Old 06 July 2015, 09:15   #1

Length: 7m +
electical fault - advice wanted

Ive been having an intermitant fault with one of my yamaha guages shutting off when I hit moderate waves, I changed the inline fuse holder on sunday morning early before the round isle of wight event and it seemed to improve.

However, after a battering due to south west wind and sea state on my way back from needles to Poole both guages went off.

When I reached studland bay I dropped anchor and went to switch engine off, engine would not switch off, even removing kill cord would not switch engine off. After several attempts finally engine switched off.

As im not an electrical engineer my simple thought process makes me think either a bad earth/negative connection or a bad pin connection somewhere, as the ignition, kill cord circuit and guage circuits use same wiring harness.

Any ideas so I can narrow down where the issue is. The engine did restart but both guages off.
Old 06 July 2015, 10:13   #2

Town: wormit
Boat name: lots of them
Make: various
Length: no boat
Engine: all types
Run a wire from the neg battery terminal to any black wire on the back of any gauge. You have a broken wire somewhere in the harness.
Old 14 July 2015, 05:13   #3
Spammer

Town: Southern Ontario
Boat name: -Unknown-
Make: SeaMax
Length: 4m +
Engine: Merc/Minn Kota