Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 29 May 2014, 15:56   #31
Member
 
Country: Greece
Boat name: Chrysanthos
Make: Scanner
Length: 5m +
Engine: Tohatsu M140A2
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 43
Well updated the blog with the code ! We haven't tested it yet, but it should work!

I might not make it into testing this weekend. I will however the in 2 weeks time!
__________________

__________________
MaleBuffy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29 May 2014, 16:13   #32
Member
 
Simon666's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Burwash, East Sussex
Make: BWM Deepsea 21
Length: 6m +
Engine: Suzuki DF140
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 225
Quote:
Originally Posted by ncp View Post
Does someone want to write the code for my diesel using two flow sensors??? I can't seem to stomach spending $800 for a Floscan set-up!
I take it you have twin diesels?
Could you not fit one flow meter on the common fuel feed line before it splits to each engine?
__________________

__________________
Simon666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29 May 2014, 16:18   #33
ncp
Member
 
ncp's Avatar
 
Country: USA
Town: California
Make: Avon 5.4m Searider
Length: 5m +
Engine: Yamaha 90
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 1,187
Quote:
Originally Posted by Simon666 View Post
I take it you have twin diesels?
Could you not fit one flow meter on the common fuel feed line before it splits to each engine?
No, single diesel. But, since diesels have a feed line and a return line, you need two flow sensors, one on each line - the2 you subtract one from the other to get actual use.

Question for MaleBuffy - I clicked on one of the link for the sensors, it said accuracy of +/- 10% - what's the accuracy of the one you picked? (I'm wondering how far off I could possibly be because I'd be using two sensor and some math)
__________________
ncp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29 May 2014, 16:18   #34
Member
 
Simon666's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Burwash, East Sussex
Make: BWM Deepsea 21
Length: 6m +
Engine: Suzuki DF140
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 225
Quote:
Originally Posted by MaleBuffy View Post
Well updated the blog with the code ! We haven't tested it yet, but it should work!

I might not make it into testing this weekend. I will however the in 2 weeks time!
Man! You don't hang about!
__________________
Simon666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29 May 2014, 16:22   #35
Member
 
Simon666's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Burwash, East Sussex
Make: BWM Deepsea 21
Length: 6m +
Engine: Suzuki DF140
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 225
Quote:
Originally Posted by ncp View Post
No, single diesel. But, since diesels have a feed line and a return line, you need two flow sensors, one on each line - they you subtract one from the other to get actual use.
Arhhh Good point. I forget about the return line. Its been a while since i had an oil burner in a boat

I'm sure Malebuffy could do a simple mod to his new two outboard code to subtract the second sensor value instead of adding it.
__________________
Simon666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29 May 2014, 17:26   #36
Member
 
Country: Greece
Boat name: Chrysanthos
Make: Scanner
Length: 5m +
Engine: Tohatsu M140A2
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by ncp View Post
No, single diesel. But, since diesels have a feed line and a return line, you need two flow sensors, one on each line - the2 you subtract one from the other to get actual use.

Question for MaleBuffy - I clicked on one of the link for the sensors, it said accuracy of +/- 10% - what's the accuracy of the one you picked? (I'm wondering how far off I could possibly be because I'd be using two sensor and some math)
I picked the one with 10% but waiting for anothet that has about 2%.

When I remember correctly, some commercial ones have also a 10% accuracy.

Thats not a big issue because you can use math to calibrate anyways. Its not that the accuracy will change everytime you use it.
__________________
MaleBuffy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29 May 2014, 17:29   #37
Member
 
Country: Greece
Boat name: Chrysanthos
Make: Scanner
Length: 5m +
Engine: Tohatsu M140A2
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by Simon666 View Post
Arhhh Good point. I forget about the return line. Its been a while since i had an oil burner in a boat

I'm sure Malebuffy could do a simple mod to his new two outboard code to subtract the second sensor value instead of adding it.
Change the line

BTFuel.println(literspersecond+literspersecond2,3) ; // Sends liters per second to Bluetooth

To

BTFuel.println(literspersecond-literspersecond2,3); // Sends liters per second to Bluetooth

and you are good to go!
__________________
MaleBuffy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29 May 2014, 20:23   #38
Member
 
Simon666's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Burwash, East Sussex
Make: BWM Deepsea 21
Length: 6m +
Engine: Suzuki DF140
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 225
Quote:
Originally Posted by MaleBuffy View Post
Change the line

BTFuel.println(literspersecond+literspersecond2,3) ; // Sends liters per second to Bluetooth

To

BTFuel.println(literspersecond-literspersecond2,3); // Sends liters per second to Bluetooth

and you are good to go!
As easy as that!
Now all of a sudden you have a Diesel solution Nice work.
__________________
Simon666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30 May 2014, 03:03   #39
Member
 
Cookee's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Salcombe, Devon, UK
Boat name: BananaShark
Make: BananaShark
Length: 10m +
Engine: 2xYanmar 260 diesels
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 4,225
With modern engines it would be even better if you could access the NMEA (canbus) engine data to use the fuel information from the engine - that's what the current GPS's do and it's amazingly accurate.
__________________
Cookee
Originally Posted by Zippy
When a boat looks that good who needs tubes!!!
Cookee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30 May 2014, 03:21   #40
Member
 
Country: Greece
Boat name: Chrysanthos
Make: Scanner
Length: 5m +
Engine: Tohatsu M140A2
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cookee View Post
With modern engines it would be even better if you could access the NMEA (canbus) engine data to use the fuel information from the engine - that's what the current GPS's do and it's amazingly accurate.
Yes thats true, however its also very expensive.NMEA 2000 is not an open protocol and one has to buy a license in order to use it.
__________________

__________________
MaleBuffy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 21:28.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.