Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 23 May 2008, 16:50   #1
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Gloucestershire
Boat name: Osprey
Make: Osprey Vipermax
Length: 5m +
Engine: E-tec 300 G2
MMSI: TBC
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 4,013
E-tec & Lowrance

Linking e-tec to Lowrance.

The toys are starting to arrive now, going to collect the e-tec on Monday and the Lowrance GPS/sonar is on its way from Marine Whoesales.

I know that the 2008 e-tecs come kitted out with 2 of the 3" Lowrance manufactured NMEA 2000 guages and that you even get a GPS aerial with the engine that is used to measure speed. However I am uncertain how the plotter is linked into the NMEA backbone.

Do I need an extra loom? Anyone got any experience of this set up?


Chris
__________________

__________________
---------------------------------------------------
Chris Stevens

Born fiddler
Chris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24 May 2008, 06:53   #2
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: Inverness
Boat name: none
Make: none
Length: 5m +
Engine: none
MMSI: none
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,908
Which lowrance?
My LCX-27 comes with the basic network included, in fact it won't work without it as the GPS aerial is on the suplied network as a "device"
I assume yours will be much the same setup.
__________________

__________________
BruceB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24 May 2008, 14:44   #3
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Gloucestershire
Boat name: Osprey
Make: Osprey Vipermax
Length: 5m +
Engine: E-tec 300 G2
MMSI: TBC
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 4,013
Bruce, I am getting the LCX-27C so the same as you I guess.

So are you saying the GPS aerial I get with the engine will also be used for the Plotter?

Does the plotter not come with its own aerial?

Chris
__________________
---------------------------------------------------
Chris Stevens

Born fiddler
Chris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24 May 2008, 15:52   #4
Member
 
Country: France
Town: caen
Boat name: labrax II
Make: HUMBER 600 DESTROYER
Length: 6m +
Engine: DF 140 SUZUKI
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 83
Hello,

One of my friends have a 2008 etec engine.

As yours, 2 guages (lowrance), and a aerial.

This aerial is a LGC 3000 Lowrance, so now you have 2 aerial, but you need only one...

You can have a LCX 27 with or without aerial, if you want.

But if you don't say anything, your lcx 27 will come with an aerial.

You just have to find a friend wich will buy a lowrance without aerial, and you can sell your to him...

Antoine
__________________
antoine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24 May 2008, 16:05   #5
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: Inverness
Boat name: none
Make: none
Length: 5m +
Engine: none
MMSI: none
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,908
If you buy the LCX-27 complete you get the network power cable, t piece and a 15ft extension as well as the LGC 3000 aerial.
Your gauges and engine will plug straight into the existing network. I imagine it will get confused if it is getting two GPS signals a few feet apart so one will have to go!
I would either keep it as a spare or sell it or see if the GPS less version of the plotter includes the other network parts supplied.
As long as you get the network power cable with the plotter the rest should just plug in and be the GPS and gauge network including the outboard, as I understand it..................
__________________
BruceB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25 May 2008, 09:38   #6
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: Inverness
Boat name: none
Make: none
Length: 5m +
Engine: none
MMSI: none
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,908
Thinking about it if it was me.......
I would install two networks with one having the gauges on it and an aerial and the other the plotter with an aerial. Split the engine and other sensors between the two networks as you intend to use them on each display.
then you get a main GPS and a backup one on your gauges!
__________________
BruceB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16 June 2008, 07:27   #7
Member
 
Simon B's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Leicester
Boat name: Vixen
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 6m +
Engine: Suzuki OB 175
MMSI: 235071839
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,621
Or....

Keep the spare in a lead lined box at home just in case the other suffers from the known but not communicated in detail, type of failures the LGC200 has suffered from.

Ours LGC2000 failed and we assumed we'd be having to pay full price for the part, the repair from Lowrance plus check of unit etc was less than half the RRP delivered back to the door. I thanked them from this and asked if there was anything we could do to prevent further occurence and the chap almost read word for word from the manual as regards grounding (one end only)

They would not be drawn on the numbers of failures or any other supplier sensitive data.
__________________
New boat is here, very happy!
Simon
www.luec.org
Simon B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 June 2008, 16:54   #8
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Length: 4m +
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 79
It is very important to ground the shield wire in NMEA2000 power cable otherwise it can capacitate and discharge through the GPS module itself. The simplest method is just to solder the shield and negative wire together. There is also a free software update (1.9.0) available on the lowrance website for the LGC2000 which can installed via the plotter.

Improvements were also made in the most recent software released for the head units themselves but you must update the module first.

TT
__________________

__________________
Texel Tom is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 23:44.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.