Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 06 June 2011, 07:30   #1
Member
 
Country: Ireland
Town: Waterford
Boat name: My Boy Jack
Make: Lencraft
Length: 6m +
Engine: Mariner 135 outboard
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 8
Connecting Garmin 556s to Cobra mrf80eu.. Confused!

Ok It seems like this question has been asked before but not with my specific query. I trawled around but couldn't find an answer so am at my wits end here! I'm trying to connect the cobra f80 to a garmin 556s through nmea0183. My radio has a cable with a jack for an external speaker and 5 other wires coming out the side, they are blue, white, purple, green and gray. My garmin has a cable with a red and black power cable then its has 6 others which are gray,orange, blue, purple, yellow and brown. Also a green/white for canNET. My instruction manual led me to connect the garmin blue to radio green and garmin brown to radio white. Is this correct? Cos i'm not getting anything with that combo. Also I should mention that both are wired into a bluesea fuse box along with lights etc. I've tried everything and am desperate for help! Anyone done this combo before?
__________________

__________________
deiserottweiler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06 June 2011, 07:46   #2
Member
 
Channel Ribs's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Channel Islands
Town: Alderney
Length: no boat
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 3,047
Have you checked the data type settings on the Garmin for the port you have connected to?

You may have read elsewhere that some radios need the negative to be attached to the common ground.
__________________

__________________
Channel Ribs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06 June 2011, 08:00   #3
Member
 
Country: Ireland
Town: Waterford
Boat name: My Boy Jack
Make: Lencraft
Length: 6m +
Engine: Mariner 135 outboard
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 8
Yeah I think I have part sorted. I just turned the port 1 settings in communitations part of configure to nmea. That what you talking about?
__________________
deiserottweiler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06 June 2011, 08:03   #4
Member
 
Country: Ireland
Town: Waterford
Boat name: My Boy Jack
Make: Lencraft
Length: 6m +
Engine: Mariner 135 outboard
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 8
And is the fuse box not the common ground? If not what is? Its confusing!
__________________
deiserottweiler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06 June 2011, 17:21   #5
Member
 
Country: Ireland
Town: Waterford
Boat name: My Boy Jack
Make: Lencraft
Length: 6m +
Engine: Mariner 135 outboard
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 8
Anyone at all? Really need help with this!
__________________
deiserottweiler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07 June 2011, 02:33   #6
RIBnet supporter
 
Pikey Dave's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: South Yorks
Boat name: Black Pig
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 5m +
Engine: DF140a
MMSI: 235111389
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 7,584
RIBase
Have you set the NMEA Baud rates the same on both units?
__________________
Rule#2: Never argue with an idiot. He'll drag you down to his level & then beat you with experience.
Rule#3: Tha' can't educate pork.
Rule#4: See rule#5
Pikey Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07 June 2011, 04:20   #7
Member
 
Country: Ireland
Town: Waterford
Boat name: My Boy Jack
Make: Lencraft
Length: 6m +
Engine: Mariner 135 outboard
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 8
Probably not. How do I do that? There's nothing in the menu settings for it.
__________________
deiserottweiler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07 June 2011, 06:46   #8
RIBnet supporter
 
Jizm's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Southampton
Boat name: Hissing Sid
Make: Ross Smith Cobra
Length: 6m +
Engine: 200HP Optimax
MMSI: 235038046
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 3,803
Check the manuals for baud rates.
Jizm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20 July 2011, 21:38   #9
Member
 
Country: Ireland
Town: Waterford
Boat name: My Boy Jack
Make: Lencraft
Length: 6m +
Engine: Mariner 135 outboard
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 8
Never mind sorted it now. Cobra have very confusing instructions
__________________
deiserottweiler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21 July 2011, 04:22   #10
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: England
Boat name: n/a
Make: n/a
Length: no boat
Engine: n/a
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 362
What was the problem? It might be useful to others in the future.
__________________

__________________
rigi36 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:09.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.