Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 10 January 2006, 03:51   #1
Member
 
Simon B's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Leicester
Boat name: Vixen
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 6m +
Engine: Suzuki OB 175
MMSI: 235071839
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,621
Do we need fuses?

Forgive the title, I think we do but am interested in technical opinion;

Do you actually need a fuse in the circuit for individual items or can one rely on the inline fuses (if you remember where they are) or use one fuse to cover the whole lot?!

There is a debate currently within our club, I want to hold out and fit a fusebox for individual items (fused separately).

Others feel a Rib is adequately protected with one large fuse.

Others still think that the surface mounted glass cartridge fuses by the switch on the face of the console are good enough and trouble free.
__________________

__________________
New boat is here, very happy!
Simon
www.luec.org
Simon B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10 January 2006, 04:02   #2
Member
 
ashbypower's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Salisbury/Poole
Boat name: Blue C
Make: XS 600
Length: 6m +
Engine: 125hp Opti
MMSI: 235082826/235909566
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,439
Iím with you fuse everything independently a far safer and sensible option. Ask the doubters this. Why doís a house have a main fuse (100 Amp+) then fuse individual circuits and finally the appliance?

Regards

Brian
__________________

__________________
Brian C
Harbour Sea School & APS Marine Centre
ashbypower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10 January 2006, 04:09   #3
Member
 
Cookee's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Salcombe, Devon, UK
Boat name: BananaShark
Make: BananaShark
Length: 10m +
Engine: 2xYanmar 260 diesels
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 4,225
Quote:
Originally Posted by ashbypower
Iím with you fuse everything independently a far safer and sensible option. Ask the doubters this. Why doís a house have a main fuse (100 Amp+) then fuse individual circuits and finally the appliance?

Regards

Brian
When the bilge pump blows the main fuse and it's dark how are you going to see to fix it?
__________________
Cookee
Originally Posted by Zippy
When a boat looks that good who needs tubes!!!
Cookee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10 January 2006, 04:23   #4
DJL
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Make: Ribcraft 6.5
Length: 6m +
Engine: Suzuki DF175TG
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 929
The point of a fuse is to stop to much current being drawn through a piece of wire and melting it which could lead to a fire. If you just have say one 15amp fuse for all your electronics, then itís possible that you could be asking the 22gauge wire running to your faulty GPS to carry 15amp when itís only designed for 3.

Not to mention your don't really want to blow the only fuse at night and loose all your lights, GPS, depth sounder, bilge pump.... much better to just loose one.

I would highly recommend fitting a fuse box and fuse everything independently.
__________________
DJL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10 January 2006, 04:41   #5
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Over here
Boat name: S.S. Nobstick
Make: Three Wise Monkeys
Length: 3m +
Engine: 44lbs of thrust....
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 2,115
..or perhaps spend a few "sheckells" and buy some nice circuit breakers. Easy to re-set in a difficult sitaution.. once you have correct the problem... much easier.. in my opinion.. than feckin' about with fuse boxes in the wet and cold...and usually dark.... marine ones are available... just got to find them.. when I remember where I saw them... and I'm going to retrofit them to my boat when I can find the motivation to get off my arse and do it....
__________________
Jono is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10 January 2006, 05:04   #6
Member
 
Country: UK - Wales
Town: Southampton
Boat name: DynaMoHumm/ SRV/deja
Make: Avon8.4, 5.4 & 4.777
Length: 8m +
Engine: Cat3126 Yam 90 &70
MMSI: 42
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 6,556
Fuses Yeah, MCB's no! You can tell that Mr Jono lives inland!

My experience of MCB's is that they deteriate quite badly over time and fail to function, they esentialy don't like the salt content in the air.
__________________
Here it comes again, I don't stand a chance
Soul possession, Got me in a trance
Pullin' me back to you - Deja Voodoo
Rogue Wave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10 January 2006, 05:05   #7
DJL
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Make: Ribcraft 6.5
Length: 6m +
Engine: Suzuki DF175TG
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 929
You can buy a little circuit breaker blade fuse that fits in a normal blade fuse box.
__________________
DJL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10 January 2006, 05:13   #8
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Over here
Boat name: S.S. Nobstick
Make: Three Wise Monkeys
Length: 3m +
Engine: 44lbs of thrust....
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 2,115
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rogue Wave
Fuses Yeah, MCB's no! You can tell that Mr Jono lives inland!

My experience of MCB's is that they deteriate quite badly over time and fail to function, they esentialy don't like the salt content in the air.
I saw that... what? Even the ones tucked inside a console in their own little, snug housing? I bow to your more extensive experience.... especially at "fings wot brake"... but I've seen problems with blade/glass type fuses corroding in their sockets and the solution of filling them with petroleum jelly.. doesn't seem quite right.... anything that relies on a push fit in a hostile environment is a potential.. .. weakness that I'd like to avoid ...where possible.....
__________________
Jono is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10 January 2006, 05:29   #9
Member
 
Simon B's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Leicester
Boat name: Vixen
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 6m +
Engine: Suzuki OB 175
MMSI: 235071839
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,621
Fuses it is then

Thanks chaps that's just what I'd hoped you'd all say. One last question, I believe it is a sensible idea to keep the sounder and GPS circuits separate as sounders can draw larger currents is this correct? (the eagle cuda we have is fused with a 250v fuse as supplied by Eagle)
__________________
New boat is here, very happy!
Simon
www.luec.org
Simon B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10 January 2006, 05:34   #10
DJL
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Make: Ribcraft 6.5
Length: 6m +
Engine: Suzuki DF175TG
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 929
It's sensible to keep the sounder and GPS circuits separate because you only lose the faulty device not both.

However, a newish depth sounder will only use a couple of amps - probably about twice a GPS.
__________________

__________________
DJL is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:42.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.