choose exactly what data I prefer and at what size I chose those tabs to be.

This is basicly how to ellect data, he doesn't show how simple it is to drag any of that info to any location on the screen, also hitting the +- allows these to be enlarged or reduced. These can also be turned white or highlighted in a box, there are around 10 engine functions in the engine tab that can be dropped around the screen. This can also be done on the older units, only difference is you have to use the arrows to move them intstead of dragging with your finger.

__________________
jonp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 September 2018, 00:42   #13
Member
 
Pikey Dave's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: South Yorks
Boat name: Black Pig
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 5m +
Engine: DF140a
MMSI: 235111389
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 9,387
RIBase
Quote:
Originally Posted by jonp View Post
Not sure why you don't simply use data overlay on your plotter. I have all the engine data I choose dragged and dropped around the different page layouts I use for different occasions.



I do like to keep my fuel burn, fuel range , engine temp, rpm, volts etc on every page so I can easely see them at a glance but none interfere with charts or sonar. I've never used the engine data page even in any of the split combination configurations, as I can clearly see and choose exactly what data I prefer and at what size I chose those tabs to be.



This is basicly how to ellect data, he doesn't show how simple it is to drag any of that info to any location on the screen, also hitting the +- allows these to be enlarged or reduced. These can also be turned white or highlighted in a box, there are around 10 engine functions in the engine tab that can be dropped around the screen. This can also be done on the older units, only difference is you have to use the arrows to move them intstead of dragging with your finger.





I do have the data overlay set up on the various pages. The helm plotter usually shows the engine data page & navigation/autopilot. The navigators plotter has chart & sonar. I have depth overlaid on all the pages except the sonar page.

Hint:- when you’ve got everything set up as you like, go into “save settings” & export them to the SD card. That way, if you have a unit crash on you & have to do a factory reset, you can easily get everything back as was. Don’t ask how I know this
__________________
Rule#2: Never argue with an idiot. He'll drag you down to his level & then beat you with experience.
Rule#3: Tha' can't educate pork.
Rule#4:https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=unkIVvjZc9Y
Pikey Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 September 2018, 02:54   #14
Member
 
boristhebold's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Length: 7m +
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 1,549
I think 'cost effective' is probably the issue, I love the look of the Raymarine I70 display that you can customise to show engine data or other data points, but .... at around £600 it's something that feels a tad too pricey.
__________________
boristhebold is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 September 2018, 17:49   #15
Member
 
Country: UK - Channel Islands
Town: Jersey
Boat name: Jazcabelle
Make: Ballistic
Length: 7m +
Engine: Petrol 150
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 259
You can buy a simrad go7 xe from Cactus Marine at the moment for £358.
Has nmea2000 built in and would serve your purpose.
__________________

__________________
Chanchan168 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:35.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.