Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 21 February 2013, 12:14   #1
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Royal Wootton Bassett
Length: 8m +
Engine: 250
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 8,020
Corrosion on Electrics

Been getting a bit of white corrosion on my electrical connectors

What is the best way of dealing with this without replacing all the connectors as some are on the loom.

I guess I will need something to clean them with and then something to protect them to slow this process down?

Thanks in advance Alex
__________________

__________________
whisper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21 February 2013, 12:23   #2
Member
 
steco1958's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: West Bromwich
Boat name: Ellie V
Make: Excel Voyager 520
Length: 5m +
Engine: Evinrude 75 HP
MMSI: 235 908 287
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 680
Sounds like its a little bit of verdagree, white or more commonly green.

clean the connections, than cover with a lite covering of vaseline, you can buy a anti corrosion gel, but i find Vas works just as well
__________________

__________________
steco1958 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21 February 2013, 12:48   #3
RIBnet supporter
 
Erin's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Channel Islands
Town: A large rock
Boat name: La Frette
Make: Osprey Vipermax
Length: 6m +
Engine: 200 Suzzy
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 2,830
Pop into Maplin and get yourself a tube of contralube 770 (yes def Maplin and not Ann Summers ). It's a dielectric grease designed to keep moisture out but not affect conductivity.
Erin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21 February 2013, 13:30   #4
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Royal Wootton Bassett
Length: 8m +
Engine: 250
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 8,020
Will get some tomorrow
__________________
whisper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21 February 2013, 14:48   #5
AJ.
RIBnet supporter
 
AJ.'s Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Warwickshire
Boat name: Impulse
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 5m +
Engine: Suzuki 140
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 1,020
I also put one of those moisture traps in there from homebase as I got fed up of mopping it out and cleaning mould off stuff despite leaving the hatch door a jar. Works a treat
__________________
AJ. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21 February 2013, 14:51   #6
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Royal Wootton Bassett
Length: 8m +
Engine: 250
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 8,020
Quote:
Originally Posted by AJ. View Post
I also put one of those moisture traps in there from homebase as I got fed up of mopping it out and cleaning mould off stuff despite leaving the hatch door a jar. Works a treat
Hi AJ Do you keep the hatch door open or closed now?
__________________
whisper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21 February 2013, 15:42   #7
AJ.
RIBnet supporter
 
AJ.'s Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Warwickshire
Boat name: Impulse
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 5m +
Engine: Suzuki 140
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 1,020
I open the hatch and turn the latched to closed which gives a cm gap to circulate air in there. I also do the same with the pod seats and rest them on the metal latch to create a gap.
__________________
AJ. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21 February 2013, 15:59   #8
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Looe
Make: Delta
Length: 4m +
Engine: Mercury
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,335
We use liquid neoprene its amazing stuff, paint it on a it goes like rubber.
__________________
Black Dog Marine
www.blackdogmarine.com
Turbodiesel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21 February 2013, 16:09   #9
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: macclessfield
Boat name: Reach Out
Make: Quicksilver
Length: 4m +
Engine: 30hp Tohatsu EFI
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 301
Unplug the connectors and Clean them with a tooth brush and wd40 or mild solvent. Get them clean and dry, then use ACF50 to coat and protect them from the damp..
__________________
simsy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21 February 2013, 17:28   #10
RIBnet supporter
 
Pikey Dave's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: South Yorks
Boat name: Black Pig
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 5m +
Engine: DF140a
MMSI: 235111389
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 7,596
RIBase
Are the terminals "live" i.e. are they connected to the battery or are they isolated via battery isolator?
__________________
Rule#2: Never argue with an idiot. He'll drag you down to his level & then beat you with experience.
Rule#3: Tha' can't educate pork.
Rule#4: See rule#5
Pikey Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:22.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.