Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 30 October 2013, 05:42   #1
Country: UK - England
Town: Aylesbury/Lymington
Boat name: Farfetched
Make: Solent
Length: 6m +
Engine: 150hp Optimax
MMSI: 235021048
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 858
Daft Idiot Question

Had my lowrance gps plotter (vintage 2004!) hooked up to a Raymarine VHF. Just had an ICOM VHF installed. Can anyone tell me which wire goes where - I have the cable from the plotter which was detached from the Raymarine hanging out of the console but I can't for the life of me work out which colour does what. I know I could solve it by trial and error but its raining.....



brucehawsker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30 October 2013, 05:54   #2
Trimix's Avatar
Country: UK - England
Boat name: Hysucat
Make: Hysucat
Length: 8m +
Engine: Twin Suzuki 175's
MMSI: 235102645
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 861
Im about to do the same thing with my Garmin and Standard Horizon. Ive googled it and found its not that simple.

This website may help:

Trimix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30 October 2013, 05:55   #3
whisper's Avatar
Country: UK - England
Town: Royal Wootton Bassett
Make: Custom RIB
Length: 8m +
Engine: 250
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 7,953
Can you download the manual or get a wiring diagram off the net?
My RIB Website:
whisper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30 October 2013, 07:59   #4
Country: UK - Scotland
Boat name: Wildheart
Make: Humber/Delta Seasafe
Length: 5m +
Engine: Merc 60 Clamshell
MMSI: 235068449
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 4,538
Yes. Can download the Lowrance manuals. Going remarkably far back if I'm not mistaken . Just search Google for your model & "manual"...

Sounds like yours is similar vintage to mine. I'm on my phone at the mo - so this is totally from memory- there should be 2 or 3 multi cord cables coming out a huge multi pin plug. One is power, one is NMEA0183. (the thin 4core one).

Of those 4 cables. One is earth, one is data in, one data out. The other is either <in or out, I forget which> 2.

Might depend on what model you have- I guess all used the same physical connector at that time?
9D280 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30 October 2013, 10:22   #5
Country: USA
Town: Oakland CA
Length: 3m +
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 6,618
Model numbers would help us help you...

As I recall, On Lowrance plotters, the NMEA 0183 wires were left bare from the factory. No connectors.

jyasaki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31 October 2013, 11:09   #6
Ovey's Avatar
Country: UK - England
Town: Portsmouth(ish)
Boat name: Wings
Make: Ribeye
Length: 6m +
Engine: Yamaha F115 AETL
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 615
Originally Posted by 9D280 View Post
The other is either <in or out, I forget which> 2.
I think it's In 2, which should allow the (multi function compatible) display to take an input from Engine data, Depth Sounder or whatever the other input is you want to attach. I could be wrong, but think I remember correctly!

Ovey is offline   Reply With Quote

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:37.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.