Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 26 October 2010, 12:20   #11
Member
 
Anchorhandler's Avatar
 
Country: France
Town: Huisnes sur Mer
Boat name: Raufoss
Make: Avon
Length: 4m +
Engine: Mercury 50
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 789
Quote:
Originally Posted by Erin View Post
I'd be extremely wary abouyt trying to transmit without an aerial attached. You could do a lot more damage than good. It certainly advises strongly against doing such a thing on my Icom. It may solve your interference problem though, cos it'll burn out the radio

Hi Erin
Quite right.....although harshly put....
Most modern sets will throttle back the transmit power should an antenna miss-match occur or the antenna suffers damage (mast top antenna's in rough weather etc...)
But you are right though, I should have warned not to engage in a full blown conversation but just 'click' the trasnmit button to see if the problem persists.
Thanks for picking this up....

Simon
__________________

__________________
C'est pas l'homme qui prend la mer, c'est la mer qui prend l'homme....
Anchorhandler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26 October 2010, 16:24   #12
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Gloucestershire
Boat name: Osprey
Make: Osprey Vipermax
Length: 5m +
Engine: E-tec 300 G2
MMSI: TBC
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 4,013
I would say your idea of the power drain fooling the tabs into thinking they are being turned off is a good one.

I would be looking at the switched B+ on the tabs and taking a seperate feed to it directly from the battery and seeing if the problem still occurs.

I would also look at your isolator switch and bypass that.

The lenco installation manual is on their website.
__________________

__________________
---------------------------------------------------
Chris Stevens

Born fiddler
Chris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27 October 2010, 11:09   #13
RIBnet supporter
 
Erin's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Channel Islands
Town: A large rock
Boat name: La Frette
Make: Osprey Vipermax
Length: 6m +
Engine: 200 Suzzy
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 2,830
Quote:
Originally Posted by Anchorhandler View Post
Thanks for picking this up....

Simon
Pas de probleme
__________________
Erin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27 October 2010, 14:26   #14
RIBnet supporter
 
gotchiguy's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Dinard, Brittany
Boat name: Into the Red
Make: Osprey Vipermax
Length: 7m +
Engine: Evinrude E-tec 250HO
MMSI: 235 076 114
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 1,948
RIBase
Well, it looks as if THIS problem has cured itself, worked flawlessly yesterday and appeared to work flawlessly today until I noticed that there was a message at the base of the radio which read "release PTT now!". Investigating further it appeared that it was transmitting continuously on channel 16. Since we hadn't touched it since leaving port, and no button was in the slightest being pressed, we fiddled about with it for a few seconds before concluding that we had to unplug it, which we quickly did to stop the transmission. Plugging it back in port, it only turns on to read "unable to connect to base unit". Similar to the problems we had in the past and that Martin tried to troubleshoot in the summer. I suppose it just goes to prove how temperamental we know that it is, seeing that I would bet that it will work flawlessly when fired up tomorrow. If not, we'll swap in our other handset and see how it goes
__________________
gotchiguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27 October 2010, 14:39   #15
RIBnet supporter
 
Erin's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Channel Islands
Town: A large rock
Boat name: La Frette
Make: Osprey Vipermax
Length: 6m +
Engine: 200 Suzzy
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 2,830
Quote:
Originally Posted by gotchiguy View Post
Investigating further it appeared that it was transmitting continuously on channel 16.
That's a bit alarming . I think you either need strong words with Raymarine or to fit a different model or make of radio.
__________________
Erin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27 October 2010, 14:56   #16
RIBnet supporter
 
gotchiguy's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Dinard, Brittany
Boat name: Into the Red
Make: Osprey Vipermax
Length: 7m +
Engine: Evinrude E-tec 250HO
MMSI: 235 076 114
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 1,948
RIBase
Quote:
Originally Posted by Erin View Post
fit a different model or make of radio.
I think that's the way the man in charge is heading, tbh he was already heading in that direction - getting them repaired was the final time he was prepared to give them time of day. He reckons a normal icom or Garmin will be the way forward...only thing would be how to fit them, obviously not to hard to do it ourselves, but finding a way to cover the holes for the old one or even just moving it to a less convenient place as a "backup" might be tricky. Our only thoughts so far on the cause of this latest malfunction related to the centimetre depth of water which has found its way into what was a bone dry console yesterday
__________________
gotchiguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27 October 2010, 15:15   #17
Member
 
martini's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Channel Islands
Town: jersey
Boat name: Martini II
Make: Arctic 28/FC470
Length: 8m +
Engine: twin 225Opti/50hp 2t
MMSI: 235067688
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,021
I'll shortly have a Garmin VHF 300ais for sale, expensive bit of kit but I'll do you a very good deal if you're interested
__________________
martini is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27 October 2010, 16:39   #18
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Middlesex
Boat name: Into the Red
Make: Osprey
Length: 7m +
Engine: Etec 250 HO
MMSI: 235905932
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 37
Thanks for the thought, Matt, but to be honest, I'm so fed up with the Raymarine that I'm thinking of getting a really basic VHF and not bothering with any of the fancy features. The Garmin does look a nice bit of kit though. David
__________________
Gotchidad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27 October 2010, 17:25   #19
Member
 
boristhebold's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Length: 7m +
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 1,293
I reckon you have a short somewhere withe wiring, you know what you have to do...... Check over all the wiring with a circuit tester. It's prop ably worth it.
__________________
boristhebold is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27 October 2010, 18:12   #20
Member
 
martini's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Channel Islands
Town: jersey
Boat name: Martini II
Make: Arctic 28/FC470
Length: 8m +
Engine: twin 225Opti/50hp 2t
MMSI: 235067688
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,021
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gotchidad View Post
Thanks for the thought, Matt, but to be honest, I'm so fed up with the Raymarine that I'm thinking of getting a really basic VHF and not bothering with any of the fancy features. The Garmin does look a nice bit of kit though. David
Make sure its an Icom then
Of the thousands of pounds worth of electronics I've worked my way through on various boats over the years, I've never had a single issue with any Icom
__________________

__________________
martini is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:33.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.