Old 03 September 2012, 22:13   #1

Town: Thame
Boat name: Free-Flow
Make: Shearwater 6.8
Length: 6m +
Engine: Suzuki 175
Depth / Speed problems

I'm quite new to RIBs, so I'm not sure if this is normal. I have a Raytheon ST40 speed and depth unit fitted to my Avon Adventure 560. It had the sensors mounted on a bracket off the transom, just about level with the bottom of the boat. Hopefully the photo will upload

My problem is that both speed and depth work OK off the plane (although the speed is a little erratic), but as soon as the boat is on the plane, there is no speed or depth indication.

Any thoughts?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-3405295394.jpg
Views:	241
Size:	65.1 KB
ID:	71847  
Old 04 September 2012, 00:44   #2

Town: Oakland CA
Length: 3m +
Can't really tell from the pic, but looks mounted way low to me.

Transducer centerline (the horizontal plane of the lower bulb part) should be about even with the hull; the paddlewheel fins (if it is a paddlewheel) should extend just under.

I suspect you're getting a vortex back over the top of the paddlewheel that's stopping it at speed. If it's a pitot type, then no idea.

Any chance you can post a more detailed pic(s)?

jky
Old 04 September 2012, 05:35   #3

Town: hampshire
Length: 7m +