Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 20 May 2010, 08:50   #1
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Oxford
Boat name: Seahorse
Make: Tornado
Length: 5m +
Engine: Merc 115
MMSI: 235020185
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 21
Combined chartplotter & fishfinder or separate?

Our Raymarine 435i has gone back to be repaired (again) - and requires a new CPU for 230. It's done this every 2 years, for the last 6 and i'm a little tired of it.

Our echo is also in need of replacement this year as the pins are about to break off, so was considering replacing both with a combined unit.

How do you guys recon these combined plotter/ff units hold up, compared to the separate units?

Thanks,
Steve
__________________

__________________
divelandy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20 May 2010, 09:26   #2
RIBnet supporter
 
Erin's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Channel Islands
Town: A large rock
Boat name: La Frette
Make: Osprey Vipermax
Length: 6m +
Engine: 200 Suzzy
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 2,830
I'd go for a Garmin 750s if you want a good combi replacement. Excellent value for a touch screen and a nice simple packgage to install.
__________________
Erin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20 May 2010, 10:36   #3
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Oxford
Boat name: Seahorse
Make: Tornado
Length: 5m +
Engine: Merc 115
MMSI: 235020185
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by divelandy View Post
Our Raymarine 435i has gone back to be repaired (again)
Wow, found an previous rant about the Raymarine A435i unit failing in the forums
__________________
divelandy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20 May 2010, 10:53   #4
RIBnet admin team
 
willk's Avatar
 
Country: Ireland
Make: Redbay Boats
Length: 9m +
Engine: 370hp
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 12,924
RIBase
I have one that is about five years old - no problems other than a little misting.

Just a thought - you remove your electronics after every trip - those connectors are not really designed for repeated on/off, silly I know but there it is. Every time you connect them, you're potentially introducing contaminants into the pins and sockets on the unit.

Have you checked the power supply to the unit while the engine is running?
__________________
willk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20 May 2010, 11:39   #5
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Oxford
Boat name: Seahorse
Make: Tornado
Length: 5m +
Engine: Merc 115
MMSI: 235020185
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by willk View Post
Just a thought - you remove your electronics after every trip - those connectors are not really designed for repeated on/off, silly I know but there it is. Every time you connect them, you're potentially introducing contaminants into the pins and sockets on the unit.
We do wash down with the unit on, and then remove while the boat is stored.

Quote:
Originally Posted by willk View Post
Have you checked the power supply to the unit while the engine is running?
What do you mean by this - what am i checking for?

I really like the unit - clear and easy to use, but it's so unreliable...
__________________
divelandy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:34.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.