Old 15 June 2006, 20:13   #1

Town: Belfast
Make: Ribcraft 585
Length: 5m +
Engine: Suzuki 140 4/stroke
RIBase
Electric Cable

The only electrics i have on me rib are nav lights + chartplotter. The wires were a little untidy so i decided to tidy things up a bit. Went to local electric wholesalers where was told that ordinary 240v cable would suffice, so i used that to rewire + tidy things up. But now nothing works! Is it that the cable is too heavy? Ive checked battery + tried connecting to portable power but no luck. Anyone any advice?
Old 15 June 2006, 20:52   #2

Town: Oakley
Boat name: Zerstörer
Make: Ribcraft
Engine: Suzuki DF 140
MMSI: 235050131
Parm I'm no expert but the bigger the wire the easy the current flows. So 240 V wire should work but its not the most appropriate.

Out of all my experiences with wiring the most common fault I have come across is usually a bad earth or a joint that has been compromised with moisture etc.

To go any further we need to know some details about your engine and maybe a circuit diagram.

If you can't get or don't want to buy marine cable try Halfords for some 5 amp cable for your lights. That should be plenty strong enough.

Keep us posted and we will try and help you.
Old 15 June 2006, 21:06   #3

RIBase
i will buy marine cable if i ned to its just that i was told the cable i got was suitable. As for the wireing its pretty basic, lights + wire direct from battery to fuse holder and then to lights and - wire direct from battery round each light and plotter much the same
Old 15 June 2006, 21:15   #4
RIBnet admin team

Boat name: imposter
Make: FunYak
Length: 3m +
Engine: Tohatsu 30HP
MMSI: 235089819
do you have a multimeter? Usually possible to spot electrical problems by either measuring voltage or resistance at various points around the circuit. You can get them pretty cheap - probably best not to go to that Electronics shop for it though - as advice was pretty crap.