Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 20 October 2014, 04:15   #31
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Length: 3m +
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 2,251
Unconvinced of the need for transmit, other than for social interest of where ur mates are etc. You have one of the most movable, versatile boats ever designed. Pretty much most boats with AIS will be less manouverable, so I'd just avoid them. But I can see rare uses in things like fog but would be concerned that I can only see big stuff like ships who at least should have a horn rather than a tidly yacht who should but hasnt .

There is a Chinese company who clearly make a bit of kit for one of the big players in commercial stuff and have cloned it. Its not CE marked. Tut Tut.

For receive only any risk from no CE would be yours for Tx I guess there would be a small risk you wipe out the whole frequency and prevent two big ships seeing each other and they have a ding...

Here's a thread elsewhere about them:

http://www.ybw.com/forums/showthread...ight=AIS+China
__________________

__________________
ShinyShoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20 October 2014, 04:26   #32
Member
 
SteveHall's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Lancs
Boat name: Beretta
Make: Ballistic
Length: 6m +
Engine: 175hp e-tec
MMSI: 235035778
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,719
RIBase
I am yet to use my link 8 out on the water, but so far for the quality of the product and the ease of set-up it gets 10/10!

I also really like the speaker in the fist mic - when its windy and wet you can hold it upto your ear!

I just want to go somewhere really busy now and see how the HDS work when busy, as where I tested the unit there were only a few AIS targets around.

Oh and I need to see if it actually tx/rx routine VHF calls.
__________________

__________________
Steve
Member of S.A.B.S. (Lancashire Division)
https://www.justgiving.com/blind-sailing
https://www.facebook.com/rib.beretta/
SteveHall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20 October 2014, 08:35   #33
RIBnet supporter
 
mick's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Wakefield
Boat name: Bouncer
Make: Redbay Stormforce
Length: 6m +
Engine: 2x Honda 90Hp
MMSI: 235025718
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 3,984
Quote:
Originally Posted by ShinyShoe View Post
Unconvinced of the need for transmit, other than for social interest of where ur mates are etc. You have one of the most movable, versatile boats ever designed. Pretty much most boats with AIS will be less manouverable, so I'd just avoid them. But I can see rare uses in things like fog but would be concerned that I can only see big stuff like ships who at least should have a horn rather than a tidly yacht who should but hasnt .

There is a Chinese company who clearly make a bit of kit for one of the big players in commercial stuff and have cloned it. Its not CE marked. Tut Tut.

For receive only any risk from no CE would be yours for Tx I guess there would be a small risk you wipe out the whole frequency and prevent two big ships seeing each other and they have a ding...

Here's a thread elsewhere about them:

http://www.ybw.com/forums/showthread...ight=AIS+China

More chance of being seen on a plotter than a radar I would say
__________________
mick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20 October 2014, 12:27   #34
Member
 
biffer's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: swanwick/hamble
Boat name: stormchaser
Make: custom rib
Length: 8m +
Engine: inboard/diesel
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 3,848
I've just fitted the standard horizon 2200e in my hardboat. Has built in gps with 100 plots and ais from one area
__________________
biffer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20 October 2014, 16:22   #35
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Length: 3m +
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 2,251
Quote:
Originally Posted by mick View Post
More chance of being seen on a plotter than a radar I would say
Only if the other boat has AIS and hasn't filtered Class B out.

any 1 actually got data to support that?
__________________
ShinyShoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20 October 2014, 16:27   #36
RIBnet admin team
 
willk's Avatar
 
Country: Ireland
Make: Redbay Boats
Length: 9m +
Engine: 370hp
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 12,928
RIBase
Quote:
Originally Posted by ShinyShoe View Post
...and hasn't filtered Class B out.
They can do that?
__________________
"Who knows what evil lurks in the hearts of men?"
.
willk is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 20 October 2014, 16:39   #37
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Length: 3m +
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 2,251
Quote:
Originally Posted by willk View Post
They can do that?
Yip... All Class A kit can filter plebs on Class B out. It is apparently common practice in big traffic areas like the Solent... Those little Class B boats clutter up the screen so they switch them off...
__________________
ShinyShoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20 October 2014, 16:48   #38
RIBnet supporter
 
mick's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Wakefield
Boat name: Bouncer
Make: Redbay Stormforce
Length: 6m +
Engine: 2x Honda 90Hp
MMSI: 235025718
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 3,984
So it's a bit pointless then
__________________
mick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20 October 2014, 16:49   #39
RIBnet admin team
 
willk's Avatar
 
Country: Ireland
Make: Redbay Boats
Length: 9m +
Engine: 370hp
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 12,928
RIBase
Quote:
Originally Posted by ShinyShoe View Post
Yip... All Class A kit can filter plebs on Class B out. It is apparently common practice in big traffic areas like the Solent... Those little Class B boats clutter up the screen so they switch them off...
Sheesh! Of course someone remembers to switch them on again before they get to the foggy North Channel?

Tell me they do!?!
__________________
"Who knows what evil lurks in the hearts of men?"
.
willk is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 20 October 2014, 16:50   #40
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Length: 3m +
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 2,251
Correction, Class A kit itself doesn't filter its the plotter that does I think... ...its a bone of contention as the rules only need the AIS to show three boats on a text screen (dead useful!) that may not be filtering... But no one reads it. They plot the positions on radar or plotter. Kit like this

http://www.fugawi.com/web/products/f...ais_detail.htm

Let's you filter what's plotted.
__________________

__________________
ShinyShoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:01.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.