Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 06 January 2012, 12:31   #1
RIBnet admin team
 
Nos4r2's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: The wilds of Wiltshire
Boat name: WhiteNoise/Dominator
Make: Ballistic 7.8/SR5.4
Length: 7m +
Engine: Opti 225/Yam 85
MMSI: 235090687/235055163
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 12,645
RIBase
Connecting an AIS VHF unit to a plotter

I've got an old Lowrance LCX15 plotter/sounder on my new boat.

It's got an NMEA 0183 'in/out' com port, and an 'out' com port.

If I attach a VHF with inbuilt AIS such as the SH GX2150 or Radio Ocean RO4800 to the in/out com port, will it display the AIS data on the plotter or am I going to have to buy an up to date plotter to do it?

The Lowrance manual isn't clear on it.
__________________
Need spares,consoles,consumables,hire,training or even a new boat?

Please click HERE and HERE and support our Trade Members.

Join up as a Trade member or Supporter HERE
Nos4r2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06 January 2012, 12:46   #2
RIBnet admin team
 
willk's Avatar
 
Country: Ireland
Make: Redbay Boats
Length: 9m +
Engine: 370hp
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 12,928
RIBase
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nos4r2 View Post
The Lowrance manual isn't clear on it.


Regrettable NOS I can't The help of the problem whose it is strict for problem of the Lowrance manual 1 to be common, but I am recognized. Most users although the oil from the engine is dampened, use those.
__________________

__________________
willk is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06 January 2012, 12:51   #3
RIBnet admin team
 
willk's Avatar
 
Country: Ireland
Make: Redbay Boats
Length: 9m +
Engine: 370hp
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 12,928
RIBase
More seriously NOS, I understood that plotters are either AIS compliant or not. My old Raymarine A65 was much recent than that Lowrance and didn't "do" AIS. If the specs don't trumpet the AIS feature, I'd guess you're snookered?
__________________
willk is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06 January 2012, 12:51   #4
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: Inverness
Boat name: none
Make: none
Length: 5m +
Engine: none
MMSI: none
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,908
I have all Lowrance kit on my RIB and while I rate it the manuals are rubbish.
AFAIK you can't display AIS info on a pre HDS lowrance unit, certainly this is what I was told on querying them for my LCX-27C and even the HDS units which can display AIS info (I have it on mine) have to have the latest software loaded.

Basically I think you are stffed unless you buy a more up to date unit unfortunately.
__________________
BruceB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06 January 2012, 19:03   #5
RIBnet admin team
 
Nos4r2's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: The wilds of Wiltshire
Boat name: WhiteNoise/Dominator
Make: Ballistic 7.8/SR5.4
Length: 7m +
Engine: Opti 225/Yam 85
MMSI: 235090687/235055163
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 12,645
RIBase
Thanks guys.

Lowrance tech support just got back to me as well, and what BruceB said is correct.


I guess I'll be using the VHFs own AIS screen for a bit.
__________________
Need spares,consoles,consumables,hire,training or even a new boat?

Please click HERE and HERE and support our Trade Members.

Join up as a Trade member or Supporter HERE
Nos4r2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07 January 2012, 18:03   #6
RIBnet admin team
 
Nos4r2's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: The wilds of Wiltshire
Boat name: WhiteNoise/Dominator
Make: Ballistic 7.8/SR5.4
Length: 7m +
Engine: Opti 225/Yam 85
MMSI: 235090687/235055163
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 12,645
RIBase
Well, I got to have a look at the Radio Ocean 4700 today (the non-AIS version of the RO4800). IMO it's cheap and tacky. The mic has what appears to be mild steel screws holding it together and the mic clip is made of plastic and part of the mic casing. It looks like it'll break in 5 minutes leaving it impossible to clip the mic onto anything. The controls wobble and feel imprecise. No wonder it's so cheap.

Guess what I won't be buying.
__________________
Need spares,consoles,consumables,hire,training or even a new boat?

Please click HERE and HERE and support our Trade Members.

Join up as a Trade member or Supporter HERE
Nos4r2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07 January 2012, 19:13   #7
RIBnet admin team
 
willk's Avatar
 
Country: Ireland
Make: Redbay Boats
Length: 9m +
Engine: 370hp
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 12,928
RIBase
Well, that's useful info to have. Sorry to point you in the wrong direction, but at least now we know.

__________________
willk is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07 January 2012, 19:18   #8
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: Inverness
Boat name: none
Make: none
Length: 5m +
Engine: none
MMSI: none
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,908
Depending on just what AIS info you need and what class of unit you want the ANT200 is cheap as chips and works well.
I put one of these onto the A frame and connected it to the Lowrance HDS and is works well, showing all AIS equipped ships in range overlain on the ploter screen.
__________________
BruceB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08 January 2012, 12:49   #9
Member
 
Screaming04's Avatar
 
Country: Canada
Town: Vancouver, BC Canada
Boat name: Black Ops
Make: Zodiac Hurricane 733
Length: 7m +
Engine: OceanPro 150hp x 2
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 246
Somewhat related. I've got one of these Amazon.com: Standard STD-GX2100-B Matrix 25 Watt Fixed Mount AIS VHF Radio with Integral AIS Receiver and Loudhailer (Black): Electronics
I have the AIS fed into my Garmin 541 plotter, but there is a rudimentary graphic display on the VHF itself. It would be certainly better than having none at all. These VHF's have US/International channels so I would imagine they are good on that side of the pond. Great value.

Adrian
__________________
Screaming04 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09 January 2012, 03:48   #10
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Margate / Ramsgate
Boat name: Ballistic
Make: Ballistic
Length: 7m +
Engine: Yam HPDI 250
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 2,835
The Standard Horizon is a nice peice of kit and should stand up well on a RIB, I fit quite a few.

The Radio Ocean is c**p, and as NOS says, wont last 5minutes on a RIB.
__________________

__________________
Daniel is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:33.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.