Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 17 May 2012, 06:18   #1
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Hamble
Length: 9m +
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,317
Diodes

Any one here able to offer some advice on diodes? I need to make a couple of kits up for controlling trim on a pair of motors, but only using a single pole switch. I know how it's done, but haven't got a clue on the spec of the diodes needed. If possible, a link to an ebay item would be great.

Here's a pic of something I used last time.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_2100.jpg
Views:	129
Size:	136.9 KB
ID:	68281  
__________________

__________________
It is better to remain silent and be thought a fool, than to speak and remove all doubt!
Dirk Diggler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 May 2012, 06:24   #2
RIBnet supporter
 
Erin's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Channel Islands
Town: A large rock
Boat name: La Frette
Make: Osprey Vipermax
Length: 6m +
Engine: 200 Suzzy
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 2,830
I'm guessing it will be running 12v, so you'll need to know the current draw by the ram motors so that you can get a suitable diode. Once you know this, I'd be tempted to pop into Maplins and speak to their guys to get some with suitable current rating.
Erin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 May 2012, 06:36   #3
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: NW Surrey
Boat name: Lady Helen
Make: Avon
Length: 3m +
Engine: Out Petrol 3.5 & 15
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 222
You need diodes that cater for the voltage and amperage you will be using.

Voltage will be 12 or maybe 24. The amperage will be govern by the wattage of the motor. Power (watts) = Amps times Volts. So amps will be watts divided by voltage. These are the minimum values you need to get.

There should be these values on the old diodes or you could take them into somewhere like Maplins and ask for some to replace them.

Maplin Electronics : Diodes
__________________
EnglishLes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 May 2012, 06:46   #4
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Hamble
Length: 9m +
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,317
It's going to be low amperage, as it's only to trigger the solenoids on the trim motors, 1 or 2 amp fuse in the circuit at most!
__________________
It is better to remain silent and be thought a fool, than to speak and remove all doubt!
Dirk Diggler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 May 2012, 11:18   #5
Member
 
Country: USA
Town: Oakland CA
Length: 3m +
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 6,653
What Dirk said. Motor current is supplied from the relays.

jky
__________________
jyasaki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18 May 2012, 03:12   #6
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Make: Tornado
Length: 5m +
Engine: Twin 50 Mariners
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 185
I'm using Maplin diodes fine for a couple of things to do with anchor lights, bilge pump, solar panels, their basic 29p jobs do fine and from memory I think are Ok for 50w so should be good for up to 4a at 12v
__________________

__________________
Smithyyy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:28.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.