Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 11 December 2004, 08:56   #1
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Portishead, Bristol
Boat name: "
Make: Ribcraft, Cowes Mari
Length: 5m +
Engine: Mercury 90hp 4-strok
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 600
Send a message via AIM to jools
Contacting Coastguard by DSC?

One for Gingercoastie and John (Icom).......

I just had a go at entering the MMSI for Swansea CG on my new Raymarine 240E (Sorry John )

It won't seem to let me enter it as it starts 00 - full list of CG MMSI's here

http://www.coastalradio.greater-pete...h.com/mmsi.htm

Now on RIB-Panther I had a nice ICOM, amd all the CG stations were pre-programed - I also remeber that when calling a CG by DSC you did not have to set the working channel as this is set by the CG.

Gingercoastie - How many people (comercial or leisure) call CG by DSC? (not many Raymarine users I suspect!)

John - is there a DSC spec that has specific bits about MMSI's starting 00? - Like they can not be user programed - or don't have to set the working channel?

Cheers
Jools

ps - I've also asked Raymarine support - I'll post what they say
__________________

__________________
www.ribpanther.co.uk
jools is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11 December 2004, 11:39   #2
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Helston, Cornwall
Boat name: Silver Fern
Make: Rayglass Protector
Length: 8m +
Engine: 2 x 250hp Verado
MMSI: 235024092
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 811
Send a message via AIM to gingercoastie Send a message via MSN to gingercoastie
jools,


I haven't come across this one before. Definatly something to raise with Raymarine.
__________________

__________________


Its all got to go - make me an offer...............

Skype - alexgreig
gingercoastie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11 December 2004, 11:55   #3
Member
 
Country: UK - Wales
Town: swansea
Boat name: Too Blue
Make: BLANK
Length: 8m +
Engine: Suzuki DT225
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 12,791
It does say when setting up a group mmsi the number must be prefixed by a zero - try putting an extra zero or maybe leaving one off??? Dunno just been reading the pdf manual.
__________________
codprawn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11 December 2004, 12:12   #4
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Portishead, Bristol
Boat name: "
Make: Ribcraft, Cowes Mari
Length: 5m +
Engine: Mercury 90hp 4-strok
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 600
Send a message via AIM to jools
Thats the problem - The Raymarine won't let me enter one that starts 00. The first 0 is OK, but then it wants 1-9 and wont let me enter another 0

Just found this table :-

First Digit(s) Meaning

"0" The MMSI will call a group of ships
"00" The MMSI will call a group of coast stations
"1" Reserved for INMARSAT "A" satellite terminals
"2"-"7" The MMSI will call an individual vessel
"8" Reserved for groups among neighboring nations
"9" Reserved for groups within an individual nation

So the RibNet "group" MMSI 023200057 - ie starts with a single 0
Individual MMSI start with 2 + country code I think
Coat Guards start 00
__________________
www.ribpanther.co.uk
jools is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11 December 2004, 12:43   #5
Member
 
Country: UK - Wales
Town: swansea
Boat name: Too Blue
Make: BLANK
Length: 8m +
Engine: Suzuki DT225
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 12,791
clutching at straws but what about entering a hash # or * or similar in place of a zero?

I am one of those people who never reads a manual - just have to sit and fiddle
__________________
codprawn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11 December 2004, 12:47   #6
Trade member
 
tim griffin's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Newport IoW
Boat name: Amean/Pronto/Rumbo
Make: Solent Rib Princess
Length: 7m +
Engine: 200hp Etec 260x 2
MMSI: lots of them
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,859
Hi Jools quick question
do you enter the first 0 or do you move the cursor over to the next space and then enter the second 0 followed by 2320018 if not i am at a loss as you should be able to put it straight into your dirctory contact Raymarine if still no luck as could be a glitch
__________________
Tim Griffin
RYA Freelance YMI power Powerboat and PWC instructor trainer vhf first aid sea survival Diesel engine radar and navigation instructor
tim griffin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11 December 2004, 13:02   #7
Trade member
 
tim griffin's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Newport IoW
Boat name: Amean/Pronto/Rumbo
Make: Solent Rib Princess
Length: 7m +
Engine: 200hp Etec 260x 2
MMSI: lots of them
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,859
Another question are you trying to enter Swansea CG in the group directory
or just in the main directory. It should be entered in the main directory you are only allowed to enter 1 group MMSI and they only have a single 0 .So maybe you are trying to put it in the wrong directory just a thought hope it helps
__________________
Tim Griffin
RYA Freelance YMI power Powerboat and PWC instructor trainer vhf first aid sea survival Diesel engine radar and navigation instructor
tim griffin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11 December 2004, 16:15   #8
Member
 
Country: Other
Make: FB 55
Length: 10m +
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 1,711
I don't say much on this forum anymore .... but this post by Jools (whom I've met at Cardiff before) is exactly the reason I thought (then) this forum was so fantastic. This is indeed an interesting problem and by utilising this wonderful tool (Internet/Forum) hopefully Jools will get this resolved. I have asked my electronics friend - who happens to be a Raymarine Agent- this question and he will try and find the answer, which, if not already resolved, I will post here.
__________________
Charles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12 December 2004, 13:23   #9
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Portishead, Bristol
Boat name: "
Make: Ribcraft, Cowes Mari
Length: 5m +
Engine: Mercury 90hp 4-strok
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 600
Send a message via AIM to jools
Still not resolved, but to answer the questions so far....

Yes - I am trying to enter it into the main "phonebook"

It allows the first 0 - I've then tried * and # - no luck it will only accept a digit 1-9

Interesting problem this - as I'm not sure how Raymarine will update the software if it is a "software" bug (Programing error)!

Cheers
Jools
__________________
www.ribpanther.co.uk
jools is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13 December 2004, 04:14   #10
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: ramsgate
Boat name: Micki Dee Bee
Make: Ribcraft Seasafari
Length: 9m +
Engine: Twin 250hp Suzuki
MMSI: 235057235
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,622
Send a message via MSN to Jon Brooks
Jools,

Serves you right for buying Raymarine!!
Only joking.

You should be able to enter coast station MMSI, both for and individaul call and in your memory.
If you can't contact Raymarine and rant.
If you can't do it the radio would seem not to be up to spec.

we do enter all the coast station MMSI's in to the memory.
We flet it was a helpful thing to do.
They can be change by the end user at any time.

I found another radio last that did not allow you to select the type of distress you are in, very iffy IMHO.

Not sure I have been much help but well worth a call to Raymarine to ask how and why.

For any one looking for a new radio LIBS will be well worth a visit!!!

Regards
__________________

__________________
Jon Brooks VSMM. Marine Mammal Medic, PBI, SRC Assessor,PWC Instructor.
www.horizonseasafaris.co.uk
Jon Brooks is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:41.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.