Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 31 August 2014, 06:39   #61
Member
 
Simon666's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Burwash, East Sussex
Make: BWM Deepsea 21
Length: 6m +
Engine: Suzuki DF140
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 225
Quote:
Originally Posted by MaleBuffy View Post
I Wrote extra arduino code that counts Pulses and displays it in Serial monitor.
Hi

Hows things going?

Any update on this project?
I have been away on holiday and very busy, but i now have it fitted in my boat and registering on engine idle.

Any chance of sharing your code used to measure the pulses to calibrate the unit?
Or could you add a feature in the android app to display the pulse count for a known volume?
__________________

__________________
Simon666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31 August 2014, 15:29   #62
Member
 
Country: Greece
Boat name: Chrysanthos
Make: Scanner
Length: 5m +
Engine: Tohatsu M140A2
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by Simon666 View Post
Hi

Hows things going?

Any update on this project?
I have been away on holiday and very busy, but i now have it fitted in my boat and registering on engine idle.

Any chance of sharing your code used to measure the pulses to calibrate the unit?
Or could you add a feature in the android app to display the pulse count for a known volume?
Hi,

I am in the middle of changing a lot of things on the project, especially the app. I am planing to add a trip feature that calculates consumption of a trip in liters with a mean consumption in l/nm.

However I am on vacation so any updates will have to wait. I will however try to upload the calibration sketch when I get back in a few days.
__________________

__________________
MaleBuffy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31 August 2014, 17:07   #63
Member
 
HughN's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Littlehampton, W Sx
Length: no boat
MMSI: 235101591
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 732
Plotting fuel consumption against boat speed (or rpm) is also mildly interesting as it shows how much more efficient things are on the plane (not that that is a surprise)
__________________
"Can ye model it? For if ye can, ye understand it, and if ye canna, ye dinna!" - Lord kelvin
HughN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31 August 2014, 19:46   #64
Member
 
Simon666's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Burwash, East Sussex
Make: BWM Deepsea 21
Length: 6m +
Engine: Suzuki DF140
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 225
Quote:
Originally Posted by MaleBuffy View Post
Hi,

I am in the middle of changing a lot of things on the project, especially the app. I am planing to add a trip feature that calculates consumption of a trip in liters with a mean consumption in l/nm.

However I am on vacation so any updates will have to wait. I will however try to upload the calibration sketch when I get back in a few days.
Awesome thanks!

Can the app show remaining litres in the fuel tank if you input the starting volume?
For example. My tank is 95 litres. I always fill to the brim before every trip. So if i tell the app the tank contains 95 litres can it show a running total of remaining fuel?
Looking forward to giving it a try.
__________________
Simon666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06 September 2014, 14:00   #65
Member
 
Country: Greece
Boat name: Chrysanthos
Make: Scanner
Length: 5m +
Engine: Tohatsu M140A2
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 43
Well I am back and posted the Calibration sketch on my blog. Thing is I don't know if its the working version and I can't check it since my sensors are all in my boat!

Give it a try.
__________________
MaleBuffy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14 September 2014, 20:35   #66
Member
 
Simon666's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Burwash, East Sussex
Make: BWM Deepsea 21
Length: 6m +
Engine: Suzuki DF140
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 225
Hi
the code didn't quite work for me.

After much head scratching and trying to remember my college IT lessons from years ago i realised there needs to be a serial procedure call of "serial.begin(9600);" in the setup part.

I also stripped out the 2nd sensor parts to make it easier for me to follow (and i don't need it)

The serial monitor prints a new line showing the flow count, i couldn't figure out how to keep it to one line so i added a loop delay for 650ms which looks a bit messy but does the calibration job for me.

Here is my novice attempt...


//************************************************** ****
// BT Fuel Manager Sensor Calibration Arduino
// sketch by MaleBuffy
// 21/6/2014
//************************************************** ****
//
// Pin D4 for +5V for the Sensor 1
// Pin D6 for GND for the Sensor 1
// Pin D2 for Sensor 1 cable



#include <SoftwareSerial.h> // import the Arduino serial library

volatile float PulseSensor=0; // Measuring the pulse from the sensor 1

int hall = 2; // Sensor 1 Pin should be connected to Pin 2 of the Arduino


void incementpulse () //This is the function that incements the pulse counter. PulseSensor 1
{
PulseSensor++; // Equals PulseSensor = PulseSensor + 1
}


// Begin of Code. Setting pins up.

void setup()
{

pinMode(hall, INPUT); // Init Pin 2 to receive data from the Sensor
digitalWrite(hall, HIGH); // Using Internal Pull up resistor to pin 2

pinMode(4, OUTPUT); // Initializes digital pin 4 as an OUTPUT
digitalWrite(4, HIGH); // 5V to pin 4 (Flow Sensor)
pinMode(6, OUTPUT); // Initializes digital pin 6 as an OUTPUT
digitalWrite(6, LOW); // GND to pin 6 (Flow Sensor)


attachInterrupt(0, incementpulse, RISING); // attaching the interupt
sei(); // Enabling interrupts

Serial.begin(9600); // set up Serial library at 9600 bps
}


// Loop measuring pulses from Sensor

void loop ()
{

Serial.print("PulseSensor: ");
Serial.println(PulseSensor);
delay(650);

}
__________________
Simon666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15 September 2014, 00:41   #67
Member
 
Country: Greece
Boat name: Chrysanthos
Make: Scanner
Length: 5m +
Engine: Tohatsu M140A2
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by Simon666 View Post
Hi
the code didn't quite work for me.

After much head scratching and trying to remember my college IT lessons from years ago i realised there needs to be a serial procedure call of "serial.begin(9600);" in the setup part.

I also stripped out the 2nd sensor parts to make it easier for me to follow (and i don't need it)

The serial monitor prints a new line showing the flow count, i couldn't figure out how to keep it to one line so i added a loop delay for 650ms which looks a bit messy but does the calibration job for me.

Here is my novice attempt...


//************************************************** ****
// BT Fuel Manager Sensor Calibration Arduino
// sketch by MaleBuffy
// 21/6/2014
//************************************************** ****
//
// Pin D4 for +5V for the Sensor 1
// Pin D6 for GND for the Sensor 1
// Pin D2 for Sensor 1 cable



#include <SoftwareSerial.h> // import the Arduino serial library

volatile float PulseSensor=0; // Measuring the pulse from the sensor 1

int hall = 2; // Sensor 1 Pin should be connected to Pin 2 of the Arduino


void incementpulse () //This is the function that incements the pulse counter. PulseSensor 1
{
PulseSensor++; // Equals PulseSensor = PulseSensor + 1
}


// Begin of Code. Setting pins up.

void setup()
{

pinMode(hall, INPUT); // Init Pin 2 to receive data from the Sensor
digitalWrite(hall, HIGH); // Using Internal Pull up resistor to pin 2

pinMode(4, OUTPUT); // Initializes digital pin 4 as an OUTPUT
digitalWrite(4, HIGH); // 5V to pin 4 (Flow Sensor)
pinMode(6, OUTPUT); // Initializes digital pin 6 as an OUTPUT
digitalWrite(6, LOW); // GND to pin 6 (Flow Sensor)


attachInterrupt(0, incementpulse, RISING); // attaching the interupt
sei(); // Enabling interrupts

Serial.begin(9600); // set up Serial library at 9600 bps
}


// Loop measuring pulses from Sensor

void loop ()
{

Serial.print("PulseSensor: ");
Serial.println(PulseSensor);
delay(650);

}
Hey nice job. I had a feeling this wasn't the correct sketch because it wasn't on the correct folder on my PC. Was close though. Will update the blog with the correct one. It's probably on my Laptop.

So how did the calibration work for you. What was the output?
__________________
MaleBuffy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15 September 2014, 17:39   #68
Member
 
Simon666's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Burwash, East Sussex
Make: BWM Deepsea 21
Length: 6m +
Engine: Suzuki DF140
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 225
Quote:
Originally Posted by MaleBuffy View Post

So how did the calibration work for you. What was the output?
Well a bit strange really.
I did 4 tests.

1: 1822 in 8min 17sec
2: 1820 in 8min 34sec
3: 1715 in 7min 36sec
4: 1739 in 6min 39sec

Test 1&2 were as expected but 3&4 were weird. Nothing changed. The water was the same temp and the funnel the same height. I'm wondering if there are bubbles on the impeller and i should calibrate it with petrol.

I tested my other sensor with the digital display attached. Although this does not display pules, it showed 1ltr after it had only passed 800ml of water!

I'm beginning to think water is not the right stuff to calibrate these sensors with.
I'm going to try at the weekend with petrol (after i've been to the Southampton Boatshow! )
__________________
Simon666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16 September 2014, 00:47   #69
Member
 
Country: Greece
Boat name: Chrysanthos
Make: Scanner
Length: 5m +
Engine: Tohatsu M140A2
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 43
Although using Petrol is a more accurate way of calibrating, I thing the datasheet values are also calibrated using water.

Your values are quite accurate considering that the manufacturer gives a +/- percentage in accuracy. Yours measured at about +/- 5% which is acceptable. Can't remember what the manufacturer gives though.

Good job, well done!
__________________
MaleBuffy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27 September 2014, 13:02   #70
Member
 
Simon666's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Burwash, East Sussex
Make: BWM Deepsea 21
Length: 6m +
Engine: Suzuki DF140
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 225
Hi.
I got my boat half way through being rewired at the moment, but I installed the fuel monitor and ran the engine on the muffs in my driveway.
Im not sure if I have a faulty sensor but it wont read at anything less than 1700 rpm (no load) above this it will read ok.
Does yours read at tickover?
Have you tried any better sensors?
__________________

__________________
Simon666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:25.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.