Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 11 July 2008, 02:50   #1
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Swanmore nr Fareham
Boat name: Greyhound
Make: Ribtec
Length: 7m +
Engine: 225 Opti
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 155
Check Engine!

I have a navman 8120 chart plotter and a small 5" navman both connected to my Optimax 225. Every now and then I get a "Check Engine" message on both Navman units which has to be cleared by pressing enter on both units (which is a pain)

This happens when on the move usually at speeds in excess of 20-25 knots.

Everything seems fine with the engine, temp, oil levels, tell tale, water pressure etc.

Any ideas on
a) Why it occurs
b) How to turn it off or stop it happening (without disabling all warnings!)
c) stop needing to press enter everytime to cure the bl**dy bleeping

Any help would be appreciated.

Regards
__________________

Stuart M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11 July 2008, 04:46   #2
RIBnet admin team
 
Nos4r2's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: The wilds of Wiltshire
Boat name: WhiteNoise/Dominator
Make: Ballistic 7.8/SR5.4
Length: 7m +
Engine: Opti 225/Yam 85
MMSI: 235090687/235055163
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 12,645
RIBase
I'd take it in to a dealer and get them to plug in. Might be something really silly though so before you do it check all your conections to see if anything's loose or corroded.
__________________
Need spares,consoles,consumables,hire,training or even a new boat?

Please click HERE and HERE and support our Trade Members.

Join up as a Trade member or Supporter HERE
Nos4r2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27 July 2008, 07:11   #3
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Swanmore nr Fareham
Boat name: Greyhound
Make: Ribtec
Length: 7m +
Engine: 225 Opti
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 155
Dealer plugged in the diags and nothing found!

However...... Engine Fault log on 8120 had some info in it! - Faulty air sensor. It's going in for a service soon so it'll get look at then.

However solved a fuel tank 1 alarm issue (which wouldn't go away if the tank alarms were switched off) was actually a faultly float switch in the remote OIL tank. Real pain as the message appeared every 1-2 mins secs and only way to clear it was to turn off smartcraft off. Seems like there isn't any common sense when reporting error messages as plotter is useless with a message on the screen requiring you to "ok" it to remove (only to return 1 min later!)
Stuart M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 July 2008, 04:33   #4
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Dorset & Hants
Boat name: Streaker/Orange
Make: Avon/Ribcraft
Length: 4m +
Engine: 50Yam/25 Mariner
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,551
I get a similar warning - ' check pitot' - when I stop nothing on leg & I dont even know where the pitot is on theleg - I guess its just seaweed etc, but is there any way to clear this without turning the engine off & on again ( I did this sunday & then the starter didn't engage 2 miles out ! ) Even if I change the display it still shows an Alarm in the top corner of the screen on the tacho - just anying really - everything else OK - OIL / Water/voltage etc & tell tale OK on engine !
__________________
PeterM is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:22.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.